Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Promethean Monster

by evandaley - Jam Entry

You are THE PROMETHEAN MONSTER. Use your high-tech weapons to kill humans and build voxel-monuments.

You have 2 weapons:
The Molecular Construction Cannon and the Deconstruction Cannon.

Controls:
WASD for movement

DECONSTRUCTION CANNON
Left Click to Tag enemies for deconstruction
Right Click to Deconstruct anything targeted.

RECONSTRUCTION CANNON
Left Click to Place OFF Grid
Right Click to Place ON Grid

For the best experience download the Windows Player version, use a mouse and wear headphones!!

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#576Graphics(Jam)3.29
#632Innovation(Jam)2.87
#741Fun(Jam)2.77
#758Overall(Jam)2.96
#868Humor(Jam)2.06
#904Mood(Jam)2.55
#1077Theme(Jam)2.09
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:07pm

I could not play it, may you can export a web or pc version, instead of only the source, but by the images it look similar to mirrors edge, which is great.

evandaley says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Hey Hyoga, sorry about that! I hadn't gotten all the links up yet! Now you can download the Webplayer version AND/OR a Windows Standalone! Have fun!!

t4u says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Simplistic graphic works. Using right mouse button is terrible idea - my browse wants to do some stuff instead of letting my play. Mouse easily goes off screen as well.

I dislike the color of floating balls of decomposition gun - Die! Purple! Die! become red or black

Theme: connection to theme is weak, killing humans and that's it.

Overall it works but I don't feel reason to play it for longer period of time.

Friday says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:28pm

It's cool! I did feel a bit bad for killing those people... but then again you are the monster. I just wasn't quite sure about the objective.

mincrmatt12 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Great Game!

I like the concept of having different tools to be a monster, and the idea of monster theme/psuedo-puzzle seems fun.

Alas, all good things have issues.
It seems that falling off does not result in any sort of death. Large issue. Other than that, it seems like a great game!

Thalikoth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I played the Windows version. I suggest you to hide and lock the mouse cursor. I wasn't able to play the game without running it fullscreen and disabling one monitor.

It's a really nice game, but I do feel bad for these Blender guys.

amras0000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:33pm

The game looks pretty good, but the delivery is lacking. If you don't mind, adjust the downloads like this:
Zip up the .exe+data
upload the .html to some free hosting service (github or itch.io work pretty well)
Make the three options seperate links on your ludum dare page.

This should get you more reviews.

One more issue: When you make a first person game, make sure to bind the mouse! There's a few simple functions in unity that'll do it for you.
http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Screen-lockCursor.html

Halleflux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Has a lot of potential. I'd like to see some expansion on the creation mechanic, maybe make it tied to killing or destroying other blocks. Has a lot of room for improvement, but it was a joy to play a peaceful game like this. Well done!

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Great idea well done! really enjoyed it the mouse needs fixed tho to fully enjoy your work... kept clicking out of the window.

teknic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:17pm

playable. i fell off the edge into the abyss...

Ferret says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:21pm

I mostly just enjoyed placing the blocks and making little homes for the blender people. The whole "be a monster" thing doesn't fit in this.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:28pm

You say I'm the monster, but I see no point in killing humans... it doesn't help me beat the levels.

mubox says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:18am

Nice graphics. ^^

pixzleone says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:13am

It´s a cool game with a lot of features, but with that also comes some problems.
I would recommend making your own skyboxes and lock and hide the mouse, if you wanna increse the quality of the game overall.
Overall I think you did a good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]