Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Kill Click

by Mubox - Jam Entry

Stucked in 70%!

We are two guys from Mubox Games. This is our first Ludum Dare and we are delighted to participate. This is the third game of Mubox. This was a great challenge for us because we did not know exactly how to develop a game.

The idea is to deliver a Idle Game, where the player does kills per click and can acquire new monsters to attack cities. While the amount of monsters increases, the number of kills per second also increases. Also taking the concept of buffs that influence in earnings.

But as we are still inexperienced, most of the time spent learning how to use the engine we chose (Stencyl, first time using) instead of actually making the game.


*** CHANGELOG ***

- Blurry graphics's fix;
- Buffs's fix.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#897Humor(Jam)1.95
#969Theme(Jam)2.66
#1037Innovation(Jam)1.96
#1046Mood(Jam)1.92
#1067Fun(Jam)2.13
#1116Overall(Jam)2.16

Comments

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:44pm

A cookie clicker for monsters? GREAT! ;D

Aske says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Was very blurry for me.. dunno why, but seemed very interesting :)

S0rax says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Simple cookie clicker with monster, but like all clicker game, it's still addictive ^^ Ouch my finger ^^

klbrazil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:57pm

too bad it was blurry but i want to play a more clear version of this :D

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Good take on the theme and gameplay

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:16pm

The graphics are unplayably blurry for me, sorry :(

disperse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Blurry for me as well, MacOSX and Firefox.

Yrr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:37pm

As with above comments, game was unplayably blurry for me.
(Windows 7/Google Chrome)

AAGH Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:51pm

fun clicker

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:53pm

This showed up as a scaled up UI with a really low resolution so I had no idea what was going on.

Insality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:58pm

have a blurry graphics too, but i clicked them all and doing more kills with each seconds ;)
anyway, seems as a great clicker, nice!

mubox says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:16pm

We are sorry, we will fix that in a few days.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:57am

I had the same blurring issue.

handkor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:42am

I was wondering if I'd see a clicker game. Good job but the graphics are almost unplayably blurry. Good thing clickers are self explanatory.

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:14pm

I always love a good clicker game but what's with the blurry graphics?

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Looked cool but was very blurry for me too...

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:25pm

The concept is fun, being a monster clicker. The texts are blurry though, cant see the words. Maybe it's on my end. I've managed to play the game though.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Everything was blurry for me too. I love clickers and idle games!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:23am

Not bad for your first Ludum Dare game. Everything seemed very blurry though, it was hard to make out what I was buying :P Nice work!

dopplerdefekt says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:32am

Text too blurry to see. Otherwise, addicting like any other clicker game! Good job

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:29am

i had the blurry problem...

but cool!

i like the monsters!

Lonely Vertex says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:41pm

I would like to see monsters I wasbuying but it was not readable for me :(

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Another Stencyl-er huh? Welcome to the club lol.

Same issue, blurry :(

Komradus says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Really blurry, but I was able to understand your concept, interesting.

peecestudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:42pm

I'ma just leave this going as i rate more games, i like it lol. Shanks for this.

ethteck says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:38am

Good try, but I was thrown into a blurry screen with numbers in the thousands already just popping up for seemingly no reason. I really wasn't sure what to do, and that's a shame, because I tend to enjoy games like this.

mubox says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:00am

We will fix that bug in few days (two days, I believe). The weekend is what we have. Thanks for your reviews. Come back here if possible. (:

Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:04am

Don't can read anything because of scale problems or anything.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Blurry graphics, but cool clicker game.

Josh Riley says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:25am

As many others have said, everything looks super blurry for me. At first I thought it was a cool effect to obscure late game options, but it appears to just be a bug.

However, this was one of my first ideas for this theme and I'm really glad someone pursued it. Hopefully I'll be able to play it soon.

REIN1 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:29am

Good clicker game! But I can't see any active characters.Come on complete it!

PIN34PPLE says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Nice! These games are fun (no idea why haha) but for some reason all of the options on the right were too blurry to see

logiclogue says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:14pm

I enjoyed playing this :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Can't read anything, but I like the concept!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Blurry for me. A cookie clicker - stange idea, but fun. Thank you ++

bombjack says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:39am

Clicker games are about conrol and anticipation of the damages done. You should add display of the cost and dps of the next levels. Nice first LD.

Aske says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 5:59pm

The fix was nice. It actually a bit addicting..

superfreak says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:32am

addictive clicker game with cute interface and graphics

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:22am

Cool idea. I think an expanded version would be pretty neat, with a more intuitive UI.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]