Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Fly On The Wall

by Apostrophe - Jam Entry

Apostrophe: Artwork, Level Design
dreamlogician: Programming, Level Design


2-Player Puzzle Game. One player is the Scientist, the other player is the Fly. Entering different teleporters at the same time will combine DNA and give special abilities. The objective is to enter the same teleporter together to become normal again.

Use the keyboard to control the Scientist:

Arrow Left/Right: Move Left/Right
Arrow Up: Jump
Arrow Down: Fall below from ledges

Use the mouse to control the Fly:

Mouse-over a stationary Fly to begin flying.

Left Mouse-Click: Pick up objects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#36Innovation(Jam)4.05
#100Overall(Jam)3.84
#259Theme(Jam)3.78
#309Fun(Jam)3.37
#646Graphics(Jam)3.11
#927Mood(Jam)2.50
#1942Coolness30%

Comments

handkor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:04am

Nice puzzle game. Being able to fly after the transformation was neat. Good job

CreamyBacon1 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:56am

It's a good concept, and I like the puzzles you have. Hope you polish it more.

Omiya Games says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Pretty fun! The puzzles were well-designed and taught me one small thing at a time. I did feel like I was getting smarter on each level: perfect experience for a puzzle game. Played it solo, but I can see this being a blast in multiplayer.

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:20am

Good puzzle mechanic.

magenta says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Nice puzzles and a good start for something bigger! Felt a bit sluggish clicking on things (don't think I managed to pick anything up) but the fly mouse hover is a touch of genius even if it went a bit chaotic :} Would be nice to have a restart level. Love the movie reference!

MrTwister says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Nice! Love puzzle games and this one is really well made! Loved the mechanic. Definitely one of the most innovative entries I've seen this LD.

This HAS to be at least partially inspired by the 80s classic "The Fly"!

Controlling the fly was a bit frustrating but still fun.
It would benefit a lot from proper from audio and in-game instructions I guess, but it's a really solid entry nonetheless. Great job!

Flaid says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:25am

I really like this style of puzzler. I read your description twice, but I guess I missed the part about clicking to pick up stuff until reading it the third time... so I guess maybe having the controls in/around the game window might be nice.

After I figured out the controls, I played all the way to the end. Nicely done!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:53am

I like the idea, but I found the fly's controls kind of weird. I didn't really feel like I was directing the fly with the mouse, but more like just luring it places. Some in-game instructions would have been good too.

boardtobits says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 2:08am

Cool concept. I coud see this working as a single-player or multi-player game. Nice work!

jodizzle says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 2:37am

I will say that I was a bit confused because the premise of this game didn't make too much sense to me: why were the scientist and the fly supposed to teleport at the same time in the first place? An experiment? Outside of that, though, I think it made for some interesting level design and gameplay.

The only real bug (pun intended) that I noticed was with the fly. Several times the fly would be buzzing around and then suddenly act as if it died and would respawn even though I hadn't hit a hazard. Maybe it was because I was trying to fit the fly through too narrow a gap? However, overall I found the behavior of the fly to be valuably frustrating; it was almost like there was a sub-game of "playing the difficult to control character" nested inside the larger game.

In terms of expanding the game, I think you could consider pairing up the scientist with different types of animals (and thus different transformations), or even bump the game up to controlling even more characters at the same time

OnlySlightly says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 2:52am

I loved how well you were able to mimic the movement of a fly. And onus points for being a cooperative puzzle game. It was a lot of fun deducing how to exit each level. And really cool touch mixing human and fly when sharing the teleporter. (A reference to the fly?) Anyway that was a lot of fun. Great job!

Sep 10, 2015 @ 3:21am

nice level design! congrats!

carle13 says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:11am

Good game! I liked the puzzle but it was difficult to control the fly

sorlok says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:17am

Very innovative, and solid controls ---I don't think the fly was too frustrating, although some of the puzzles were close. Cool concept!

Dejvo says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:56am

really fun and unique game! well done

crucknuk says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:36pm

I liked the puzzle in the game, i liked how to behave with the fly, and it reminded me of the movie :)
by the way the path finding was a bit hazardous at some time but nothing too dramatic. It was a cute puzzle game, well done :)

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:23pm

I enjoyed watching you guys play this, but really wanted to try the fly controls for myself! Don't know why, but it was incredibly fun! Wish you could've gone even further (or are going to) with your original idea of more creatures.. I'd play that!

Oct 19, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Neat game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/sWM7EbBXpJg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]