Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

N'Orbit

by Alcranky - Jam Entry

N'Orbit is an intergalactic being who loves the taste of spicy stars. Try to consume the entire sun before the humans fight you off. Pull planets into your orbit, and fire them at enemies.

Controls
Movement: WASD
Shoot: Left Mouse
Absorb Sunlight: Right Mouse

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#699Innovation(Jam)2.78
#894Graphics(Jam)2.53
#907Overall(Jam)2.75
#938Theme(Jam)2.76
#952Fun(Jam)2.45
#1752Coolness36%

Comments

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Interesting concept. The controls were smooth, and orbit physics seemed polished. I disliked the fact that you were not able to dodge rockets once they locked on, even after a while of running. Solid entry overall!

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:34pm

cool game!
kind of hard to figure it out :S and i was laking projectiles a lot of the time

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Interesting concept.

KAGSme says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:30pm

plays really well, took me a while to understand what was going on(oh god the balls flying around the screen, what is going on!).

Vladirien says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Cool idea and nice interesting but it quite hard to know what to do when starting the game.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Cool concept.

OmarShehata says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:15pm

The game has a lot of potential. I think it would have been way awesomer if you could also take the rockets into your orbit and hurl them back, that would be really cool!

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:56am

Nice idea! Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]