Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Sea Monster

by flokitall - Compo Entry

"Sea Monster" is a simple avoid & collect game in which you are a sea monster trying to eat divers while dodging mines.

Most of the development time went into polish and general mood (or at least an attempt at polish and mood), which meant I had to keep the gameplay pretty simple. The game has no ending (infinite fun :) ).

Written in Flash with FlashDevelop for code editing. Art assets were hand drawn in Photoshop. No sound effects, sorry!

Can also be played on Newgrounds:

http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/662537

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#285Fun3.28
#405Graphics3.20
#437Theme3.44
#494Mood2.96
#572Overall3.00
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:17pm

3930, Moby Dick! Simple and fun game.

daveh says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:18pm

I like the look of the sea monster. It works well and looks great when there are tons of divers and bombs.

KPapaGeorge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:18pm

I like how that there was a high score to the game.
The gameplay is a bit repetitive thou

whalebot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:19pm

It definitely seems odd that when you get hit by a mine, your score resets, but the difficulty stays the same compared to the beginning... Other than that, it's a fun little game.

Multiplexor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Hi, the weblink sends me to download the swf. It might get some people confused.

I downloaded the .swf and I can't seem to make it run, i tried with flash player 10 and It stays loading forever

flokitall says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:38pm

@Multiplexor: thanks for pointing that out, I've replaced the Web link with a link to the Newgrounds page for the game. The Windows link still points to the .swf file if people want to download it.

It's odd that the game didn't load for you, I'll see if I can fix that. It should work on Newgrounds though.

unnamed1334 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:41pm

The game-play is fun but does not appear to get any harder as the game goes on. If the difficulty scaled faster I would consider this to be a good avoider game.

I got a top score of 7400.

andyman404 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52am

Easy controls! I like the sea monster's art.

ratking says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:21am

My topscore is 580 (Jaws)!

Too bad you didn't have time for some sound effects, they are fairly easy to make with bfxr, and a lot to the atmosphere.

Anyway, nice entry.

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:50pm

It was fun in the beginning but gets repetitive after a while. You should die eventually with mines in my opinion ^^ Otherwise I will just take a shower with them while the number of divers increases, so I can boost my score quicker.
Congratulations for graphics. The parallax, sun and lighting effects are very immersive.
Keep it up!

Dianouille says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Pretty simple game, but a nice one ! The controls are very smooth, and it's quite addictive :)

tomdeal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Simple but very funny game :-)

bossmojoman says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Great job throughout, simple, addictive gameplay, clean graphics. Could have used sound, but thats about it. awesome job

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:46pm

These are the bravest divers ever. Mines everywhere and a scary monster eating them, but they just keep coming!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Nice game! Score: 910! :)

SKT says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:56pm

3390 ! Fun game with cool graphics, nice job !

Jani Nykänen says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Nice game. I first thought those divers are fish.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]