Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

G.A.M.E

by FlamingKiwi - Jam Entry

Play as an employee of a game development company, AE, as you work inside their special operating system G.A.M.E to guide the development of their games, as well as make executive decisions on how to approach random events such as robberies and cookie vendors.

Try to get the biggest profit you can from your games - take advantage of opportunities to hire new employees and move to bigger offices to increase your score!

EDIT: Noticed there is an issue with the leaderboard on web player, where it will default to NoPasswordIdiot for the name (only meant for those who didn't enter anything into the password at the beginning) so if you would like to have your own score on the leaderboard, please use the standalone version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#180Humor(Jam)3.52
#234Innovation(Jam)3.41
#327Graphics(Jam)3.79
#518Mood(Jam)3.13
#638Audio(Jam)2.29
#716Overall(Jam)3.00
#811Theme(Jam)3.04
#880Fun(Jam)2.57

Comments

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:36am

NO NEED TO CALL BATMAN! I CAN REVIEW THIS GAME!
IT'S GREAT!
Lot's of fun and a really interesting idea! Well done!

Saphyre says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:28am

Nothing to do with the theme, and it's a bit repetitive... But graphics are cool and the idea is quite fun :-)

FlamingKiwi says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:34am

@Saphyre The theme's interpretation isn't obvious, but it's our own little dig at the corporate game development industry as you are a playing as a company not dissimilar to that of EA. Not as obvious as we would have hoped, but you can't have everything.

lebrokholic says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:40am

It's clear that anything that deviates from the primitive idea about monsters should be reviewed more precisely. I am fond of playing this G.A.M.E :D

cxsquared says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:58am

Really cool idea. Everything is a bit hectic and hard to understand but the game is simple and the dialog really adds to the game. Good work.

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:14am

Actually my fullscreen button bugged when I was playing your game. Solid, good job. Thou more feedback in game would be nice.

disperse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:57am

I love the tutorial via 'clippy'!

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:44am

I like the graphics and the idea is funny although i often do not have enough time to read entirely the text. I also did know that moving to a new office ans things like that were positive, so i said no each time to keep production costs low. And then i read the end of the description hahaha.
I find the game a bit stressing because of the sound and how fast things disapear but I guess that was the effect wanted.
Some more static menus to change employees salary and things like that would be a nice plus to the game.

GertJohnny says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Unique take on the theme. Other than that it felt a bit too repetitive, but some of the dialog was nice.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:36pm

It's basically one of those mean-spirited Windows parodies that everyone was making back in 2005, complete with an obnoxious Clippy stand-in. Clicking dialogue options is frustratingly hard because they'll move to the top of the screen before you can click them; there's no real incentive to gain or lose money; the satire of big gaming companies is kind of mediocre.

On the other hand, the graphics were pretty nice (I like the screen effect), and it's a fairly creative take on the theme.

Reccy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:53pm

The game was really hectic and fun, but the audio got a bit repetitive after a while. Cool game :D

crucknuk says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:03pm

This floppy disk will give me management nightmare :P
Cool idea! need some in depth into it because well, batman!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:26am

I like the art-style, although i'm not quite sure what i'm supposed to do in this game

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:38am

This was okay, but all the messages disappeared within 2 seconds. :S

crazya02 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:47am

I had absolutely no idea what to do. It's just a mass of confusion. It succeeded in further convincing me that ceo of a big game company isn't a good job for me, but I knew that anyway.

Now I have a headache. And an urge to watch Jim Sterling videos.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:17am

It's a shame that this game wasn't as enjoyable as it looked. It's obviously well made and very innovative, but the constant coughing and phone ringing in the background was really annoying. Also, floppy's speech bubbles got in the way of the important stuff on the right, and it was confusing.

I'm sorry if this came over as a negative review because it wasn't meant to be, the visuals, humour and innovative aspects were really nice and I would love to play a post-LD build. Well done! :)

FlamingKiwi says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:26am

@AnaglyphCoding It is mentioned by Floppy, but clicking on him will toggle his speech bubbles.

TicZo says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Is confusing at first the game itself can be a little repetitive.Audio was a bit annoying but the graphics are nice and gameplay is fun and is quite an interesting idea.

Zeriver says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Nice idea but execution could use some more work. Don't get me wrong, i enjoyed the gameplay but it gets repetitive after a while. I also liked art style and audio sets the right mood (annoying office sounds!! :D )

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Decent concept, but everything went by too fast to read, and there wasn't much else to do.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]