Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dreadwolf

by PIN34PPLE - Jam Entry

Dreadwolf game for Ludum Dare 33 jam - You are the Monster
By Matthew (PIN34PPLE) and Alistair (G00S3B3RRY)

Please click web link below to play in browser or download for your operating system!

You are an unheard of Werewolf. Your task is to become the most feared beast in the realm. To accomplish this goal, you must destroy your enemies; the Heroes. Whilst doing this you will gain fear over the land and more proficient Heroes will attempt to destroy you.

Please contact us if you find any bugs!

WARNING Dreadwolf has not been tested on either Linux or Mac, and may not work correctly.

NOTE - Savegame will not work in browser version!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#674Audio(Jam)1.89
#729Theme(Jam)3.17
#792Mood(Jam)2.75
#815Graphics(Jam)2.75
#928Innovation(Jam)2.42
#1029Overall(Jam)2.54
#1042Fun(Jam)2.25
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

Null DIES says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:15am

The game's overall mood is very nice. The red lights and the low poly added to the game's final feel. However, the game wasn't fun... it misses something.... an incentive maybe... why should I kill these men? Do I get extra powers? Putting scores a side the player needs to be rewarded in gameplay when they achieve something.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:18am

Pretty hard. I clicked and clicked at the guys trying to kill me and I only managed to kill one of them once, and they pretty much always killed me.

GBGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:07pm

I can't play it in the browser, and when I click on the Linux link, it says I need to request access. Is it not publicly available?

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:16pm

The mood you achieve with the very nice low-poly graphics style sort of gets killed because there is no sound (at least for me). The game would be lots more fun with a bit of sound and some more player incentives.

Crosstales says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Cool entry!
Crashed in Webplayer 2 times and the third time the sound was gone. Happens!
Keep it up!

GBGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:22am

I had a hard time. Every time I thought I figured out how to kill the archers (is it a tiny hit box? if I aim at his left arm, does it work better?), I get killed because multiple unsuccessful attacks when surrounded spells doom. Maybe I just had to hit them multiple times, but there was no indication that my attacks were successful or that the heroes were stronger and had more health, and so I assumed I was just missing the entire time.

I liked the mood. I didn't really get a sense of the need for lighting the torches other than that it gets dark, and what I found weird was that instead of lighting the torch I was at, it seemed like the lights would go on somewhere else.

randomhuman says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:12am

It's hard to make attacks find their target, which unfortunately makes this game quite frustrating. If that were fixed I think it would be good fun, as it's got a sinister atmosphere.

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:44am

Good job and creating a specific mood for this game with low poly and red torches. Possiblly you could have added aflicker effect to torches to make it even more creepy, also creepy music would have help. Overall this was a pretty innovative idea and with some polish could be a great game.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Decent atmosphere, but it doesn't feel like the layout/design really fit with the theme you have chosen. The maze is very tight and difficult to navigate, but I found I could just want for the enemies to come to me.

reiknight says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:46pm

It needs something for telling the player when he hits, but in general, nice work.

DeadFragment says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:42pm

The art style really works in this game, however it would close randomly when pressing the cause havoc button on the menu. The buttons also would only work when pressed in a certain area. Fun game though!

-Neith

Xanjos says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Audio's apparently broken in the web version so downloaded the Windows version instead. I like the random level generation as well as the music and use of lighting.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:10pm

I wandered around for about 5 minutes and couldn't find any enemies the first time. The second time I ran into a group of 3 archers and kept attacking them, but they never died...

Also, the lighting really hurt my eyes.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]