Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Deadly Orc

by amortus - Jam Entry

================
Game Description
================

A blood thirsty orc sacrificing women to collect their blood to summon his evil goblin minions to wreak havoc everywhere. That's you. Your are the monster!

============
Instructions
============

You need to kill the guards, but all you have is a knife and the ability to summon goblins!
Kill the maidens by holding down the [SPACE] button and collect their blood to perform the summoning ritual and kill all the guards.
Every maiden will give you a certain amount of blood, and will fill up the blood bar on the top of the screen.
When the bar is full, you will summon your minions from hell.
But watch out for the guards, they are too strong and if they see you, it will be hard to escape.
Your best chances are to stay hidden in alleys, behind objects and structures. Your character will fade out when he is properly hidden and you won't be seen by anyone.
Move with your [ARROW KEYS] or [WASD].
If the maidens see you, they will run for their lives, so try to sneak up from behind them.

Good luck, you monster!


========
Controls
========

WASD / Arrows - move
Space (hold) - stab


=====
Notes
=====

It's been lot's of fun working on this project, and even though we couldn't get it as far as we wanted, we still managed to finish a short playable version.

===============
Technical Notes
===============

Dropbox has been quite unstable, giving error 500, so if you have any problems with that, use the itch.io link.

We only have the Windows and Unity WebPlayer versions right now because of problems with my internet connection, but we will make Linux and WebGL versions avaiable later. For now, use a browser other than Chrome or enable NPAPI.


=====
Tools
=====
- Unity 5


=======
Credits
=======
Programmin by Victor Bergara;
Art by Alysson Guedim;
Game Design by both =)
Charcters Art by @Calciumtrice

A game by Victor Bergara and Alysson Guedim.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#242Audio(Jam)3.44
#449Graphics(Jam)3.55
#519Theme(Jam)3.46
#642Humor(Jam)2.59
#667Mood(Jam)2.94
#688Fun(Jam)2.85
#745Innovation(Jam)2.73
#758Overall(Jam)2.96

Comments

Rothens says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:22am

Nice one, but needs more challenge =)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:24am

It's too fast and easy.

TomOlivier says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Nice animations :) Loved it.

iossif says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:13pm

i like the music!

Halfbus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Doesn't fit embeded window, it hides UI thou

Chikoness says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:29pm

I like it! Hope to see this polished and ready one day :)

Snippety says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:03pm

I really like the sprite art, I just wanted to see more of the gameplay.
I mean... I just wish I could backstab more people with my hot pink dagger... ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°).

squarepug says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Its a shame you hadn't got more gameplay done because the name and idea seem decent.

CortezBR says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:21am

Nice! but is so easy

TsN_RaMPaGE says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:23am

One of the better games I have seen. Good work!

RobotMeal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:25am

Short game, and as you mentioned, looks like you didn't get as far as you wanted. Good audio. A cool beginning to an interesting game!

Solchain says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:23am

I really liked the graphics and animation. The game was too short but I liked the concept of moving through the town using alleyways for stealth and backstabbing maidens in the streets. I think a longer and polished version would be quite fun!

amortus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:56am

Thanks everyone for the feedback!

-Rothens, Maxi and The Gang, CortezBR:
I know, this is just the test stage we were using to test things out, we didn't finish in time to make some challenging stages but that's the idea =)

-TomOlivier, iossif, Chikoness, squarepug, RobotMeal, Solchain:
Thank you very much. We do intend to keep working on this game and will update it as soon as we can.

-Snippety:
You're creepy... and thanks! =D

-TsN_RaMPaGE:
Thank you very much!

jphelps says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:28am

nice job. quick and easy.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:17am

I wasn't able to stab people at all so it was kind of unplayable.
I liked the music you used and the art style is very nice.

amortus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:36am

Hey peterkirk, thanks for your feedback. Would you mind elaborating on the problem? Did the game not respond to your input or did it perform the animation but nothing happened when you stabbed the ladies? Thanks.

wicht says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:33pm

The animations and pixelart is nice. Could have had a level or two more though. Nice entry!

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Lovely graphics and music. It didn't really get who I was supposed to kill and the as soon as I entered the hitbox of a guard I died. Fits well with the theme though.

NAL says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Nice, would like to see an expansion of this idea! :)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Nice graphics, slightly confusing on how to play however I got the hang of it. I felt the game was a little too easy and some of the NPCs were unnecessary; but a fun little game overall. Well done! :)

Taldius says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Nice little game. The animation and the graphics were good.
Good job!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:45pm

graphics are amazing, and it looks like i really has potential. Good job

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:14pm

It's an interesting idea, but way too short. This + more levels + narrative = solid game

AlexSet says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:03am

The animated pixel art is great! But the gameplay isn't quite there at moment but i'm liking the stealth, backstabbing and minions idea.

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:24am

We have a very good concept here. Keep on it! Well done!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:02pm

A bit easy. Otherwise, good game!

folex70 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:58am

muito bom! parabens pelo jogo! leve adiante esse projeto

crucknuk says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Nice entry! I wish I could play more levels in a futur release ;)

bombjack says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:53am

nice entry. The art of the menu is amazing. Nice audio too.

Realize2D says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:20am

Nice graphics, animation and sound effects! Really liked this one.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]