Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Orange Squiggles ...Beware!

by sorceress - Compo Entry

Orange Squiggles...Beware! The apples will only make you fat.

Control the orange squiggle using the cursor keys, and consume the green apples. Six Levels.

Press Space to restart a level when dead, or Escape to restart from level 1.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#405Audio2.86
#514Fun2.95
#738Humor2.00
#752Overall2.78
#812Graphics2.33
#848Mood2.11
#916Innovation1.73
#919Theme2.09
#1537Coolness42%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Wow, very nice made, i like the style

3CGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:52pm

I like the little musical jingles! Can't put my finger on it but the snake felt a little awkward to control. Good job though : )

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:34pm

This is essentially Snake remade. The 16kb filesize made me laugh, reminds me a lot of the heydays of computer programming. If you're going to go retro consider letting the font reflect that aesthetic; the music was fitting though. More broadly, remember that early games like Snake have been reproduced a lot. Think of ideas and mechanics that can bring new life to your game to make it unique.

Nonetheless, good job! I notice you've been in LD for a while now with a varied profile of games, so just keep doing what you're doing!

cheapmecha says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Simple but nice overall, I just don't like how it looks kinda clunky with the FPS, maybe it's just here. Anyways, good game.

crazya02 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Love the style, but the controls were a little unresponsive.

PokeyOne says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Great twist on the classic snake game!

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:52am

Sir, you just earned extra stars for a file size.
Nice job.

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:22pm

It's a classic, good choice. But it lacks a bit innovation.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Very nice Snake remake

MAnimal says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Nice audio. Sometimes it turn to side to late.

marvalgames says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Not exactly innovative but still some fun and the sound is awesome and a plus for simple

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:56am

Simple but well made. Good job.

yuigoto says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:18am

Nice take on a classic game! :P

The fps rate of the game made me feel like playing an old mini-game, even more with the sound FX and music.

It's fun, but I had some trouble finding the right timing to turn the snake, but I've always been bad with these games. :3

Feels totally like a game that should've been released on Atari or other games from the pre-8-bit era.

When I saw the file size I thought it was some kind of joke, though. XD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]