Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

REVOLUTION

by dacharya64 - Jam Entry

REVOLUTION talks about the difficulties of ruling a nation. Also about circles.

NOTE: There may be a problem with the iframe. You can always use the web link below.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#288Innovation(Jam)3.32
#347Humor(Jam)3.13
#437Audio(Jam)3.00
#550Mood(Jam)3.08
#716Overall(Jam)3.00
#761Theme(Jam)3.13
#766Fun(Jam)2.72
#1001Graphics(Jam)1.94
#1537Coolness42%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:36pm

I knew that if I ruled a nation, people wouldn't like me, and now it has been proven. Nice game!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Hmm. I like the idea, but there's absolutely no sense that my decisions matter. I guess that's the point, but it would be a lot more fun if there was at least flavor text illustrating specific reactions instead of generic ones.

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Original idea. Good writing!

jofra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:51pm

would like some illustrions to go with it :S Good game tho

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Nice music and a clean visual style, i like it. Quite a relaxing game to be honest. Good job!

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Fun writing!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Some more flavour text would be cool, but fun to see how it played out!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:34pm

waaah i don't like this game.

Text and all these choices are cool, and I have chosen the best decisions for the people, even changing things that were the tradition, but people still complain that I need to change, and then in the end I'm a monster feeding off the economy, but I actually did not. So I'm gonna replay the game, but do everything bad this time.

Nice game overall, music soothing, nothing annoying, and it was easy to picture everything happening as I read along. You definitely know your stuff.

Thank you for participating in this Ludum Dare. :D


Just played it over, no matter what choices I make, the end results for each day are the same. It's fun to choose things based on your own opinion, but sometimes you aren't a monster, if only there were different endings.

Still enjoyed the game. It gave the readers something to think about and make some really tough decisions, until they restart and realise it was all baloney. Which is funny in this case.

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:18pm

It's like Nation States! I was glad to see the link at the end of the game. I didn't know it was still around. Mid-2000s represent!

I like the writing. It feels like you put a lot of thought into the situations presented. I mean, these things often boil down to spreadsheets (as with our game), but the writing is what engages the player.

-mildmojo

wooltech says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:53am

Fun idea. The grey-on-green text for choices was a little hard to read at times, but overall the writing was good.

Blobo says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:44pm

"I make all the laws. Besides, who needs religion when you can bask in the glow of the Blobo?" this just might be my new motto.

Antokolos says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Yeah, it is hard to rule the nation :)
Nice game, I liked it, thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]