Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Hosts

by Warxen - Jam Entry

Very short game that gives you the ability to possess a person in the map, which you then use to complete it. I started to late on this project, resulting in a very short game, i also had to cut mechanics which allowed the game to have more depth. But this was a good practice nevertheless and I can use the feedback to turn it into something better.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#151Fun(Jam)3.62
#255Overall(Jam)3.54
#341Innovation(Jam)3.26
#595Graphics(Jam)3.25
#623Audio(Jam)2.41
#721Theme(Jam)3.18
#806Mood(Jam)2.73
#833Humor(Jam)2.17

Comments

Halleflux says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:33am

I made a game like this one last time, and it turned out worse than this one, in my opinion. On the whole, solid mechanics, though I would say you should probably fine tune the combat some, if you want that as a focus, or the stealth, if you want that as a focus.
I also like the graphics, good style for a 3D LD.
Well done!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:37am

nice graphics and idea good job :3

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:37am

I would mark this as a windows download, anyway its best to hit download on the first dropbox screen there. As far as the game, short but a TON of fun. I loved the physical mechanics of t he gun play and the hitman style stategerie. Nice.

kfarwell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14am

Great concept. I'd love to see a more complete version.

Mimus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:22pm

I like the gameplay.

JayWoody says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:26pm

This was cool! After I worked out the mechanics I was really into it. The guards move way too fast in my opinion but maybe I'm just bad at games. :)

Very nice entry!

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Great walk/run animation. Quite difficult at times, but fun.

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Cool mechanics, nice graphics. I also like the physics of the characters. The camera is not great, it limits the vision of the map, so I can't shoot a guy that is far away. Sounds are solid. Nicely done :).

saucygames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:34pm

cool idea

bwafflecone says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Cool concept! The camera angles sometimes made it hard to pick out the next target, but overall it was a fun challenge

taaboo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Have to say. The good part about it is I wanted to continue to play it and I think you could improve on the feedback towards the player. I had no idea when a character agroed me and everything was rather sudden. I like the idea of a possesion mechanic and it would be better if you could do it troughout the game. I read that you only had so little time so thats why.

10UpCrew says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Great idea of letting the player choose a starting point, would like to see you expand on that by providing multiple alternatives with trade-offs.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:28am

It's a really cool gameplay! Nice level design.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:01am

Short but interesting stealth action puzzler; I like the strategic element in choosing which character to possess. The clean aesthetics, and the feel from just a splash of color was really nice. I love that the characters have tiny little noses, too!

There were some difficulties caused by the camera angle in the second level; the melee guard after the door couldn't be targeted effectively when he was obscured behind that wall, and they moved faster than you could get far enough into the room to get a shot. I had to cheese his line of sight and retreated to finally get him.

Thanks for putting this together, even if it was short. I had fun! I wish you luck working on your future, more feature-complete version of the game too!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:08am

Nice mechanic, and fun game play. I really enjoyed this.

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:21am

Cool game, too short but cool. Maybe the hitbox could be a bit more forgiving when you don't have a gun.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:25am

Solid game here. I got a bit of a hotline miami vibe from the one hit kill style. Liked that a lot. I felt the gun was a bit too powerful as I could clear rooms very easily with it. Still I'd say good job with it, enjoyed playing.

guoboism says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:40am

Nice game. Would like to play more! Simplistic design but very polished!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:42am

The ragdoll deaths were pretty fun, and the walking animation was pretty spot on.

I feel like the gun maybe made some parts too easy, but overall I liked the concept and general gameplay.

On the first level, I had a melee guy go through the wall and get me, which was a little frustrating and surprising, but I'm guessing that's a bug.

shimage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:46am

Very nice game! The character run without stress, so comfortable. I thought that a target can be chosen first expanded the width of the play.

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:08am

Really nice level design, wish i could play more levels :>

komjaur says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:17am

More levels and more guns pls :D

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:06pm

The motion is quite good, it would be better to have a BGM.

zuurr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:15pm

its a cool game and has decent gameplay and nice graphics/animation.

on the downside the controls are unresponsive at times and it could use background music.

Bocodillo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Great fun, if a little short. Love the style though!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:54pm

I love what I see in other released media from this game. Unfortunately, my Macbook Pro 5,4 can't run this. It looks really cool though!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Unfortunate that you didn't get to make more levels and such, was a fun game with an interesting idea. Well done. :)

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Please, make Win32-build

Shackhal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:12pm

The mechanics are simple and well designed. The 3D is good, but without texture (unless you wanted that way). No music but there's acceptable audio.

It could be great that the gunner moves to a better position when you are under cover. It gives more combat complexity and it's better than be a "crazy turret".

Also, it could be awesome if you can possess more than one per level. And the one possessed before becomes normal after that. It could gives more depth on game and level design.

Overall, the game passes. It was fun :)

Warxen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Thanks for the feedback guys, very much appreciated!
Very good points have been made, I have already changed quite some things (added path-finding, feedback on detection, possession-swapping mechanic will be usable in later levels that have the proper design for them).
And much more to come, I will do my best to release the post-ludum version on sunday.

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:28am

Everything was awesome. Only thing I'd say was missing is more levels.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Nice stealth concept and art style!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]