Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Nightmare on "The Cookies" street

by BarrelGames - Jam Entry

We all love the sweet, but after meeting with Marusya, you'll understand what is true love for the bisquits. Enjoy the world of cookies and glaze, you must protect what is yours, and eat everything else, remember, after each delivery of cookies,it's harder to protect your cookies! Free cheese only in a mousetrap, and free cookies are here. Hurry up and eat it first! Bon Appetit!

Controls:
Use your mouse for moving, double click left mouse button in one place for jump. Eat brown cookies, protect green guys, we believe that you can do it!

Developers:
Mikhail Evstafyev(artist)
Nadir Manakhov(coding)
Amir Bakirov(coding&music)
Ruslan Akhmetsharipov(modeller & PR)

sounds in game:
EspantoMusic_-_DPFI
main:
The_Whisky_project_-_Inside_the_room___Trying_to_open_the_door

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#357Graphics(Jam)3.73
#358Audio(Jam)3.19
#489Humor(Jam)2.86
#663Overall(Jam)3.05
#768Theme(Jam)3.12
#791Fun(Jam)2.69
#864Innovation(Jam)2.54
#904Mood(Jam)2.55

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Nice game with awesome graphics! Got a bit of Shrek inspiration while playing. :) Great take and sweet feeling when seeing the animation of eating the candy men!

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:05pm

This was pretty cool. Impressive what you did in just 72 hours! Controls could use some polishing here and there. At first I was trying to kill every single cookie, it wasn't intuitive that I had to kill just the yellow since yellow and green look pretty much the same apart from colour.

Great job nonetheless!

ps. this is the second time i opened a game hosted in this website and it prompted me with an annoying advertisement. use some other hosting service that doesn't do that.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:26am

I am the cookie monster! Rargh! I eat you! I eat you and stomp on you!

I had a blast playing this. I do wish that the green cookies that I'm trying to protect did a better job protecting themselves.

Macecraft says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:35am

A bit unsure of what was going on but the audio was awesome, graphics were spoopy

TomOlivier says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:35am

Nice game, loved the overall feeling of just eating cookies :)

Brown cookies always disappear when reaching the top of the map, it's kind of hard to catch them all :)

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:40am

Good enough game. A few complaints: it's not always clear that you have caught an enemy, either there is no animation for grabbing, or it's hard to notice it. Also, double-click is often detected when I didn't mean it, which leads to too much random jumping.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:47am

It was well done but I didn't get my objective until I read the description.

Kaltic says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:58am

Have to agree with @LeafThief

Hegback says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:47am

Somehow I don't feel like it matches the theme...but the gameplay, graphics,everything is sooo awesome! It's really hard to believe that you made this within 3 days! Thumbs up here!

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Graphics is really smooth, really impressive for 3 days.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:29pm

I am impressed with the amount you got done in three days. The art looks great.
I found the controls a bit off. I kept jumping at times when I didn't intend to.

Strike says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:35am

Original concept, nice graphics, groovy music !
I kept trying and trying but never managed to win. Looks like i must kill these 4 generals, but they keep running into a house and disappear there. There might be something in the gameplay that i missed XD I must try again !

colinn says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:58am

Not my type of game, but still very good. Great work.

Taldius says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:04pm

I love the idea of the game, the art styl is really good too.
Good job!

Denis347 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Cool graphics and audio. You should write a little description in game as well, so people know what to do.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Nice ! Really cool animations and graphics

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Am I killing... Gingy?!

jofra says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:19pm

I dont want to eat them! im not fat :c
Gj!

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Lovely presentation. The graphics were nice and the audio was awesome! I could see this developing into a pretty cool game, especially if you could recruit more green guys to follow you around.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]