Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Almost Heroic

by xvw - Jam Entry

Made with RPG Maker VXace and RME, with love! <3

Play as Alex and go toe to toe with life and anybody who will stand in your way to save your lover Arianne. Under its classic J-RPG appearance, "Almost Heroic" denounce naively some videogame usual but harsh behaviour.

We sought to respond to the theme... subtly... Keep reaching to the end! :)
All the graphics/sound/music is original and have been done during the jam session. <3
We hope you will have fun!


#======================================
# * CONTROLS
#======================================

* F1 to configure Gamepad/Keyboard!

Default Keyboard:
* ARROWS => MOVING
* SHIFT/C => RUN
* SPACE/ENTER/Z => VALIDATION
* ESC/0/x => CANCEL


#======================================
# * TEAM
#======================================

Team members from BilouCorp & RMEx (French/Belgian) :

* Joke (@BilouMaster) - Graphics, Sound effect, Mapping
* Nuki (@nukiFW) - Mapping, Programing, Writing
* Zangther - Programing (Battle system)
* Neha - Musics! <3


#======================================
# * NOTE
#======================================

Torturing a chicken does not release a special event like in Zelda... :'(
We apologize if you spent 10 minutes doing this! :D


Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#60Audio(Jam)3.93
#60Overall(Jam)3.98
#106Fun(Jam)3.72
#116Graphics(Jam)4.28
#139Mood(Jam)3.73
#164Humor(Jam)3.55
#295Innovation(Jam)3.31
#644Theme(Jam)3.29

Comments

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Looks like the zip folder is corrupted! :( And it looks awesome, too

xvw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:53pm

We try to fix that! Thanks !

Joke says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:35pm

It is fixed now...
Thanks! :)

BtheDestroyer says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:16am

Hm this looks cool...
Oh... It's an RPG Maker game...
Wait a second... this is a GOOD RPG Maker game!

I wish all games made with the tool were this good! It's a shame that most of them use default settings on everything and bring shame to it!

Loved the NES level graphics and music (I can tell you put the 3 colors per sprite restriction on yourself and it really shows!) The fights as a rhythm mini-game mechanic was a bit interesting... If it were developed more I'm sure it'd be a really cool mechanic!

It's a bit long so I'll have to finish it later, though.

Also, what's with the pervy old man? xD

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:23am

This was bloody fantastic, I loved it. It looked beautiful, it played amazing and the story/diary elements are great. One of my favourite LD games!

NAL says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:27am

Really nice! The first five minutes (one of which was spent seeing if you'd added the Zelda chicken frenzy thing - sadface that you hadn't!) set me up for a standard but well-made RPG... and then the first fight occurred, took me off guard, and from there I thoroughly enjoyed myself! My favourite entry so far.

Anvil0008 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:32am

Wow this was awesome, the ending is hilarious. And the combat mechanic is great! Overall well thought out and polished. Great work!

Patomkin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:36am

The fight mechanics are very interesting :)

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:47am

Nice game ! Graphics and music are cute, the fightings are fun and the story is quite funny too. Not bad at all !

toni343 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:56am

This was the best game I've seen so far. The graphics are very nice and appealing, music is great and the gameplay mechanics suprised me as I tought it would be turn based battles. It's a really refreshing style of RPG. I loved the humor (especially the thing you can read on shelves) and I loved the twist ending. Bravo!

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:05am

Lol, that was pretty good! I really like this entry! Story was amazing, battles interesting and graphic cool!

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:08am

1st Thought:
What happened to the "you're the monster" theme?

Pros:
I like the timing command based battle system idea.
The music was really well done.

Cons:
I played for like 20 minutes, and still did not see how this fit the theme at all.
With the timing box being at the bottom right, it really takes the focus off the rest of the screen.
Battles were a bit difficult.

Overall:
I will keep this one and come back to it, I'm curious to see where it goes. Good job so far.

xvw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:12am

/!\SPOILER/!\
For understandig the theme's correlation, you have to finish the game :)

congusbongus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Wow, excellent game! The level design is very cozy, I'm betting your team has map design experience because it shows.

