Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Taxman

by colinn - Compo Entry

Taxman is a simple game where you serve the people by taking their money away. I thought it would be fun/silly to think of tax collection as "evil/bad/monstrous"

Controls:
* Up Arrow, Down Arrow (Change Selection)
* Spacebar (Make Selection)

Goal:

You have 7 days to collect as many taxes as possible. You start as a basic taxman, and as you successfully reclaim funds you gain Poise, Presence, and Perception points. These allow you to target larger withholders.

*How to play*

* Make careful decisions on where you drive. Your current location is in the top right, along with the day and approximate time.
* The targets location is shown under their image. Can you figure out which locations are furthest apart? If you do, you will be able to maximize your tax collecting time.
* Each taxpayer has skills that they will use to combat your tax collecting abilities. Your stats combat these. Can you figure out which stats combat each skill?
* If you do not rest, you will become exhausted, which requires more rest to recover.

By taking note of stats and effects, you can deduce most of the figures used by the games logic.

Total dev time, around 6 hours. Just for fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#321Humor3.04
#345Theme3.57
#354Overall3.25
#622Fun2.79

Comments

miotatsu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:22am

was looking forward to this entry but I'll have to refrain from rating it as I'm unable to play it (unity doesn't work on linux)

colinn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Very sorry about that. I didn't think about this when submitting. I created platform builds so that you might be able to try out the game

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Didn't get the game, wish it have some guidance.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:00pm

doesn't Work on linux, unfortunately (says "could not find data folder" or something i nconsole)

colinn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:00pm

I'll update the description with more instructions. Thanks for the feedback

Aaranos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:03pm

I think there needs to be more explanation of how the skills work. I just started to follow anyone as it felt random when it was a success, but that is because I have no clue what is going on.

bwafflecone says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Very original concept and mechanics! The art style and sound effects really set the mood. Was not very clear on how many Poise/Presence/Perception points I needed to take on certain people though.

Flaid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:04pm

This game showed that you don't have to have flashy animations to make a fun game. Although I still don't entirely understand all of the mechanics, it was fun to "be the monster" and collect taxes from people.

The fact that you developed in 6 hours is pretty impressive!

colinn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Thanks for the feedback. I suppose I was hoping it would be fun to try and figure out what stats apply to what taxpayer skills. I think if I had more visual feedback then this would work.

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:20pm

It wasn't bad, but I didn't manage to gain any Poise, Presence, or Perception points. Also, it would be nice if there was some indicator of how tired you are. As for theme and humor, I don't think tax collectors can actually be considered monsters, though I see why some might want to think of them like that, and I don't find it very funny.

colinn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Sorry to offend you Team Luminous. I don't actually think tax collecting is bad, or those who collect it. The skills the tax payers have are those that I imagined people who do not want to pay tax use to rationalize/get out of it.

So the point of this game wasn't to say that tax collectors are monsters, but to take a particular fictional set of people and determine who they might see as monsters without resorting to fantasy.

nic says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Nice GBC graphics :p was more addictive than I thought it would be

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:18am

Cool idea, and the graphics were nicely done. Maybe the monstrosity of the tax collector could have been more apparent - with some comments from the people or something..

adsilcott says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:51pm

I liked the concept. The skills and how to identify people need to be more explained.

Taldius says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Really nice idea, the game was simple but good.
Nice work!

arzi says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:07pm

I love the idea! Is $120,154 a good score? :)

Reminded me a bit of Papers, Please, that was probably intentional? Also, nice work with the Gameboy style art.

colinn says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Yes, that is a very good score.

Not intentional, but intentionally like older style PC games with gameboy presentation. I am guessing Papers, Please developer grew up with liking similar games :)

Daukan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:18pm

I like the Gameboy style of the graphics. It was also a nice concept. It didn't strike me as very fun unfortunately. Maybe it felt a bit too much of a chance based progress rather then skill oriented.

reiknight says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Wow, we got a similar idea in our brainstorming. Glad to see it in action :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]