Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Under Full Moon

by Minhir - Jam Entry

Blue pale moon radiance piercing cold air, sparkling on steam clouds clubbing from your mouth. Your thick fur keeps you warm, your yellow eyes are glowing.

You can feel how moonlight calling for your inner hunger, it knows what drives you mad, what you craving for, what makes you howl in night.

But for your power and fury there is a price - hate of those who are weak. For those, who hide behind heavy doors and walls, steel chains and locks, you're monster, but for yourself - you're god on earth, you're - werewolf.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#184Mood(Jam)3.60
#315Audio(Jam)3.27
#357Graphics(Jam)3.73
#393Theme(Jam)3.62
#843Overall(Jam)2.85

Comments

Grhyll says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:46am

Very nice animation, pretty music too! But it is so frustrating to start over from the beginning at each hit... Couldn't finish it, if it's possible (I guess it is)...

amy742 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Found it very difficult! Animations were awesome and I loved the music!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Nice idea and pretty style!
P.S. Hello from Siberia :)

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:17am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:08pm

I like the audio and animations but there's no clear instruction on what I'm supposed to in this one (besides moving and jumping)

janiq says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Nice idea for a stealth game. But the controls are a little bit frustrating since I always managed to get stuck somewhere on the roof and got shot :-) otherwise very nice game.

hunttis says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Awesome wolf graphics!

However, I didn't quite understand what happened when I walked in/through a house and why I wasn't able to attack there.

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Animation of Monster are cool, background pic also. Start is to difficult, a kind off intro to learn would help. Nice entry!

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Great mood! Good art and music too! The moon was a bit weird though... It would still appear in front of buildings xp. Also collision was a bit weird, sometimes I would land on the roof and would still be "mid-air". Anyway nice entry!

Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Nice ! I liked the graphic switch between human and werewolf a lot :) It lacked a bit of feedbacks however

Big Cow says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Hey there! Great idea why no innovation rating? I loved the way you turned into a wolf when you were in the moonlight but back into a man when you were in the shadows. Could jump on people to kill them but was frustrated that I found no way to protect myself as a man and just kept getting trapped by guards in the shade.

Minhir says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:55am

Big Cow, there are two paths. On the roof, and in the shadow of the building. We do not have time to do a stealth mechanics to hide in the house. But you can see how it should look like when near the door press "Up".

Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:45am

very nice concept! I liked art and song - it's kind hard, but th gameplay is fun anyway. Congrats!

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:56am

Wow liked the art.

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:44am

movement could be smoother. the art is nice.

Zeriver says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Whoaw great game, i like art style and audio sets the right mood. It feels really good to jump and run on roofs in the night above guards.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:17am

This is really beautiful, but the controls were a barrier for me. I really enjoyed the jumping across rooftops, but in some sequences it seems you must run as a human and that was not as much fun. Very nice entry, though!

pixzleone says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:45am

Really cool game mechanics, I really liked it.
I also thought it was very difficult, but it works for this game!
Good job!

Romaing says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:51am

Good job!
I would have liked a life bar and not being hitten when I'm hiding in a door, but it's a good entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]