Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dinner In The Dark

by DinnerInTheDark - Jam Entry

! Download strongly recommended !

Dinner In The Dark is a game where you hunt down your prey until it is time for dinner. You are a hungry monster living in dark sewers. You have one weakness though: light! It is your bad luck that your dinner for tonight is carrying a flashlight...

Controls:
Use WASD to move around
Press spacebar to jump
Press the F key to interact with light switches
Use the mouse to look around

Created by:
Simon Chuptys
Jasper Hilven
Michiel Huygen
Ewout Van Gossum

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#93Theme(Jam)4.07
#127Mood(Jam)3.77
#205Audio(Jam)3.50
#339Overall(Jam)3.44
#404Innovation(Jam)3.17
#422Fun(Jam)3.20
#612Graphics(Jam)3.20
#671Humor(Jam)2.54

Comments

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Fun take on the idea, somewhat sad I could not just eat the prey when I was right on him but instead have to wait for the end of the rails. Also, after the music buildup and scream at the end, the titles fade away and he's still alive! Good entry.

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:15pm

I liked the game idea, however there seemed to be some bugs like falling through ground in some places.

I also wondered that why cant you eat the prey if you get next to him even though he isnt in your lair o.o

gingerBill says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Fun game and a clever concept.

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:59pm

excellent game, brilliant atmosphere - this idea needs to go AAA!!! Needs more SFX and shame you cant turn and walk or be a little more freeform but amazing amount of work within the time

kerotan24 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Good idea but no so well execution, plenty of bugs but really funny.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:27pm

concept wise this is very very very nice. I love how this game feels. Congratulations

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Nice light effects and blindness. The devouring sound was a bit over the top. I like the feeling of stealth though.

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:14pm

I liked it a lot! It's a fun little game while it lasts, and I think the mechanics would get repetitive after a while, but it could be a little longer. There are some issues with it, mainly the unpredictability of movement. This might be a design choice, but I didn't like it, especially when I couldn't see the water, I stepped in. Also the scream is a little too loud at the end of the sessions I think.

TomOlivier says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Wow, the athmosphere is really amazing, i like it. Good job guys!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:10pm

A bit buggy but excellent atmosphere! Keep it up!

Mythalore says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:18pm

A good solid game, workable art and a interesting mechanic, just a shame the actually feasting wasn't animated.

lycanpoet says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:46pm

The game was brilliant for the time span. didn't have too much that I could say needed anything more than a bit more polish. Great job.

dacharya64 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:50pm

I like this game a lot! A nice take on the traditional stealth game, and definitely a great idea that can be expanded upon. The gameplay felt a bit predictable (the 'food' turning around and searching the area after some boxes, for instance) but was still a good deal of fun. Loved how you did the lights, especially when there was some light shining in your eyes.

Crosstales says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Nice entry!
Just a little bit too short!
Keep it up!

lemer says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Awesome game idea. With a little improvement could be an awesome game. Very good work!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Fun game, totally great controls! I love that you say "checkpoint!" and then the prey hears it and looks around! Awesome!

jlnr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:44pm

...of course you cannot eat your prey before you've reached the dinner table :P

Great atmosphere and really good use of the theme!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Great stealth game! I did not encounter any bugs!
Also great sound design, the end of a level is always really rewarding. I am also glad that you placed so many checkpoints!

And also thank you for your very nice comment on my game! I really cant wait how people actually rated it, because I am not sure how to fell about it myself.

Keep up the good work guys!

30dogs says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:18am

Damn, really nice work guys. Great atmosphere, audio, concept. This is the first one I've played where I really 'felt' like the monster. Kudos.

aaronsnoswell says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:07am

Cool concept guys :) And good work getting that much 3D content done in such a short time! I had a bug where my mouse position didn't line up with the GUI buttons - I had to move the mouse to the left of the buttons to get it to click. Love the idea. Thanks for participating.

Ramiel says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Just awesome. One of the best entries I have played so far.
Some minor suggestions: the sound of the footsteps of the monster didn't fit to a monster in my opinion. Also the rising sound at the end is a bit too long. And maybe you could do some blood splash on the screen during the scream ;)

freaknarf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:28am

Good start for a thief-like game ! i like the blinding light effects, and the idea. In the other hand i feel like the prey's alert is a bit random, so this cut a bit the gameplay.
Cool idea !

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:40am

Really cool art style you have made!
you did a good job for the ambiance, i felt a bit slow compare to the prey but maybe because it is of the gameplay value.
Well done! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]