Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Evasion Master

by bouletmarc - Jam Entry

--- Evasion Monster ---

Mission :
- You need to avoid rooms guard and find the exit.
- How many levels can you do without being caught ?

Controls :
- Esc = Open Pause Menu
- W-S = Walk/Back-Walk
- Mouse = Look
- MouseScroll = Scroll Camera
- It also have some Inputs for Gamepads

Maps/Levels :
- Levels are procedurally generated, which mean it will never be the same.
- Each time you finished a level, the next level gonna be longer by 3x.
- Levels are Infinite !!! (just try to not get caught)

Scores :
- The Scores is the Footsteps number (less steps, better you are)
- And also the Time (finishing a level faster, better you are)

Furnitures :
- Lots of Furnitures for the maps are made, such as :
- binder, bookshelf, table, chair, lamp, etc...

Player :
- You are a Monster, similar to a Gentleman Creeper.
- Green skin, grey clothing, angry eyes.
- It possess walk animation.

Enemy :
- Enemy are Orange Clothed Guards.
- They got a spotlight to illuminate the area.
- If they see the Player, they start running at him.
- They are normally turning arround on 3x pre-set positions Vector3.
- They stop running for player if they not see him (he'll still reach where he saw it last time)
- If they stop running for the player inside others area, they come back to where they was. (similar to path-finding)

Developper Overview :
- This is my first game ever and also my first jam ever. For me it's a Complete Success to make this simple endless game inside 72h including some nice features.

- When it was friday, I got the new a bit late like 3h of the start, and I was wondering I could do that, If I have the knowledge for it. I started quickly to think about how to design my game with the theme, after 1hours everything was planned in my head in I started fastly to make it. I was planning to have endless issues but by chance, I had only fews that got fixed really fast.

-I enjoyed a lot this jams, seing live stream of others developper over twitch also was fun.

Q : How did you get up to done that inside 72h for your first game ?
A : I practiced a lots before this jam and I already Script since 5 years.

Q : Did you worked alone ?
A : Yes Completly.

Q : How many hours you take to make this game ?
A : About 45h inside the whole 72h event, I needed to sleep.

Q : Will you do futur jams ?
A : I enjoyed a lot this jam, the panic of having a limited time so yes I might do futur jams if I am available.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#647Audio(Jam)2.21
#689Innovation(Jam)2.79
#692Graphics(Jam)3.03
#739Mood(Jam)2.82
#764Humor(Jam)2.31
#830Theme(Jam)3.00
#834Overall(Jam)2.86
#910Fun(Jam)2.52

Comments

mramaizng says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:45am

Very cool idea. The tech is the most interesting part. I suppose the lighting is part of the mood? But the levels could have been a little brighter. All in all a very neat game. VERY well done for a 3 day jam. I cant say I had a blast playing it but I'm book marking this page to come and give it another shot because its late.

Fallenthief says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:15pm

quite difficult to see where your going with the darkness and camera angle. but otherwise a decent game.

bouletmarc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:16pm

you guys can watch my timelapse ;D https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fDoEnBrydpo

bouletmarc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:41pm

The Web Player version are very dark, you should try it on windows which got more lightning and it's slightly more "peaceful" over the graphics

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Love the mood in this one and the quirky art! So difficult to get by them but fun to creep around

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Too dark to tell where I was going/supposed to be going, but I was impressed with how much stuff you'd packed into the level.

lanestp says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Really dark! I kind of felt like I was wandering around blind. That said, for a first game it is super impressive!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:57pm

A little bit too slow to be really enjoyable, but I like it. The camera is great and aesthetic pleasant. Thank you for this entry.

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Cute little game, although I couldn't really see anything in the darkness!

bouletmarc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:40pm

I have updated it to be a little less dark since people and even me found it pretty too much dark, i've also added a little "moon light" effect which offer a really nice shadows on platformers (windows).

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:51am

Nice stealth game.

mahalis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:40am

Pretty cool—procedural levels are tricky and yours work pretty well, though there were a couple of places I ran into doors that didn’t have a corresponding opening in the wall. Nice character art style, too.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Congratulations on your first Dare! You've obviously put a lot of work into the environment design, and I thought the characters expressions were really amusing too! I have to question why there's no right/left movement, though. It encourages the player to keep moving foward, but that seems an odd choice for a stealth game.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Can't believe this is your first jam ever. It's a pretty neat entry with good things in a lot of rating categories ! Keep jamming, dude !

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:45pm

I had fun with this. The first time I opened it, it was broken (uncapped FPS), but once it worked, I really enjoyed it. You try to get through quickly but still be stealthy and avoid getting caught. The patterns of the guards are perfect to catch you off guard, and them running at you is pretty terrifying. Nice work!

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

yuigoto says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:31am

The concept for this game is pretty nice! Though I felt a bit more of a "escaping from the office" feeling than a monster game, maybe because of the similarities between enemies and player. :P

You also set up a really nice mood by using a dark environment, though a little bit of brightness would help me enjoy the game a bit more.

Though, taking into consideration that this is your first game, whoa, it's amazing! :D My first jam game ever was crappy and way more simple than this, and you even got a procedural level generator, which is a nice feat!

Keep up the good work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]