Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Who's the Monster!

by TeamCosmitronique - Jam Entry

In this game, you play as agent tasked with finding who among the suspects is a shape-shifting monster. We interpreted the theme as an accusatory statement and decided to build a game on that.

This was our first Ludum Dare. We had a great time making it and hope you will enjoy playing it.

Tools used:
Java (libGdx)
Photoshop
Paint.Net
Garageband
Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#132Graphics(Jam)4.23
#206Overall(Jam)3.62
#216Audio(Jam)3.49
#223Innovation(Jam)3.42
#230Fun(Jam)3.49
#287Humor(Jam)3.25
#418Theme(Jam)3.59
#449Mood(Jam)3.23

Comments

madcapacity says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:31am

Awesome visuals!

Muush says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:41am

Good job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:43am

hahaha, thats such a nice game! like the analog game where you have to find out about who we are talking about xD

Love it!
and soooo nice graphics!! :)

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:44am

Awesome gfx and music! :)
I totally love these kind of riddles.
Great game, really fun to play :D I searched a long time for easter eags, while pushing with my finger around.

Demetz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48am

Really enjoyed the art style of this one! great job :)

t4u says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48am

Had some problems with understanding some of clues (refuses to stand, doesn't want red anywear near it).

Aside from that overall like with innovative idea.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:49am

Nice visuals! It wasn't totally clear how you were meant to use shuffle at first, but pretty fun!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:56am

enjoyed it very much. nice work. :)

TeamOA says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57am

Loved the look, kinda similar to 'fingered' which recently came out. Not really 'you are the monster' but super fun to play, loved the sound and art.

Croze says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00am

Very pretty game, when the hint involves left or rights, is it my left and right or theirs?

Aumni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:21am

I love the retro style in the game. The art and music fit really well with the gameplay and the mood you wanted to convey! Good work!! :)

Chikoness says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Love the graphics! Gameplay is very very funny, reminds me of Papers, Please! :)

Tselmek says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Great turn on the riddles and nice music.

Darius says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:39pm

The visuals are incredible, the music really adds to the mood.

s_jmp says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:43pm

WOW the story generation is really cool. I wonder how you implemented the logic !!!

thatwhichis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:04pm

i am a singularly bad monster-finder. ;_;

DragonGino says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:22pm

i got only 1 of the five. but i am going to try again until i got all five of them.

Rongon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Cool game, really enjoyed it.
I like how you interpreted the theme.
I guess this could be easily extended to procedurally generating a lot of interesting levels.

orange08 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:59pm

pretty cool game & concept I hope you guys make a bigger game out of this... I can tell it has a lot more potential... a lot more ways to solve who is the monster by clues. Good use of theme and very innovative.

randoman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Got 3 out of 5. The last one changed the hair color and I pointed him, but it was just a regular person :(

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Good vibe, fun puzzles! Had a bit of a problem in the beginnig with the controls not working if I resized the window tho (on windows).

killersnoofie says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:17am

Awesome graphics

Skyfish says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Great job! Aesthetics, audio and theme is spot on!

-TZer0

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Interesting and fun game. It prooves the player abilities. I liked it.

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Nice deduction game...
I wanted more levels!
Good graphics.
One thing: when we shuffle, the hair colors can change, it's weird and harder to memorize who is who...

Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:11pm

This is great. Definitely needs more monsters though!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Great visuals and concept is pretty innovative! Congrats with a debut!

Lady Beardo says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:38am

Reminds me of those logic problems on standardized tests- but a lot more fun!

Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:32am

Pretty challenging, especially for the colour blind like me :( Also didn't really get some of the puzzles: refuses to stand next to green, but when i shuffled everyone wound up standing next to green at some point. Oh wait i get it the guy in green was the only one not standing next to green so it must've been him. Duh!

nassi says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Bah, only got 2 out of 5 :P. Neat aesthetic and an interesting gameplay concept. Fantastic work on your first LD entry!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:55am

Nice!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]