Chikoness says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Probably one of my favourite LD33 entries :) Very very well done! Thoroughly enjoyed myself!

Ending took me off guard, damn it :(

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:09pm

I love the feel and style of this game, the graphics are very coherent and the game feels very polished. Great job!

SeaMonster131 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:23pm

I like this old-style graphics, really nice work.

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Really great! Funny, entertaining and beautiful to see. It really has a nostalgic vibe to it. I loved the ending.
Better game so far xD
I would have loved some more depth to the mechanics, but you can't make everything in 3 days, I guess. I'd love to play a longer, deeper version of this!

xvw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Your comments have warmed us thoroughly!
We are on the lookout for your critics!
Thanks for all! <3

liquidmedia says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:53am

Good Game Thanks.

ohsqueezy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Pretty fun, nice battle system, nice graphical style. Pretty good sense of humor. After about 20 tries of fighting the Dragon I gave up. I wish there was a way to use potions during a fight. Also you can just walk around the skeletons in the tower leading up to the Dragon, is that intended? Is the idea that your character disregards the other people in the worlds desires? (e.g. stealing peoples jewelry and entering houses without permission)

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Thanks @ohsqueezy, too bad you did not manage to beat the dragon... It is important to pass the "press scape" that appears, actually.

We fought in the team to make the game easier (difficulty was not the goal) but the programmer wanted to give a bit of challenge to the player so we respected that... haha.

The end of the game explicit your intuition! ...rather unexpected way in bonus! ;) :)

For the skeletons, we realized this after the release, we did not want to cheat updates for little things like that. Personally I found it funny that we can avoid them! :D (laugh at his own mistake... lesson # 1 : D)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:00pm

It's good to see an RPG in LD, not an easy task. The music and graphics are great, and the battle system is clever. Good work!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Really well polished game! Well done!

sorlok says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Very solid: this is a very good use of the RPG Maker Engine! Loved the mood and especially the ending.

The battles were very difficult: the hit boxes for the arrows was about 1/2 tile off, and there was no way to really affect the battles that much. Still, very good overall!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:30am

Good use of the theme and the ending is funny!

glerikud says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:39pm

10 minutes? It was half the game for me, I was a real monster to those chicken!
Anyways, great game. I was kinda intimidated by the save points, because I wasn't sure how long it will be. I am surprised how much you were able to squeeze in it in 3 days. Good job!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Very high quality, I enjoyed this

KaiseanGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Very well done.

fistmaker says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Wonderful little game! Hard to believe that it's an RPGMaker game, good lofi artwork and sound! Awesome little game! Liked the combat too! Great job!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Awesome game. I loved the rhythm-game-as-combat mechanic, and summary at the end was great.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:03pm

What an incredibly well-polished game! The battle system is well thought out as well. Really great, I enjoyed it a lot!

Supernaught says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:13am

Game looks really cool from the screenshots! Too bad I can't play on OS X. :(

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:16am

I like the battle system, however I gave up in the castle. I'll probably pick it up later and finish it to get the ending. Nice level layout. I had fun torturing the chickens needlessly. lol.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Awesome entry, I didn't have time to finish it but from what I saw it was amazing. It would be nice if you added a scale parameter because the window was quite tiny.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Excellent entry! The ending (spoiler: with alien) is WTF! xD

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:47am

Really impressive for a rpg maker entry :) Mostly I don't like RPG Maker Jam-Games but this really is something else <3 Gfx and Sound is awesome, story is well written and funny!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:27am

So cool, first rpg maker game I player in this ludumdare, the combat system is very interesting.

