Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Fifth Apartment

by The Fifth Apartment - Jam Entry

Plot

The old lady lives a frugal and lonely life on apartment number 5 of Mont Sinaï building.
But who could be lonely with all the demons of a lifetime?

"Having lived inside her skin and experiencing the unspoken torment of isolated domesticity,
you come to understand these women we so readily call "crazy."", KILL SCREEN

http://killscreendaily.com/articles/experience-slow-crawl-toward-decay-lonely-old-lady-full-regret/

http://www.forbes.com/sites/zachbudgor/2015/08/29/big-budget-detox-3-depressing-indie-games-to-try-this-weekend/

---

CONTROLS

- Left and right arrow to move.
- Space to Interact.

---

A game by

BRUNO POLI, code
twitter.com/Bruno_Poli

KLOS CUNHA, game design
twitter.com/kloscunha

RICARDO BESS, art director
http://ricardobess.tumblr.com/


Special Thanks to RAFAELA CORREA, BRUNO BRISENO and all devs of BEHOLD STUDIOS and OTUS GAME STUDIO

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.97
Audio(Jam)4.67
Mood(Jam)4.94
Overall(Jam)4.48
#38Innovation(Jam)4.03
#52Theme(Jam)4.17
#145Fun(Jam)3.63
#433Humor(Jam)2.95
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

gty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:42pm

<3 loved it.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Best-looking game in the jam, hands down! :O

rayk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Best-looking game in the jam, hands down! :O ²

acsantana says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:11pm

DAMN LOOOKS
<3

Lou Byrd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Whoa! Amazing project.
It is annoyngly slow to move her (great anim cycle, btw) but it just adds to the tension. The balcony scene on day 3 just chilled me to the bone! Impressive depth.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:21pm

If there was a sixth star for "Mood" you would have gotten it.

glimaleite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:34pm

I was playing a few games from LD while my girlfriend was with me. This is the only one that she actually wanted to know what was going on. She's not a gamer. This means a lot. Amazing work!

joaobsneto says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Amazing!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:13am

Wow. Impeccably designed. Moving story. Heart-wrenching themes. Well played.

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:17am

I like your game a lot! I've get goosebumps like mountains because of the story and atmosphere. The Music, the sounds, the graphics, just everything was well done. Thank you for this one!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:18am

Very good art and mood! I'm still a bit unsure about what all was happening.

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:43am

Very mysterious.
It held my interest for its duration.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:45am

Simple amazing. Reminds me a little of Roman Polanski's "The Tenant" (especially the teeth).

I used to live on the seventh floor of an apartment in the 10th in Paris, and our neighbor was a strange old man. We never spoke to him, he was shy and avoided us (especially he would not look at my girlfriend). At night, usually quite late, we would hear him bellowing: he would yell in a language we couldn't understand, not angrily but more like someone very proud having an argument with God. I wonder what demons shared his apartment.

Also, I thought the music was interesting. The only people I ever saw playing that music were Rom buskers on the subway; so while it reminds us of "gay Paris", it is in some ways a very lonely song.

I agree with everyone else about the look of the game. I think this will easily be in the top 25 overall.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:46am

Also! Loved the whispering neighbors!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:37am

Everything is amazing!

peterkirk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:45am

This was a very dark story but kept me interested all the way through. I think the moment that got me the most was watching the TV and not having time speed up.
Great style and great atmosphere.

Supernaught says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:16am

I really enjoyed playing your game. I liked the part where she turned into a monster and started walking really fast. That scared me a lot. The Art, Mood and the Audio is so well made. I was expecting a jumpscare but there wasn't. Thank you for that.

vitorlanna says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:03am

Incredible use of mood, interesting story and a ton done for a game jam. I'm not 100% sure I understood what happened, though xD

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:31am

Amazing art and mood <3

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Great entry!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Thank you all for playing the game and taking the time to provide us with precious feedback!

Grouflon says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:24am

Very poetic and is the scariest "je vous salue marie" that i never heard !

XPert says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Awesome! Twisted my guts e makes me think a lot!

pixzleone says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:03am

Best-looking game in the jam, hands down! :O ³
If there was a sixth star for "Mood" you would have gotten it. ²

Awesome.

walsh9 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:48am

6 stars for mood.

axoona says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:03am

great graphics and concept, I really liked it!

Erkberg says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:44pm

A masterpiece of mood! The visuals are stunning and the story together with the haunting soundscape creates a dense atmospheric experience. Just amazing and fascinating!

cerulean_ says ...
Sep 21, 2015 @ 1:42am

I played it at 1A.M,almost cry :(
The atmosphere is awesome.

icemelt7 says ...
Sep 22, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Can anyone please explain the story, I played till the end but didn't understand

Oct 20, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Super neat graphics. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/wEgI5I5KLKY

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]