Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Defense of the ancient treasure - An stealth RTS

by Jacktheviper - Jam Entry

Happy to be posting my first game jam entry!

I really enjoyed this theme considering that I already had some ideas about making a game where you control a evil minion master of some kind.

The game plays pretty much like any RTS, select your units with the mouse and right click to move them where desired, SHIFT click to queue move orders and control + number to assign control groups.

The stealth system is basic, just study enemy patrol routes and try avoid their line of sight because the guns can hurt you a lot.

You can summom more skeletons by clicking on the skull.

This game was made with Game maker studio, to play just launch the game no need to install anything.

So that is it, I hope you enjoy trying out this simple game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#296Fun(Jam)3.39
#344Overall(Jam)3.43
#353Innovation(Jam)3.24
#507Mood(Jam)3.14
#665Theme(Jam)3.26
#707Humor(Jam)2.44

Comments

r8berto says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Loved it. Best gameplay i've played so far.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Really nice stealth game! It was a lot of fun to play through this!
Also the bonus level was crazy xD

Keep up the great work and go and rate some more entries so you will get more ratings! You deserve them!

Mothdan says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:18pm

They need to be orchestrated and led like the perfect pack. Like raptors. otherwise they get smeared out by those shotguns pretty fast, I didn't make it far but this was cool. Nice work!

thedashdude says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:22am

It needed to be faster. I stopped playing because it was too hard to be that slow. Still a solid entry.

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:35am

That was seriously fun and interesting game mechanic. And it looks nice and sounds nice too, excellent work!

paquinn says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Really fun to sneak around. Its a little hard because they stop moving when you click on a wall but after I figured that out it was a lot of fun.

3CGames says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Cool idea! Pulled it off pretty well too. The controls felt a bit weird but I love that you managed to get drag select in : D

Brightstar says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:58am

Very Challenging. Cool.

DruhinM says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:42am

Simple but good gameplay

pumpkin says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:32am

Good idea, excellent on the technical side (no bug, easy to use, very good affordance). A bit slow and hard, as it has been stated earlier.

Stealth/RTS? Why not?!

Roboboy says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:26pm

This game was actually really hard to play! I throughly enjoyed the game play and will probably play it more later! Great game.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:27am

Great game :-) kicked my butt pretty good

Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:40am

Wow! Thus is fantastic! I'm terrible at these types of games, but still... Brilliant!

cyrixd says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:21am

Very well executed, once I realised I could kill the soldiers. I thought I had to sneak past them entirely at first since my initial kill attempt didn't work. Afterwards I could clear each level with a single scorpion, just baiting the soldiers towards me. Had a lot of fun with it though, very nice work!

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Nice entry, a bit slow, liked the stealth aspect it didn't feel to clunky and it was well balanced.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:23am

Nice gameplay, pretty cool to see an RTS in the Jam. Really hard to get past all the soldiers. Awesome job.

Jan Tuts says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:13pm

I couldn't play the game, as I don't have Windows or Game Maker Studio.

superfreak says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Note: I am awful at stealth games... This was an incredible challenge for me, but a ton of fun! Solid mechanics with a great deal of challenge.

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]