Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Open the door and smile

by Arnage - Compo Entry

A game about monsters on a personal scale.

Featuring:
- Broken people in a broken relationship
- Real-time stress, anxiety and euphoria simulation
- Six different endings, try to find one that's happy...

If you prefer not to download and install a 60 mb installer you can also try the Youtube playthrough.

The game requires a decent gaming PC. The game is based on UE4, so make sure you have a proper GPU. Only tested in DX11 mode, some effects might not work on older GPUs. Also Windows only. (For now)

Minor update on the day after submission:
- Fixed a bug that caused severe performance drops when the player reached high stress levels.
- Fixed controller button mapping.
- Fixed a misplaced tooltip.
- Replaced zip download with a nice installer that automatically handles prerequisites.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
Graphics4.70
#13Mood4.24
#21Theme4.29
#25Innovation4.08
#25Overall4.04
#201Audio3.31
#532Fun2.93
#738Humor2.00

Comments

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:56pm

looks nice

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Best interpretation of the theme I've seen so far.
Powerful story & nice graphics!

KingGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Amazing Game! I loved it! Can't believe this was made in only 48 Hours! Very sad story. Definitely brought out emotions.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Gorgeous entry! Really like the clay feel of everything. The visual effects for focusing and when things go crazy were really well done too. Good use of the theme as well, great job!

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Wow.. that was intense. Very emotional.

Manou says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:56pm

very, very nice ! will have a look at your sources! the effect that make meshes explode in triangles is very unique and serves the gameplay and story very well.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:56pm

That's beautiful.

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:08pm

I found 6 endings. None of them were happy.
Great graphics (a bit too great, it was running at maybe 15 fps for me).

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Really nice graphics and great mood

LeoM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Woah. Let a strange impression after playing, and a little headache too.
Great work here.
It's one of my best rated for now but sorry... Humor it's 0 ! ;)

ALobker says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:51am

Wow. It took a while, but I got the crazy woman to get custody.

Arnage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:12am

Thanks for all the feedback :)

@Manou: There's a material function that handles that effect, but also look at the way the models are build/smoothed. That was essential to get the final look.

@LoeM: I think you might have to be placed on a watchlist if you rate this game high in humor...

Simonaiso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:54am

Amazing job! I really love the material effects. Excellent implementation of the theme. Bravo!

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:37pm

My graphics card sounded like it was about to take off, and I don't think I figured out the sequence of pills to 'win' but really awesome post processing effects!!

glimaleite says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Looks very good, and sets the mood very well. Nice interpretation of the theme aswell. I just wish there was more stuff to do in it. Still, what a good job!!

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Those graphics, incredible. Powerful story too.

AdayMC says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Amazing experience. You really made me feel like a monster somehow, I can't explain why :P

Those effects, really cool but maybe if you would polished more the mobile device screen, you could have achieve an extra immersion.

Anyway good job!

Piotrek says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:57am

I don't like this type of games, i need to shoot or jump to have fun with game, but graphics looks amazing. I installed ue4 because of this game.

pereubu says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:11am

omg that's gorgeous. Really nice work, especially on lightings. I enjoyed finding all the endings :>

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:37am

UE4 games never seem to work on parallels desktop for me.
Wish I could have played this :(

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:33pm

The graphics are absolutely amazing, but that's what you get for using UE4. Game is quite nice and pleasing to play.

Great work

Denis347 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Epic mood. Only complaint, too short, I want more story !!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:24pm

I loved the art style, plus the game concept and the focus mechanic. Great job for a compo entry! :)

Hjalte500 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:18pm

It was a little unclear what you had to do but once I found out the ending was definitely worth it. Awesome!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Thalikoth says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Looks great. I like the distorion of the whole environment.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Wow! Congrats with this combo entry! Such pleased to see that kind of gems here!

DrZanuff says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Oh man! The graphics looks so nice. But i can't play because my laptop can't run UE4. Well there is the YouTube version but is not the same thing...

Grhyll says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Beautiful, for sure, but I didn't really get the pills thing either, and gave up because there is no way to switch to azerty keyboard...

Arnage says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Again thanks for all the comments!

@Grhyll: Adding a keybinding menu was a little bit too much work for the compo, but the arrow keys should work fine for AZERTY users. Additionally the game can also be played with a controller.

JoJoX says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Really nice. Good intepretation and great use of Unreal.

marvalgames says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:46am

Very sharp.
I am posting this but will be "playing" some more later.
My kind of game. Brought out the monster in me :)
Why let it be rated for humor though :(
Not funny but in a good way

Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:47am

The effect of losing it was stunning. I've never felt worse about winning.

Reyn says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:04am

Nicely done. I tried to built a little emotional roller coaster myself. Liked the passing out effect.

team_ftlol says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:58am

Looks pretty, but the control scheme doesn't work with touchpads that don't have buttons. I can't hold the left and right mouse buttons at the same time because LMB is a one-finger touch and RMB is a two-finger touch. Also didn't work with touchscreen. I could hold RMB to focus, but as soon as I let up to click left, it started going out of focus and didn't let me take an action.

Watched the video, cool focus mechanic and graphical effects. The brand of monster for sale here's a little unfortunate, given real DV issues.

-mildmojo

crucknuk says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:39am

Well made! I was transported by the ambiance and when the world falls apart it felt really convincing.
Sad story, but epic art direction.

Well done really.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:43am

Wow.

Larzan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:52am

Beautiful, love the art style...

Arnage says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:05pm

@marvalgames I agree I should not have included that category. It was late when I finally finished though and didn't pay to much attention to the categories.

Not sure what happens to the rating if I remove it now, but feel free to put that one on n/a.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Pssst - you have been featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWkF7dp7EeE

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Very sad story but very well made. The graphics were very pleasing and the theme interpretation was very unique and interesting.

pi_pi3 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:21pm

I think I got every ending. Just out of curiosity, how long did it take to write the geometry shader?

Arnage says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:09pm

@ButtonMasherBros: cool, thanks for playing and I'm glad you seemed to like it. Also great work pronouncing my name, you managed to almost get it correct...

@pi_pi3: The actual shader was really simple, it does little more then pushing vertices along their normals based on a noise function. It's the irregular geometry and hard edges throughout the meshes that created the final look. If you look closely you can see that the one model that I did not manage to replace in time (the basic cylinder of the florescent lamp in the bathroom) looks a lot less interesting and crappy even though it has the same kind of deformation.

randoman says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:56am

I didn't like those effects too much on the room (it gave me chills), but the story and how it was implemented was great. Good job!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Exceptionally nice looking game. I spent a bit of time wandering around aimlessly, but very nice story and visuals.

Matzigon says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:34pm

I expected something scary all along, but the punchline was a hit without a scare. Well done!

Polyganz says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 5:07am

Launches the game with rendering on my attached Oculus Rift DK2.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Intriguing, for sure!

UekiShurei says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Gorgeous graphics and great story, though I couldn't really get what I had to do.

P.S.: Initially when I ran the game, the game kept getting inactive (as in it kept getting switched to another window). I had remote host apps running, so I stopped them. Now it works wonders. Makes me wonder why Unreal doesn't like remote hosts.

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:29pm

so unique this game!
atmosphere and storytelling all great!
so enjoyable walkaround in this dreamland
i think this game will be more cool when use VR-device~

jaksa76 says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 9:55am

Congratulations for the 3rd place in graphics. Well deserved!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]