MFEP says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Love this game, the music, the graphics, the story, the dialogs, it's my favourite so far:)

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:12am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

jlnr says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Just finished the game, loved the style and the silliness (the monad book >_<). 2/5 for Theme, but I really loved the combat system. I'd play a complete RPG with 'arrow fighting' if it was properly beat-synced :P

shawn42 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Great through back the NES days. I was amazed at the amount of quality content you were able to get in this game in such a short amount of time! Great work! (also, loved scaring chickens!)

Nurbs says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:02am

Pretty great game!
I feel the message at the end might've been a bit heavy-handed :b
still I really liked the combat, though I wish the presses would've sync'd to the music in the background.

very nice work.

AsixJin says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:45am

This game is put together really nice but I didn't really get it until the very end. The battle system was a cool idea but it was kinda difficult. I'd like to see what this game would look like with some polish!

El Cabaro says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:43am

Haha, what a neat and very French game. The graphics were great, though the music was a bit beepy for the rest of the atmosphere.

I enjoyed how the aliens all flew in at the end, the sudden cut to that was comical.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:49am

Great game!

NikB says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:25am

So beautiful and so nostalgic!

Pusty says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Hahaha, just played it till the end :D 100% worth it
Was a bit hard but I guess it's ok :D
So nostalgic :D Great music and textures!
Overall awesome

Aaranos says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:49pm

So sad, I like the game. Nice work with pretty much everything. Control listing and a better menu would be my recommendation for improvement.

xvw says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Thanks a lot, everybody! <3

@Aaranos: Haw... I added the "CONTROL" notice in the description! Thanks!

veoviscool12 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Nice, compact little game. I liked how stock encounters and actions in most RPGs were assigned a penalty! My only complaint is that the combat system is good for little periods of time, but doesn't lend itself to long stretches. It also doesn't provide any feedback on how you're doing vs the monster, like (Can't believe I'm saying this) Mystic Quest's degenerating monster sprites. But overall an excellent adventure. I wonder how the hero will stop the aliens now...?

Mase says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:35pm

For some reason it runs at like 5 fps on my virtual machine. So... I can't rate it. But I just want to say that your graphics look very cohesive & pleasant.

Mase says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Uhh nevermind I got it working.
Anyway. The graphics remain very pleasant.
I found the battles a bit tedious; I wish the arrows corresponded to the music.
Fortunately I was able to use my special powers to change the monsters' HP values in the editor. :D
The writing is droll and amusing.
Good work.

Literal Games says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Wow, really fun entry! Got wacky at the end too! Liked the fights, thought they were just the right difficulty. And impressed at the music and presentation of it all!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Good little RPG.
The end is quite fun !
Good job :)

LastLeaf says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:31am

Nice JRPG game with a long story made in short time.
It is a bit hard for me, but still nice.

Insality says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Fight mechanics +
Graphics is great, as a music <3
Good job!

Sparrow says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Awesome game, very clever. So much polish!

pixzleone says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:52pm

that was awesome.
5/5, i had goosebumps the whole game through.
words cant describe how great it was.
please give me more of this. i love it!
once again, AWESOME job!

igoramendola says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:10am

awww <3 your game is wonderful and has lovely graphics!
It took me a few times to beat the Dragon, but it was worth. The ending fits very well with the theme ^^

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:10am

This was a great oldschool style RPG! I love the graphics, as they feel like a natural modernization of stuff like the old Pokemon games while still keeping that Gameboy style. I particularly loved the reflections of the clouds in the water. It really helped the world feel more alive and real. The music was nice and fitting for the game. The writing was overall nice and a good take on the classic video game tropes that have become second nature for most, but are quite monstrous when you give them a thought. Overall, I liked it a bunch! I just wished the combat was a bit slower, but that's mostly my general video game ineptitude speaking xD

OadT says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:47pm

I love this ending :D The game is quite difficult but fun

Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:23am

Wow, really good overall! I saw the ending coming (well most of it) but the story was still very compelling. I liked the color scheme and music as well. The main mechanic stayed around just long enough to keep from getting stale and it was surprising/innovative at the start. Great job!

Oct 19, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Lovely graphics. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/sWM7EbBXpJg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]