Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster of the Labyrinth

by J3X - Jam Entry

You are a skeleton in a dungeon game. But something is wrong.... Why are the walls breaking down around you? Who are these green skeletons that hunt you?

Survive and escape from the green skeletons into the golden gate.
Standard FPS controls. Punching stuff currently does nothing.

Changelog
0.1: Release
--- Ludum Dare 33 Deadline ---
0.2: Added exit text and added instructions.
0.3: Added links in game menu.

Programming & shaders
Jesper Tingvall tingvall.pw
Random labyrinth generator from Sightless, former gamejam project.

Sounds from
Demons Screaming In Hell – Mike Koenig
cardboard-burning – raremess

Visual assets from the Unity Store

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#139Mood(Jam)3.73
#773Humor(Jam)2.29
#798Theme(Jam)3.06
#804Innovation(Jam)2.66
#820Overall(Jam)2.88
#827Fun(Jam)2.65

Comments

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:32am

I'm not sure if I won. Was I supposed to go to the orange thing? This game doesn't have much gameplay and I didn't see how this fits the theme

J3X says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Yeah, the orange thing is the goal. If you look down you'll see that you are in fact a Skeleton living inside this world.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Good graphics! I'm not sure to understand the goal though, missing a tutorial or something

JNT says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Segfaults pretty much immediately on Ubuntu 14.04 64-bit.

JNT says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Sorry, wrong entry. Disregard post above!

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Could use a better way to indicate the goal. unless it is an exploration game. There wasn't much to explore though so I'm not sure

kerotan24 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Good atmosphere but the objective is not clear.

AndreSilvs says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:07pm

The shaders are very awesome, but I'm not sure they fit well with the game because I don't understand it. I couldn't understand what was going on, even after finding the orange pool. There isn't much gameplay aside from finding the orange thing or escaping from the green skeletons (the eerie sound really makes you want to run away!). Also I would think you could hit the other skeletons with the hands but it doesn't seem to do anything.
I did read the in-game messages about it being a simulation and all but I think you need a better explanation for how the game works.
Besides being a skeleton I also don't see how this fits the theme.
However you set a very nice mood, with the eerie music, dark halls (sometimes a little bit too dark, but maybe it's just the settings I picked) and the things falling apart.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Really interesting game! I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) youtu.be/Ly6pR3C_dVc

J3X says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Thanks for all feedback. I've added a indicator for goal and more clear instructions in the beginning.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:45pm

I can't seem to download the windows file, looks good though.

Electron says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:49pm

I enjoyed

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Really nice creepy atmosphere you made there!
I also really like the ascii effect. How did you make it?

If you did not make the 3d models please opt out the graphics category by editing your ludum dare game page!

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:14pm

That was some good mood in this game!

J3X says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Thank you everyone for trying it & feedback!

@Jupiter_Hadley
Thank you for featuring!

@AndreSilvs
Instructions made more clear.

@patvanmackelberg
Seems like itch.io died. Added Gamejolt mirror.

@Team Klappermann
It was unclear what to do when you partially done the graphics.

The shader looks after pixels close to a certail color, then multiplies with a mask sampled from a character texture.

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:20pm

The shader effects look great, but I coulddn't tell if I was doing well...

peterkirk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:42am

I like the look at this game. I wasn't sure what I was doing at first but enjoy once I played a bit.

Birke says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:33pm

This really creeped me out so it definitely worked. Really liked the glitchy matrix like shading. I could not figure out how to find the exit before I died. I only played once though but I think the maze like structure can prevent you from finding it in time before you are swarmed by the green skeletons.

ohsqueezy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Good atmosphere. Not sure if it was intentional or not but I felt like i was a skeleton trapped in a dungeon crawler game and all I could do was walk around. Good concept, slightly frustrating gameplay.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Really nice atmosphere, I liked this a lot!

Eldan_Knight says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Nice graphics and atmosphere! A little cryptic for me (but I think that was the intention).

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:58pm

The text was hard to read and the overall dungeon was empty.
I liked the shaders and the textures used. The atmosphere was spot on good enemies that hunt you down. Keep working on great projects like this one.

Cheers,
<Alin Putinelu> (of Los Pixelados team)

guoboism says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:03am

The visual style is amazing! But for players it's a bit dark.

LukeZaz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:40am

Very scary game. I was thoroughly spooked.

I did have a hard time finding the exit though, and also had trouble avoiding the green skeletons, and I could sprint indefinitely, but it was still fun.

Teesquared says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:55am

Very creepy. I couldn't find the woman in the red dress. What happens if you take both pills?

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Cool shader effect! The map was so dark in places it made it easy to get turned around. Nice entry.

Shackhal says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:11am

Interesting entry. Great mix of graphics and the music helps the somber mood. It fun to look the exit, while I evade the green skeletons.

But I have to say that the text annoying me a bit. It's hard to read it.

Overall, the game passes.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Web version felt a bit laggy at times and the ambient lighting could be slightly brighter but I loved the shaders you've made for the game and the graphics and audio fit the mood perfectly.

juaxix says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:52pm

I understand that i need to reach every orange "pool", i really love the ambientation and the idea of a matrix dungeon with computer sounds mixed with typical dungeon fx XD
I think the skeletons are other player submissions?
I would like to know if I can hit the agents with my hands :D

J3X says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Thank you so much for your kind feedback!

It seems that most feedback is about the text being hard to read and the game being a bit to dark. Feedback noted!

@juaxix
>skeletons are other players submissions
That is a really good idea... and creepy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]