Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Loop

by Byte Piper - Jam Entry

'Monster Loop' was made by a crew of enthusiasts 'BYTE PIPER' from a small country in the middle of Europe called Belarus :)

In this game you can be both human and monster. All you have to do is to swipe your enemies. If you are a human — swipe red dudes down and blue - up. But don't let them kick you or you'll become a monster and have to do everything vice versa. Watch the bars to the left and to the right, dont let them decrease. Only 2 attepmts frome each side.
Seems simple? Go and try it! >:)

NOTICE: The game was made for mobile devices (Android OS) but you can watch the gameplay preview by clicking on the video above. Sorry guys, we can't provide a proper web or desktop version due to the technical issues and loss of the main gameplay feature: all idea is in fast-pace playing on a mobile device. Hope you'll understand.

UPDATE: Finally! We've added Windows 7 (unstable version, run with Windows 7 compatibility) and OS X app. Also updated Android version, now — more responsive swipes. Enjoy! ;)

Thanks for attention!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#455Audio(Jam)2.96
#579Graphics(Jam)3.28
#634Humor(Jam)2.60
#785Innovation(Jam)2.68
#823Fun(Jam)2.66
#836Mood(Jam)2.69
#853Theme(Jam)2.98
#880Overall(Jam)2.80

Comments

Reyn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:37pm

I'v tried it on a galaxy note 4, for some reason it feels like my swiping doesn't do anything, did you make assumptions on screen resolution? The graphics and animation is great!

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Why only Android? :c

Freebios says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Android won't install it, even if I allow unknow sources.
Just saying app has not been installed :/
I'm on Android 5.1.1 on a Nexus 5

Clurect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42pm

very interesting and super quick

Rongon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Interesting concept and nice artwork. Fast paced, cool for mobiles :p

Perkovec says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:02pm

We tested on nexus 5. Game sucessfully installed. Swipes should be more then 1/3 of screen width or height.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:16pm

No windows version?

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:17pm

I didn't really understand how to play. I couldn't seem to interact with any of the humans, no matter which direction I swiped.

teknic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:49pm

No PC or Mac runtime :(

psydack says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Hi guys. It's look nice but you can provide some web version (like in dropbox) or something to play. I'll wait for it. =)

Halfbus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Tried on Nexus 4, works ok. A nice prototype of idle game

goodolvic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:31pm

I dig the idea of swiping up on enemies. Great for a mobile game. And I always appreciate some minimalist art.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Monster Swiping Simulator 2015

Realize2D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:46pm

at first it seems a bit confusing, but I liked the graphics and it is fun.

Perkovec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:31am

Sorry guys, we can't provide a proper web or desktop version due to the technical issues and loss of the main gameplay feature: all idea is in fast-pace playing on a mobile device. Hope you'll understand.

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:19am

Lol, that macarena dance... hilarious

Shina69 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:31am

By the youtube video, seemed really fun! Too bad i couldn't touch it by myself on the pc.

madcapacity says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14am

I like the idea so far. It would be cool to see where you could take this!

folex70 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:14am

interesting

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:31am

Interesting. The android build didn't work btw

petitpois says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:54am

Interesting concept. Swiping is a bit non responsive. Fun Graphics. I like the human to monster animation.

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:00am

Graphics were cool as hell. Loved the color schemes. I'm a graphics nerd, so I love me some graphics :D

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:08am

Damn I really like the graphic!
And I appriciate that you developed only for android.. Keheheh.. >:D

JHM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:36am

dont have android... can't test it. Sad :(

chipcaramel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Interesting concept!

Perkovec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Thanks for your comments, guys. Today we'll add a desktop version for Windows specially for you to try.

Byte Piper says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:36pm

We add Win 7 (unstable version) and OS X app.

Byte Piper says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Update android version, now more responsive swipes

MADREX says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Looks like a pretty fun game :D
Good job there.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Haha good job! I enjoyed the music!

TsN_RaMPaGE says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Fun little game. Good work!

cjacobwade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:30am

Played the OSX version. Couldn't figure out what to do, swiping didn't have much effect.

Byte Piper says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:33am

@cjacobwade Please see the detailed description :)

jordinuco says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:04am

Tried the Windows 7 version. Well, it worked ok more or less (some issues with the swipping, but attributable to my mouse), but definitely this kind of mechanics works better on a touch screen. Nice music!

ChrisFagan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Cool concept, nice mechanics, and cool art. Thumbs up!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:57pm

works pretty well you should put it in the app store afterwards, we also created our game for android we have it currently in alpha in the playstore

glerikud says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Android might not be the wisest platform for a jam, but I liked your game (tested it on Windows). The graphics is well done. The music was a bit repetative. And the setting is pretty clever for the theme.

fermenter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:12am

Interesting platform choice, and nice looking art!

aaronsnoswell says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Seems nice, sad that the PC version doesn't work as well as mobile though :P

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:35pm

PC version is pretty unplayable. Pretty though!

Byte Piper says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:34pm

@DaanVanYperen PC version is experimental. Game was created only for mobile, read description)

Pomb says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:15am

Cool idea but needs a bit more fine tuning :)

noom says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:35am

I really liked the audio, gameplay was a little strange on PC version but understandable as it seems it was developed for portable devices. The transformation was pretty funny.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:54am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Darkflint says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Watched only youtube. Idea seems nice, transforming from a human to a monster. But i couldnt really understand the way to play from the video.

Vaclav says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:49pm

wow really cool :)

Almax27 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Swipe swipe swipe swipe swipe :D

Sparrow says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Fun game, I don't know why I got game overs though?

yuigoto says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:05am

This game is, certainly, not for the PC, since it's quite unstable on Windows. :/ But you've got some nice concept for a simple game.

In a certain way, because of the swiping and stuff, reminded me a bit of some of Monsters Ate My Condo style of gameplay. :P

The 8-bit graphics and "chipstep" soundtrack are also a charm for the game. :)

I do think, though, that the game is quite confusing at first, since you need the description of the game to fully understand the gameplay.

Nevertheless, this is quite a fun game, once you get the hangs of it. :)

Cheers!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]