Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Jack vs Werewolf

by marom - Jam Entry

You. 23 people. 1 werewolf. How many people do you manage to save?
Balloon "Zefir" arrives half an hour.
But you do not take your bare hands monster.
Find a weapon, hunt down and kill monster.


The game had a problem: many people who did not respond to your actions (other than murder). This is fixed. Now you can sow panic and provoke the werewolf! ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#223Innovation(Jam)3.42
#377Graphics(Jam)3.68
#580Mood(Jam)3.04
#652Overall(Jam)3.06
#663Fun(Jam)2.88
#984Theme(Jam)2.62

Comments

Johnicholas says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:53am

I;m running linux, not windows.

Reccy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:03pm

The art is really good, but I couldn't figure out how to play the game properly. The instructions weren't clear enough :(

applejam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:04pm

I liked how it looked, but could not figure out how to play it :(

gcrsaldanha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:12pm

What'a nice graphics!
I felt the game was very slow-paced and took me a time to understand what exactly I should do.

I don't know if it's on purpose, but when I'm colliding with some funriture, there is a strong drag that slows me down. It's a bit boring.

Very creative concepting for a jam! Gratz!

toni343 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:14pm

The graphics are nice, but it lacks animation. The idea was great - it's like a mystery murder party. The mood was also great and I like the steampunk aestetic. The down side is - you missed the theme.

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:16pm

The game would be great if you have a weapon, but I cant figure out how to get one... And it doesn't fit the theme of the 33rd Ludum Dare, as its you are the monster, but all in all it would be a great game, if you could get a weapon

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:06pm

This was cool. Trying to figure out who was the werewolf was something different and the art was good. I got killed by the werewolf on my 2nd attempt.

VividReality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:12pm

I really like the graphics. I also enjoy a mystery/detective style game. I just couldn't figure out how to play :(.

Patomkin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:17pm

I was waiting for something like "Party hard" as in you would be the werewolf to hunt on 'Zefir', but it's the other way around.
Controls are slow, instructions tell nothing about the game. "Left click to shoot", but I have no weapon. How do I get one? I don't know...
Otherwise - looking pretty good.

Null DIES says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:17pm

I really like the visuals and how it looks. However, I don't understand what I am supposed to do. Good job on the visuals! Really good job!

marom says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Sorry! I'm now going to correct the situation with a weapon. Sometimes it falls in inaccessible places.

iapc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Really really cool concept, well worked out, but the pacing is too low at the start / middle phase. This causes the game to be not that interesting for quite some time.

Galvesmash says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:25pm

It's hard to find the werewolf, when I began to suspect the right character to be the werewolf he killed me!

I felt like I'm not the monster in this game.

Great idea! I really loved the graphics!
The game was very slow-paced and took me a time to understand what exactly I should do.

charliecarlo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:32pm

I figured out who the werewolf was, managed to get him alone in a room, and when I clicked to kill him I accidentally killed myself somehow. Why is that a feature? Or am I misunderstanding what happened?

Other than that, this is pretty cool, I love games about hunting werewolves though, I've even made one, so I'm probably biased to like this.

As it is though, it could use some work. Animations, better controls, maybe another way to identify the werewolf.

Kai20 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Great Game but often i had no clue what i should do next

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:28am

1st Thought:
So I just....wait for people to be killed?

Pros:
Graphics are pretty decent.
The murder mystery thing is kind of refreshing to see.

Cons:
The whole thing is just very unclear.
The game lacks the theme of "You are the Monster"

Overall:
Decent little game, once you figure out what you're doing.

tal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:31am

art and idea are awesome but it took me time to understand what I need to do ^^*
Need to work on the "How to play "

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:05pm

It's a good mystery game. I can't figured out who is the werewolf. If it has sound, it would be better.

Chadivision says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:18pm

The mood of this game was awesome, and the art is great. I think the gameplay would be good if I had a better idea of how to play. Here are a couple issues I had...

It seemed strange that once I fired my gun that I lost it. Also after using my gun, I couldn't find any more (I think the NPC's had grabbed them all by then). So I basically killed one person and then walked around until the Zephyr showed up and I lost. I'm probably missing something about the gameplay, but what that is isn't obvious.

The other issue was that while I was reading the lengthy text about how to play, the game was already running. So by the time I was ready to start, it was half over.

I think this is a great start. Just a little more clarity on how to play and I think this would be awesome. I still enjoyed it though. Nice job.

kerotan24 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Great idea but no so well developtment, also feels empty without music.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Very interesting little game! I do have to agree with the others that it doesn't really fit the theme, though I do feel a little monstrous when I shoot someone in the back of the head, then walk into the next room to find that while I was trailing them, the real werewolf was off making kills.

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:36pm

The art is neat and the concept interesting ! The movements feels heavy and there is not enough feedback to the player, once i killed the werewolf without even knowing that i did. An maybe making each people different would help keep track of them.

Rongon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:05pm

I was expecting that due to the theme, there is no werewolf, and that I am the monster.
After 5 minutes, I found dead body on terrace and only one guy was in the previous room, so insta shot him :P
It's weird not to have immediate win state, as game continued and I though it was some bug and that I missed it, and continue to roam the rooms, frustrated that kills are not happening.
Steampunk mood is cool, I can imagine this ladies and gentlemen on high-class party, when murders starts to occur.
Theme is totally missed, but general idea is great.

guoboism says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:59am

Great concept! Nice to have detective game!

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:20am

Interesting idea will a lot of potential. I would add more events and possible clues to make gameplay more dynamic. Great job!
P.S. Насколько я понимаю, Вы говорите по-русски. :)

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:40pm

nice, anti "Party Hard"

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:43pm

My antivirus blocks it...

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:03pm

nice, anti "Party Hard"

marom says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:53pm

fragileannihilator, the game is made by a licensed software. No viruses.

magenta says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Looks great! Player controls could be better, maybe aim to shoot via character direction and spacebar? I was so close to shooting the werewolf had it not been for the mouse aim :}

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:23pm

I rescued 16! Would have been nice to have the instructions preface the game, but those are about my only complaints. Very fun hidden roles central mechanic. Was just about hard enough to get a gun, and tricky to kill while nobody else was looking. Well done.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:24am

Nice, but I feel like you used google translate to wirte the dialogs. Get a friend who knows english better to help you next time :D Still nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]