Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Photographer

by skarik - Jam Entry

You're a part-time photographer, specifically for adventurers. They need the PR, you know? Unbeknownst to them, this cave happens to be yours.

Make money, expand the lair, invite some more fools to eat.

WARNING: Blood

CONTROLS:
WASD - Movement
Mouse - Look, Menu navigation
Left Click - Bring up context menu, select menu item, or take picture (Contextual)
Right Click - Cancel context menu, aim
Tab/Escape - Bring up menu


[First Ludum Dare submission]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2355Coolness0%

Comments

Vacso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:19am

How do you tell them to pose?

Vacso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:20am

I may have just killed him, cool mechanic :)

Ulydev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:22am

Very nice entry. It was a bit complex to understand at first, but the concept is really interesting. I especially like how the camera tilts!

MomoyoSeiso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Hilarious game! I love the poses and the mechanic to survive by eating them. xD

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:13pm

You probably should make the item panel more visible, I didn't notice while I was playing the first time. Good that I looked at the screenshots before rating it. That's a really cool concept, I loved taking beatiful pictures near the crystals covered in blood.

jwin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Wow, really interesting idea! Hilarious to see the adventurers pose only to be a puddle of blood seconds later.

The phone interface is a great idea, but execution could use a bit of work. I wasn't sure commands to the adventurer were working at first while he was far away, some audio or visual cue that you gave the command would help with this.

Overall very innovative and funny!

SpringCabal says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Interesting concept but the controls could use more work.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Seemed like a really interesting idea - like a more hands on Dungeon Keeper. Was there some way to get the adventurers to listen to me? They just kept milling around like guinea pigs, refusing to pose. I loved the phone UI idea and the graphics throughout, although I'd consider moving "Turn off" far away from "Invite Adventurer"... Still, great entry - keep it up!

LeoM says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Nice mechanics but not enough challenge.
Weird feeling after that ! ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]