Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Tentacle Rescue : Summer of Love

by Casper - Jam Entry

You are transformed into a monster ! Save your girlfriend, Minaru from the pervert starfishes ! Do not pull them when they are chewing on the clothes ! Don't let them cover all of her and don't tear off all of her clothes ! Claim back the human-side of you !

Tips * Starfish turns red when biting on Minaru's cloth.

- Loading from tutorial -> game scene takes some time. \:)
- Updated with some fixes and game balancing tweaks. Your score will be shown in the lose screen now !

Thanks for all the feedbacks ! Appreciated !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#132Humor(Jam)3.66
#428Graphics(Jam)3.58
#444Theme(Jam)3.56
#563Fun(Jam)3.00
#648Innovation(Jam)2.85
#707Mood(Jam)2.87
#713Overall(Jam)3.01

Comments

yungs says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:52am

poor minaru ((´д`))

sydream says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:16am

I wonder how many people have gone all the way to see how far you pushed :). Nice idea though.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:17am

Game ignores my clicks 80% of the time.

K1llercake says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:21am

Lol this is amazing

mat1er says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:30am

I always knew tentacle monster were good persons.

The overall isn't perfect at all, but the game is so fun. It's hard to stop playing it. 5/5
Actually, if the game was on mobile and a little more complete, I wouldn't mind paying for that!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:30am

That was... disturbing. There should probably be a content warning on this. And I think it would work better on a touchscreen. It's just not all the fun though.

g_o says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:56am

This is japanese on so many levels..

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Funniest take on the theme I've seen so far, clever use of the monster idea.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:37pm

hahaha great take on the theme desserves 5 stars on it, so japanese, good job.

orukinawa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:27pm

You nearly made a Mauritian guy scared of the beach :p
Great use of the theme!

yungs says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Teammate here:

Hey guys/gals thanks for the comments and feedback! Glad you are enjoying our somewhat buggy build...

If you have problems clicking, try aiming a little to the left of the sprites before swiping. We're aware of the issues and will try to fix that in time.

Web/Touch controls/mobile port is planned! Stay tuned or follow us on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/gospacepups) for updates.

tayl1r says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:11pm

It's really hard to lose by taking her clothes off............ I guess I really am the monster.

Meat Us says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:45am

Ahah, this is so funny, there is too many tentacles on this Jam, but this is so cool !

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:46pm

The monster is within the heart!

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Welp, guess we're all monsters then...

lucentbeam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Pretty funny take on the theme and blend with that... other idea. So, uh... Where did you get those sound effects? They seem a little dubious :p Might be worth adding a content warning.

hcosta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Hahaha it was really fun! :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Great idea- Although the difficulty seemed to scale very slowly, and suddenly you hit a wall where it gets really fast.

This would work really well as a mobile game- So go do that!!

I was impressed that the starfish didn't just lay on top of an image, but the actually interacted with "her", and had the correct angles and such when they landed on her.
The fixed version felt very polished as well. Good job.

darklightteam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Awesome hahahahahaha

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Urotsukidoji?

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Difficulty curve is very odd... I feel like scores will generally be grouped at a single area in the game.

JakeL168 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Make a Mac version please~

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:46pm

This is one of those games that seems like it's a game about taking off a girls clothes but is wrapped up in seriously well coded environment. Game functioned flawlessly, sounds were spot on, graphics were great and the whole game felt sleek and fluid. Excellent design and wonderfully original take on a theme that didn't leave much room for originality. Nice work.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Props on making me realize what a monster I am :<

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:59pm

This is disturbing... 10/10 hahha :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:52pm

I should have prepared myself for this a bit more XD I don't know what I was expecting! HAHA. I could actually see people playing this on mobile!

Vem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:06pm

The fact that you have to aim far to the left is very annoying :/

Beside that, it's a clever idea, and a well-executed game.

snooze82 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:39pm

I found the real monster in me! I killed all those little starfishes :(

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:53am

my little bro liked it (15yo), me (25yo)....and my father too (54yo) ^-^

Also a good scoring system!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:25am

Full points for humor on this one for sure. Nicely executed and fits the theme quite well.

