Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Momster

by BulvarMulyavina - Jam Entry

Find a safe place to put the egg before the missile makes a bonfire of you. Die for your baby and rise again as a stronger Monster of a Mom.

Controls: Use the mouse to move. Point in the direction you want go and click.

Have fun!

*yep, helicopters is not implemented in this version

Crew:

Yaroslav Pankratov (concept art, texturing, UI, effects)
Aleksandr Vorkulevich (modeling, effects, animation)
Ilya Ivashin (gamedesign, leveldesign, sounds)
Nikita Likhoded (compiling all the stuff above)
Music: http://www.bensound.com/

Very special thanks:

Mike Temnikov for company and food\beer support.
Maya Prisyazhnaya for texts.

28.08.2015 update: time limits increased

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#68Fun(Jam)3.86
#70Overall(Jam)3.94
#105Theme(Jam)4.03
#108Graphics(Jam)4.30
#155Audio(Jam)3.62
#167Mood(Jam)3.64
#183Innovation(Jam)3.48
#307Humor(Jam)3.20

Comments

Yamzho says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:20am

Super cool ! Love everything in that game ! Well done guys !

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:22am

This was very fun game. The music was sick and graphics look great. Fantastic jam entry

Muush says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:25am

Really solid looks and functionality

Azure_Kyte says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:27am

This is awesome! You've done a great job keeping with the theme and the mechanics are solid.

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:28am

Very funny, solid mechanics and appealing visuals :D

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:29am

I like this entry! It's funny to make some rampage! :D
The graphic style is nice! Well done!

Benlitz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:33am

Very nice and fun to play!

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:49am

Very very cool. Nice idea, simple and fun gameplay, cool graphics and sound, what's not to love?

Razoric says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Wow this is a really cool game. I love how satisfying it is when you build up speed and bust through the glass buildings. Well done!

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Very well done. Had a lot of fun!

DragonGino says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:18pm

a great puzzel game. but make a quit button in the windows version.please :P

Lane says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Pretty cool! Nice entry =)

wesley werner says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Great graphics, music, effects, and fun to play!

Arnage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18pm

The controls confused me for a moment, but they gave the game a nice puzzle element. The momentum buildup and impacts also feel great.

@DragonGino alt+f4 works

amras0000 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Very nice animation work, really satisfying and heavy.
I actually forgot I was playing a ludum dare game for a bit there, and started getting frustrated that there wasn't more of it.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:10am

Really fun, sort of like Sokoban but with added monsters.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:33am

Very pretty and neat game! Perhaps more complex levels could help, and checkpoints so that you don't need to start from the beginning if you die? :D

ranmaru90 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:34pm

AWEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Multiplexor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Nice game, Supergood music, graphics, and great gameplay! Very nice overall!

Only thing is I wish there were a way to know the time you have left !

Keep up the good work people!

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Great entry, fun with nice setting and music. Seems as though I got stuck at one point, not sure if that was intended or not.

kles4enko says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Can't run under linux x64

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:06pm

@kles4enko x86_64 version added

Grhyll says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:01am

Wow this is very well polished! The gameplay is nice, the graphics are ultra sweet, the music is cool, you rule :)
The ending is a bit abrupt maybe, and everything isn't perfectly clear, but it's fun to play anyway!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Keyboard input would have been a good thing to implement. The graphics are very good. The concept is great. This entry is very good!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Good job! My instinct made me use ASDW for moving, and I saw that 'D' key hurt myself. Does it have any application? Nice puzzle!

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Interesting idea, had quite a bit of fun. Great Job!

superfreak says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Great and easy to pick up game - lots of fun with rewarding feedback. Would love to play this on a tablet. Feels amazing to play with great audio and graphics to back it up. Excellent entry!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:41am

Very cool and interesting concept. Lots of fun. The aesthetics of everything (the high saturation, etc) was pretty cool.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:42am

Super polished! Love the highly saturated colors. It was a nice simple and easy to jump into game. All the models and textures were super pretty. The explosions and crashes felt just right, and the ending was super satisfying. Awesome game!

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:38am

That's cool! You took one clasical puzzle mechanic and you've done a solid game. Good job!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:03pm

That theme idea :D Great job, nice solid game.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:41am

Tight, polished and amazing!

Keep up the great work!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Really cool game,I thought the graphics were really cool! Plowing into glass buildings was a blast! The only real complaint I had was the fact that I didn't encounter any helicopters. Not sure if they were landed and I just missed them or if they were suppose to be flying over head. Besides that, though, I didn't really spot any flaws with this game. :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:38pm

@Dizzyman572, helicopters is "coming soon" :- )

Omiya Games says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:45am

Nice presentation, awesome ice puzzle mechanic. The lasers were really cool, but I didn't encounter any choppers. It would have been nice to encounter more hazards to make the game hectic. Also, it was easy to get lost because I didn't know where the next finish point was. Perhaps a general path indicating arrow or line would have been nice. Cool stuff, though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]