Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Treasure Keeper

by jelch - Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare! Only spent 12 hours or so, wasn't thrilled by the theme.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#325Theme3.61
#466Graphics3.10
#524Audio2.59
#602Humor2.39
#724Mood2.56
#779Innovation2.44
#807Overall2.68
#853Fun2.34

Comments

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Cool game! loved the graphics!

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Pretty fun in concept, IMO the game moves a little slow though. I really like the monster sprite and the minimalistic music.

Azlen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:12pm

HULK SMASH!

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Great game! Would have been better if humans didn't tend to block themselves and if the player wasn't so slow.

razavidn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Movement feels a little slow to be enjoyable, but I like the delay on the attack!

Clurect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:43pm

it was good, a bit slow walking, but had enough speed to corner humans

Meursault says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:46pm

The attacks feel pretty good, to movement seems to slow.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Things I learned from this game:
-Satan is slow af.
-Satan is a baby face.
-Satan cannot turn around.
-The easiest way to be safe from Satan is to run up a wall because he can't turn around and his smash attack only reaches in front of him.

zatyka says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:47am

There's definitely room for improvement, but I like the concept. Move speed was a little frustrating, and players often walked up the walls, where I was unable to get them. Not bad for a 12 hour investment.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:21am

Fun game, I really liked it! My only issue is that the little dudes can run to the top of the screen which makes them impossible to smash. Liked the art style a lot!

JoJoX says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:57am

Fun one. Little dude are acting weird.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:30am

Hey! Thanks for making a game.

What we liked -
The animation of the main character was really nice, the attack animation feeled solid and was helped by the sound design. The music fitted the atmosphere of the game nicely. The game was also on theme well.

What could be improved -
The little guys were too fast and your character moved too slow. They got stuck on walls quite a lot and a few times managed to move offscreen which is frustrating.

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:34am

I found the guys with shields and swords a little inconsistent in their dying...

Graphics and sound were good, but the pace was a little slow...

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Looked nice, liked the music, simple yet fun.

C

ehtd says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:37am

a bit slow, but still fun

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:48am

Very nice, the devil sprite looks like the devil from south park x)

bossmojoman says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:52am

Very retro, wanted to pull out my old game boy :D Good job, especially for 12 hours

GBGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:05pm

I like this twist on Tower Defense. A bit slow, but kind of cute.

I wish there was a way to kill the guys who run to the top. Also, the guys who set the traps were obnoxiously hard to get to, and it got tedious. I wasn't sure if there was an ending because I stopped trying after a certain point.

The sound effects were harsh, but I like the mood set by the music.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:06pm

the gameplay could be funnier if the monster was moving a little faster.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:57am

The movement was toooo slow :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]