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:10am

Interesting way to use the theme. Really fun gameplay. Good work!

liquidmedia says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:25am

Nice Game

randoman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:19am

I like japanese games and this looks so much like one! A very original idea on this theme. Congrats!

SushiDestroy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:49am

ok, first thing first, so far that's the funniest use of the theme i've seen xD, nice job on that ;)
Graphics are neat and gameplay is fun. Good job overall ;)

Caracole says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Yamete !
Hilarious ^^

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Um. . .Ok. . .

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Oh no you didn't! This is just great

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Minaru Noooooo!

*evil laught*
Epic.
GREAT GRAPHIC and funny gameplay.
Next time put a pop up that suggest to turn of the speakers! x'D

Zed says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Nothing makes me care more about a gameplay objective quite like "Stop there being a starfish stuck on that poor girl's armpit". I laughed, I cried, I swatted at sealife on an anime schoolgirl. It was an experience.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Well, um, the graphics were well done and the game play idea is unique. Not my cup of tea, but well done nonetheless.

Kassimkot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:07am

interesting actually. though the clicks were'nt as accurate as it supposed to be. wish there were other elements to hinder our progress.

gillenew says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:17am

hahaha that is nice to see for hours :D
good job capturing our will

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:01pm

...Interesting take on the theme, although I can't say that I enjoyed it that much.

lkpridgeon says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Okay... Not too bad however had some issues with the control and my hand got tired towards level 28...

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:30am

Hilarious idea. Was fun pulling all those starfish off Minaru.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:19am

:D :D :D
DON'T JUDGE ME!!D:

Haha pervert starfish with butts!
That's right I really really enjoyed this game because of its.. uhhh... humor... :3

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:10am

Cool game, we need an enhanced mobile version of this.

treeman says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:07am

Oh yes, oh yes. Well done!

cirpig29 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:26am

Gotta admit, clever use of the theme. Unfortunately the controls are wonky and unresponsive, so it doesn't really play all that well. Still, a fun(ny) experience.

madmaw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:23am

User input seems a bit buggy/laggy, but the game is oddly appropriate for the theme. Simple idea, but great graphics and music.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Awesome theme interpretation! It's a pity the game is buggym even playing the fixes and tweaks version, it ignores almost all of my cliks/swipes. Great sense of humour graphics and innovation though.

Strike says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:16am

HAHA, Awesome concept XD
Seems like there is some way to never loose by tearing apart each piece of cloth except one, and after that just ignoring the star fish on this last part. Once it's done it's all about removing the star fish all the way we want. Maybe you could have added some penalty if a starfish bites where there is no clothes ?

Fun game anyway ;)

mubox says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:16pm

For some reason I need to click at the left side of the "sea star" for taking it...

^^

Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Too bad that starfishes don't like swimsuits :D.

Note to play testers: the click area seems to be offseted to the left on my computer. If you can't take the starfish, try to click on the left of them.

Nardom says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:22pm

I'll admit, on the first try I definitely was the monster. On my second try I felt I should not be a monster. The gameplay however feels a bit limited in it's current state; there was no punishment for losing clothing, nor was there a reward for keeping the clothes on. I think something along those lines would enhance the relationship with my waifu... I mean it would probably keep me clicking longer.

I enjoyed playing your game!

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Irony of having as the only thing standing in between her being violated or not a tentacle monster... Poor Minaru I tell you, bet she is never going to eat seafood again after such an experience!

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:01am

Not sure if it was just me but the controls seemed a bit buggy. I think the concept is interesting but the execution definitely needs work to get it polished for a public release

valid4life says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Absolutely fantastic! Great entry for studying starfish

superfreak says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I found this game strangely arousing.

nassi says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Wait what, you weren't supposed to pull the starfishes when they lit red?! And here I thought I was winning...

Pretty simple but it has anime-art and lewd sound effects so of course I loved it.

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:15pm

These starfish mmmh!!!

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:24am

Well I mean nobody can say you ignored the theme :p

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]