Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Block It

by Jeroen Kappé - Jam Entry

A game I made for LD33.

It's not 100% finished but it's playable.

I know it doesn't fit the theme.

I used:
Unity 5
a mix of MS paint, paint.net and photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#676Innovation(Jam)2.81
#701Graphics(Jam)3.00
#893Overall(Jam)2.78
#895Fun(Jam)2.54
#927Mood(Jam)2.50

Comments

pighead10 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:10pm

No windows link?

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:24pm

I like the minimalist graphics and how easy it is to quickly understand how the game is played. My only two complaints are:
1)The game feels a bit slow at times. Especially in the early game, you spend quite a bit of time just waiting for balls to hit your wedge, which is really kind of dull.
2)The controls aren't very well suited for mobile. Having to block anything that comes from the top half of the screen requires physically moving a thumb all the way up there, which can be uncomfortable, and can also really block your view of the screen.
I might suggest looking at a game called Gyro, which has a similar rotating mechanic with a more comfortable control scheme. You can slide your thumb left and right around the bottom of the screen almost like turning a dial that impacts the direction that the wheel faces.

teknic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:50pm

No PC or Mac runtime :(

evandaley says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Needs a pc download. :D

Pampattitude says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Disclaimer: I gave up at about a hundred points (http://i.imgur.com/varP4l6.png).

Overall, the game is not bad but it really lacks variety. Enemies that would gravitate around the circle, enemies with complex patterns (e.g. sinusoid movement) would have been great.

The game could also be more dynamic. Speed ups at every 10 or 20 points would definitely have made it a lot of fun!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:11pm

This game relives nightmares in high school of geometry tests in maths class. Thanks for bringing that memory to the front of my mind. I will never be able to sleep again.

Would recommend.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Could you post a windows build? I really would like to play this game, the graphics intrigue me (i'll be checking back in a few days to see if there are any updates...)

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:21pm

A neat idea that definitely needs more work put into it. The minimalistic graphical approach is neat, but the game feels slow. It definitely will benefit from more challenge, variety and sounds. Work on it some more and you'll have a pretty good game on your hands :)

Reccy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:12pm

I want to play it, but it needs a Windows version :D

madmaw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:09am

Felt really clean and was easy to pick up. Could do with a bit more challenge

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:41am

Tryed on my OnePlusOne smartphone. Really nice and enjoyable! Clear and nice visuale effect. I only scored 26 btw ^^`

MasterZenith says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Doesn't fit the theme, but I can see you took yourself out of the voting for that.

Sound is waaay to loud. Blew my headphones out.

Would be interested in knowing what the finished version would have to offer. Keep me updated please!

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:16pm

I had quite a bit of fun playing this game, but it seemed to simple at times. It was a little slow and random, and maybe some powers or levels or something would be nice. Good job though, I got a good bit of enjoyment out of this!

Tselmek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Great mechanic that yet needs some tweaking. The game is great but there is not much of a challenge, accelerating the pace for example could help a lot but not only. I know the window size is fit formobiles but it is a bit unfair to see the balls coming from the left or right only at the last moment, a square would have been a better choice of size. Great game nonetheless with a nice minimalistic feel.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]