Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Necro Monster

by Solchain - Compo Entry

You play as a lowly necromancer. You were just trying to summon a few undead minions but now the whole village is after you... They've chased you to an old castle and now you must explore this old place, summon undead minions, defend against the growing mob and see how far you can last!

WASD or arrow keys to move camera
Enter key to start
Left click for everything else
Hover over HELP button for instruction during each phase

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#329Innovation3.22
#333Audio3.00
#381Overall3.22
#406Fun3.11
#425Graphics3.17
#550Mood2.89
#638Theme3.11
#1897Coolness32%

Comments

daveh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:45am

Overall this is really solid. The graphics and audio are very good. I like the whole game system and it works really well. My only gripe was that it wasn't clear when I had my minions selected to be placed (and also that it carried over the selection from the previous preparation stage rather than defaulting to no selection) so I would frequently place them by accident in useless places. Ideally there would be an undo action in the preparation stage. Only a small issue though and it didn't really detract from the fun I had! Majorly well done!

I think t hat tune will be stuck in my head for a while too - always a good sign. :-)

MicroMacro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:14am

The gameplay is pretty nice. The graphics are good, and the audio is alright. Overall, a nice game. :)

Solifuge says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:08am

Pretty solid strategy gameplay. The music got a little repetitive, but it's not bad at all. Very Evil Disco; the Necrodancer would be proud.

There were a lot of clicks happening, and many of them missed; hitboxes for the UI seem kinda off. It'd really help to have visual feedback for if you've rolled over a button, and for what action is currently selected; I kept re-clicking the Attack/Defense Buff buttons every time, because I didn't figure out it stayed selected. Similarly, when the UI for doing things is visible all the time (and not greyed out) it's telling me as a player that I can do things; the game equivalent of confusing mixed signals. An improved UI design would make this a lot more fun.

It was a little frustrating how many actions I needed to take per turn, and how they were broken up into phases. I couldn't relocate my defenders during the preparation phase, when I badly needed to. Sometimes I couldn't explore either, because I had rooms full of 3 skeletons in the way, and no way to move them until the combat phase (I got into the habit of only putting 2 units in a room too, since you couldn't swap-move units between rooms that were full). It was almost easier to explore during combat too, since you could move once per turn instead of a limited number of times (I also managed to "explore" my necromancer into some grey territory during combat).

You might have been able to design this with a single phase, or no phases at all; just actions each unit could take in a turn, and a few turns down-time between waves. the player could choose whether to find new rooms, or summon, or buff, etc. It'd help the game-flow a lot, and would be quicker to learn/pick up.

I had fun making super-powered archers that could chew apart invaders, while tanky constructs blocked the way. Honestly, I think buffed archers with at least 7 attack were game-breaking, since invaders only moved one tile; if you knew where they were going, you could put them just out of reach, and kill every invader... unless you misclicked and sent them into the room to die. (Did that a few times, whoops!) If invaders automatically moved until the first room with a defender, or even had random attack/defense, it'd keep players from cheesing the game.

All that said, a pretty fun strategy game, and impressive work in 48 hours! Thanks for putting this together, and keep at it!

lowercaserho says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:18am

Very nice! My biggest problem was probably how ridiculously OP archers are, and if balance issues were the main thing I have to critique, that's because everythign else was so solid.

Treks says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:27am

Really nice. Got to wave 10. Unfortunately, it ends up being better to not use tanks at all and just use tons of the melee minions as cannon fodder, with a few high attack archers for all the killing. This is because you need lots (and I mean lots!) of enemies to take hits for you, and the melee ones are a lot cheaper than the tanks. The enemies end up 'overhitting' a lot of the time, so it doesn't make much difference how much hp your units have. Perhaps tanks should have some damage reduction or other additional way of absorbing damage. But overall, really nicely done!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:27am

You did a really nice compo. Congratulation! Gameplay is really interesting

hgcummings says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Nice game: Good graphics and music too. I found the gameplay a bit confusing at first and slightly repetitive after I got the hang of it, but it's a solid idea and could be a lot of fun with some minor tweaks.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:16pm

The selection of units and their actions worked weirdly for me - I had to click many times to select a unit and then many times for it to do something...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]