Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Hecatomb

by FieroNZ - Jam Entry

Hecatomb: You have been summoned to reconsecrate the Sacrificial Temple. The people gathered here are honored to die in the service of the gods, take as many of them as you can.

Controls: Left click your next victim, and be quick about it, faster attacks let you jump further and give more points.

Features:
Action Packed Action!
Screams!
C-c-c-combos!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Fun(Jam)4.00
#66Graphics(Jam)4.42
#101Mood(Jam)3.86
#111Audio(Jam)3.73
#117Theme(Jam)4.00
#119Overall(Jam)3.79
#259Innovation(Jam)3.36
#433Humor(Jam)2.95
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:30am

It is a simple yet great game! Nice work!

Rani_Sputnik says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39am

So much frustration, my best is still only 19 :(

Vycerys says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:39am

Simple and fun! Also Aesthetically pleasing. Good job!

Sublustris says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:16am

Nice game, dude :)

ajopart says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:17am

106 Kills. Not a single perfect ! Nice little game. Liked the sound of dying warriors crushed under my feet...

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:29am

Hey, nice job, love the graphics!

freaknarf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Good simple game ! I think it cool be a great mobile game :)
I loved the pixel art and the palette used. Very nice sprites and gameplay !

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:32am

Thanks for the mac build! You might want to update your links list to say Mac/Linux as well or people might just skip it thinking it's windows only.

As for the game itself, I found it fast and furious, and it made me want to try multiple times to improve my score. Ending up launching myself off the edge into space was frustrating and entertaining at the same time.

Overall pretty entertaining.

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:05am

Really, really addictive in a good way, had to stop myself.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Really fun little game. It feels polished and the feedbakcs are great as well as the graphics and audio. It could be nice if we had a little more control over the monster, it's really easy to miss a target because of the constant movement. Nice game!

Flaid says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:42am

I like the game, but I'm not entirely clear on why I keep dying. The graphics, sound effects, and music all mesh really well together and the usage of the theme is original and fresh.

Vem says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:44am

Very nice aesthetics.

When I got perfects by just mashing, I lost interest, though.

The game also doesn't aim at my cursor.

mahalis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:35am

Fun and challenging! The mechanic seems simple but it does take some quick reactions to keep a chain going. It tends to end a little abruptly - a more clear indicator that you're running out of time would be nice - but overall this is an excellent entry.

Hizu says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:45am

Nice work, I love the art style.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:45am

Ha ha, yup. That took about 3 seconds to understand and then I played it a bunch. Good entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]