Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Can Dew

by MrThee - Compo Entry

I took this Ludum Dare mostly as an opportunity to screw around with the new HLAPI Networking system introduced into Unity. So I made this. It's pretty straightforward, though there's no win condition :P. Only glory.

I like to think what I did with the theme was ~somewhat~ clever.

Control with the 2 mouse buttons.

Max game size: 32 players. Unity's new "match-making" system is weird, but simple.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#210Humor3.29
#435Innovation3.05
#472Fun3.00
#490Theme3.36
#669Overall2.91
#1578Coolness41%

Comments

PEBKAC says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:15am

I generally don't like people 'screwing around'; Ludum Dare is for entering a game IMO.

Having said that: Graphics are nice and the controls are smooth. Was unable to connect to a game, but that could've been my firewall...

Simonaiso says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:53am

Fun sandbox. And you are in fact the monster, so nice one on that ! ;) Too bad I could not fly to space with my can.

Loutrattitude says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:38pm

I had fun trying to reach the ball flying around with my can !

razieliyo says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Lol, I laughed a lot on this take of the theme! hahaha

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:36pm

I like your theme interpretation so much I did the same thing. The down side to making a multiplayer game is that it's almost impossible to actually get a game during the rating period. What you have is fun, and on local multiplayer with two people it was decent. I imagine with a full room of 32 it would be a blast, it's a shame I can't try it though.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:44pm

I didn't get the joke at first... I'm an idiot...

peecestudios says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:41am

you win, you win. you are the monster. i love you.

BluShine says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:18am

That was actually pretty fun. Got a friend to download it and we played together. Reminded me of Rocket League.
Also, I appreciate the use of the theme.

Mikhail says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:44am

It was alright. I like that your trying new things because that is what Ludum Dare is for but I wish you would have had a game that had more gameplay aspects.

pixzleone says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:32am

That was pretty fun actually :D

Jelinib says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:08am

Interesting controls, and simple enough to understand. I kinda felt like I was flicking the can! Wish there was more to it, but I had fun rocketing around on monster juice!

MAnimal says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:06am

It look like you are inspirated by Rocket League. LOL coresponding to theme. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]