Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Explodasaur

by DeusOpus - Compo Entry

I present:
**Explodasaur!**

Explodasaur is an top-down-shooter whereby you play as a Russian Dino-soldier and are tasked to conquer America! Use 3 different guns to battle hordes of enemies and 4 bosses throughout all 4 stages!
It is a pretty silly game admittedly, but I must recommend playing with at least a little sense of humor. I just like to poke fun at my own country once and a while.
If you enjoyed it, don't be shy! I'd appreciate it if you'd vote!

I used GameMaker Studio, Famitracker, and Audacity to make this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Fun4.21
#15Humor4.33
#30Overall4.00
#69Theme4.08
#96Audio3.57
#207Graphics3.63
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

Orni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28pm

you had my curiosity after seeing the title
but once I saw that putin is in the game you had my attention :D

great game - would 'explodasaur' 10/10 times

@SamPotasz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Hectic-ness worked really well, and I appreciate the light tone. Good music, too!

Small gripe: Mexico is not "sorta 'merica."

architect404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:16pm

great little game! fun and amusing, and very satisfying blowing up the buildings. last boss made me laugh out loud. my only criticism is that the people are difficult to see on the dark roads. really good stuff, well done!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Well done I really enjoyed this game. Great graphics too.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Best communist dinosaur game i've ever played

pkenney says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Wow this was really good! Tight feel on the gameplay, great sound, and fun art. All the extra touches made it feel incredibly complete with stages, boss fights, dialogs, and the map screen between stages. My favorite small touch was after the final fight, when it panned back through the carnage of flames and skulls.

Very impressive!

If I had to offer one critique, I would say that sometimes too much of the action happened just off-screen, which was happening most in the final boss fight for me.

Well done, a strong compo entry here.

cheapmecha says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:49pm

This game is so fun! Love the gameplay and the graphics, the story line is so funny. Great job!!

SeaMonster131 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:34am

This dino-soldier with black sunglasses is the best.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Might be the best dinosaur in the world. LOVED IT!!! Congrats

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:50am

Awesome game. Accurate alternative history. I'm a little unclear on what the 2nd boss was.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Really funny arcade game, the mechanics feel nice, I love the picturation of the Americans with guns pointed in the air and the Weight restaurant xD The graphics aren't the best but it is a very polished entry, well done.

GraciCebola says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:07am

omg that's REALLY good! Great job. Loved everything :D

MAnimal says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:10am

wow... overal 5 stars. i like that your graphic correspond to russian theme. maybe add some more levels.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]