Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Out West

by veoviscool12 - Compo Entry

Out in the dusty wastelands of the West, everyone must be his own master. Self-reliance is required, and strangers are distrusted - or shot. You are one of these hardened men, trying to eke out an existence amid the rock and soil. Be wary.


Instructions: This is a quite short text adventure with programmer pixel graphics. Simply click on the highlighted links to make your choices. The game is designed to be played more than once.

Design notes: In the google drive with the source code, there is a post-mortem google doc detailing my thoughts and aims for this project. I understand that votes are for what I've submitted, but if you're interested, that document should explain a little about what I envisioned, what had to be cut, and what I would expand upon to flesh out and polish the idea.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#22Mood4.08
#235Overall3.45
#288Graphics3.43
#348Fun3.19
#369Humor2.93
#386Theme3.51
#539Innovation2.88

Comments

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:33am

Nice little narration, well done ;)

jordinuco says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:54am

This game reminds me of a movie from the 80's, but I´ll not spoil it to other potential players by telling which one :) Well, I was skeptic but finally knowing all the possible stories has been really fun. Good job.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:37am

The first game I have played so far that does not rely on music to set the mood. Excellent work!

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:49am

Great narration and great pixel-art too!

xvw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:24am

The game is very nicely writted ! (And i like the pixel art!)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:24am

Enjoyable!

cmayhem says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:30am

Very good story, kept me captivated for several playthroughs. Well done!

01101101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:33am

Great mood, the small pictures add a nice touch to it.
First twine game I try this LD and it's a good one :)

Solifuge says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:43am

Interesting narrative, though I'm a bit confused still. I appreciate the use of graphics with the text; straight text adventures aren't really my thing, but I enjoyed this one.

Nice interpretation of the theme as well. Thanks for putting this together!

KaiseanGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Nice concept, I just can't understand people's obsession with fallen angels, devils, demons etc. Too many dark games these days :( Anyway, you left a comment on my page, it seems that the dropbox was temporarily down. It seems ok now, but if it isn't, I've added an alternative link. If you'd like, you can try again.

plusultra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Nice little art pieces. Good job!

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:56pm

This game was amazing. Maybe one of the best I've seen. Even though there is little gameplay, the emotion, story, mood, and art are ALL AMAZING. Well done! I went through as much of the story as I could, but I bet I still missed stuff.

Also, I think this would be a great game to expand on. Make it bigger, with more options. Add in a narrator (Logan Cunningham from Bastion?) with some music and more endings. Just a thought. I'd pay for a game like that.

Great stuff.

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:00pm

@KaiseanGames Link works, and I rated. Nice game. :)

As for the devil thing, it kind of attached itself to the whole Wild West theme (Outplaying the Devil on a fiddle and whatnot). I don't think I have an obsession with it, but I see your point. :) Thanks for the feedback!

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Nice mood, good writing, and a very cool monster apparition.

Chadivision says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Very well written. The writing combined with the art set the scene very well.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:32pm

This one really sucked me in. I kind of started it and glazed over the text at first, thinking "ah it's a text adventure, probably will just be okay". But as it progressed I grew more an more immersed in the experience.

***I'll try to be somewhat spoil-free out of respect to the game, but I also want to hint to the dev as to the path I took. Just go play the game***

As I continued to play the mystery built up because of the pacing with the narrative. Decisions play out elegantly, making it feel like you don't get those cheesy "oh you picked that option, you died, oh well" paths.

My first playthrough really just worked its way up to the climax well. The way the game kind of psyched you out was interesting: "is going to the town a good decision?" "what happens when you get there???", "who am I? Who's that? Why why why". The ending was extremely satisfying and was very much not in line with my expectations.

I especially liked the bits where you were given information, and clicking on the links cycled through similar content. That was a great way to use the text to convey confusion and doubt.

Nice job overall, it's kind of hard to rate this game in certain aspects ("fun" I'm looking at you). But you nailed the mood, especially considering it's all delivered with just the vague images and text.

- Dylan

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Terrific mood. Nice presentation. Good fun.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:33am

That was cool! Loved how you manage to draw me into the game just with the text! SHUT UP MA I'M WRITING A REVIEW! So yeah that was great and I could really identify with the cha.. WHAT IS IT MA? ... I'LL DO THAT LATER!
Anyway great stuff! Why can't I judge for humour on this?

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Good narration, well done ;)

CtrlAltTea says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:25am

Fantastic, atmospheric writing with lovely illustrations, thoroughly enjoyed this journey!

treeman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:19am

Nice! Great atmosphere, good theme. It's nice to see something a little different. Well done.

rudra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:35am

Great narration, well done :)

PEBKAC says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:48am

Nice narrative; nice artwork / user experience too.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:17am

Nicely done, went with mine and the hills. enjoyed the writing, but I think I would have preferred it to be a more strictly western theme for the ending. Great job, especially for your first LD

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:39am

Wow, a wonderful entry, and normally I don't enjoy text adventures. But this one is so very immersive. I especially liked the little details, like the changing words in between the sentence and of course Ma's pieces of wisdom ^^

Saf says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Good story! Good writing too.. Loved the pixel art frames

JackDegree says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Great art and love the writing! Well done!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Amazing!!! Well worth replaying to get different endings. The first time i restarted i had an amazing aha moment when everything came together. i really like the picture too, it adds a lot to the tension. I liked the hills ending the best.

Shaun LeBron says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:54am

Exciting narrative, amazing how I can be scared of a few dark pixels against the sunset. btw, I couldn't find the google doc you were talking about.

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:35am

@Shaun LeBron Thanks for the feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :) Thanks for bringing the doc to my attention! I thought it was shared, but apparently even though it's in a shareable folder, that visibility doesn't apply to it. I've uploaded a Word document which should be visible.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:43am

Very nice, loved the setting sun. Had a real sense of being pursued. Loved the mine!

Sep 10, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Just an excellently crafted mood and great story.

yuigoto says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Whoa! Nice work on the story and branching, really well done! :) It's really nice that the story envelopes in a pretty good way too!

Nice pixel art too, really! Even though is just static images, it really helps set a nice mood!

Good Work! :3

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]