Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Unspeakable Horror That Came From Underground

by RottenFish - Jam Entry

Humans have disturbed your slumber for too long, now you must unleash your rage upon them.
WASD or arrow keys to walk
Left Mouseclick or Z or J for melee
Right Mouseclick or X or K for ranged.
Hope you like it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#327Graphics(Jam)3.79
#338Audio(Jam)3.23
#519Theme(Jam)3.46
#537Fun(Jam)3.04
#638Overall(Jam)3.08
#731Humor(Jam)2.38
#731Mood(Jam)2.83
#957Innovation(Jam)2.33
#1362Coolness46%

Comments

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:34am

Haha funny game. Like it a lot. All this cool details in it ( Village around). Greate work. :-)

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:58am

The low poly look is excellent. The bright colors really work and the perspective makes it looks really nice.

Elenesski says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:58am

Great job. it's only fault was it took too long to recharge, but other than that. Was fun. Good theme entry.

MapleQuest says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:02am

Really enjoyed the framework you have setup here. The controls feel decent, the graphics are pretty impressive, and smashing fruit carts is really fun.

I almost kind of wish you'd make a game just about smashing fruit carts. :D

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Nice graphics, cool game. Quite difficult to melee attack people

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:02pm

The graphics is really good and really like to destroy stuffz on the level. But the most effective way to play is just eveade all enemies and just walk towards.
Aiming with right click is really bad, and stamina loads too slow. You just cant be a monster without hitting anything. :)

Razoric says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Great models, fun game.

Hegback says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Now that's what I call an awesome gameplay(though kind of slow) with great graphics! Audio sounds a bit funny, but still fine.

dwemthy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Graphics style is really great. Controls are a little hard to land attacks, which got frustrating with the limited stamina and very slow recharge time.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Little bit slow gameplay but so fun.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:21am

simple and effective if you want to just smash things arounds, nice anti-stress :P
By the way I don't know but sometimes it didn't want to hit while I was pushing the melee button, didn't know if there was a charging time or if it was a bug. But nice graphics anyway! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]