Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

PixelMonster

by shawn42 - Compo Entry

Your Pixel Monster absorbs the colors of nearby pixels. Make him match the exit to move on to the next level!

Left,Right,Up to move
R to reset the level
ESC to quit
I've tested on Windows7 and the latest OS X.

Windows 8 users, if you see a prompt window but no game, give it a minute (literally a minute). It will eventually start playing (no idea why this happens).


PS
With my 3rd kid being only 3 weeks old, I only had a few hours into this. Please post feature ideas / requests in the comments. I plan on continuing development beyond LD if the idea gets a positive response.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#57Innovation3.84
#277Fun3.30
#482Overall3.11
#575Audio2.42
#852Graphics2.17
#938Theme1.81

Comments

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:33am

I couldn't get it to run. Sorry. Let me know if you fix it. :(

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:35am

Norton hates this as well. Too bad.

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:22am

Doesn't run for me :/

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:34am

Very cool concept. Challenging levels - getting the colors to match up with the exit. Congrats on the 3rd kid and being able to put together a game like this in only a few hours. It worked fine for me on Mac OS X.

Halleflux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:56am

Crashes on launch, sorry.

snarf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:08am

Wont run ;(

NathanFlurry says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:40am

Why is this showing it was created on May 30th?

shawn42 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:27am

@NathanFlurry The executable is part of the Ruby packaging mechanism called Ocra.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:40pm

WINDOWS BUILD HAS BEEN FIXED!

mrozema says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Works for me on Win7 and Mac OSX

Jared Sartin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Love the puzzle aspect! Hope it will run for people!

lanestp says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Fun game. Seems a little off topic. But it's a fun little platformer!

M2tias says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:52pm

The controls have a really nice feeling. It's maybe a bit too fast, but that must be subjective. I like it!

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Mac version worked fine. Loved this game - you must continue development and add levels and better audio. I especially loved the subtle colour changing elements. My two sour points are the characters controls are a touch over-sensitive and relevance the theme.

Frozen Ninja says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Very cool concept, not really related to the theme but i love the game play. Love it. too bad it's so short in levels... Good job! :) (also, why ruby... why... ;p)

jlnr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Great work in the short timespan, and congrats on child #3 :) It's a bit too slippery for my taste, but the concept was really interesting. I wonder how well it'd work with larger levels - at some point you probably have to understand the precise formula for mixing colours?

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:22am

Hey, I able to get it running. It's a pretty good game as the mechanics are very original.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:40am

Pixels. What's there to say? For a game made in a few hours this is self-contained and works well. I think the mechanic is definitely worth developing into a more fleshed-out game.

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Really cool game mechanic, one of the most innovative I've seen! Game was lots of fun, just wish there was more levels. Good Job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Interesting prototype. I like the concept. The controls were a bit difficult. I would prefer slower movement - without easing. Keep making levels - I think the idea could develop further.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Wasn't long enough! I liked the idea, and was cracking my knuckles getting ready for a challenge, and then it was over :( Would've LOVED to have seen more levels!

Eingya says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Doesn't start for me (windows 7)

Huo-cuo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:28pm

good idea, entertaining game.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:40am

Bit short but I like the idea a lot. You should definitely expand on this.

chrissou says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Great game concept

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Took me a while to figure out what was going on, but this is a pretty good idea! The controls were a bit twitchy for me to be confident in moving around though. Congrats on your 3rd kid btw

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Very original game, I love the idea.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:40am

Simple, but not bad.

radmars says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:40am

Really neat concept! I'd experiment trying color changing with multiple genres or control schemes. What if it was top-down and you couldn't go over the same square? Or a bullet hell where you absorb the colored bullets you want and dodge the ones you don't?

psydack says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:14am

Nice concept, I really like it! I just feel a bit frustrating about movements. It's like walking in the ice. But, I love it. =)

superfluous says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Wow, I really loved the concept here. If the controls/friction were tweaked just a little, this would be great developed into a complete game. More advanced level designs would be really cool. You could also imagine a level editor being very easy to implement, fun-for-the-player feature. Great job.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:35pm

First I thought "oh no, not another platformer". But with the color mixing mechanic it gets really interesting! You should definitely develop the idea further!

alyphen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Really, really cool mechanic. I would love to see an expansion of this with a lot more levels and some more variety in audio. The level progression was incredibly well done. Shame you had such a short time to work on it, it could really do with more content. In future versions, perhaps allow players to create their own levels, add some menus and audio, etc. A long time since I've seen a game written in Ruby, the garbage collector doesn't make it so easy for a lot of games, but for something this simple, it works well. This, for me, shows a lot of the spirit of LD: A simple mechanic executed pretty well. It doesn't really match the theme, but it's a really good idea.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Cool! I always like color mixing games and this is a neat take on that. Controls are a little fast for my taste. Music got frustrating after a level or two. Took me a minute on a couple of levels to figure it out. Additional levels could make this a fun little puzzle game.

MrTwister says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:01am

Wow, this was really brilliant!
Quite challenging and fun! My only complaint would be that the character feels too light. It accelerates in an instant, so it's really hard to control when you have to be precise.
Other than that is a really solid entry. It's incredible that you did this in just a few hours. Would love to see this idea developed further. Kudos, man!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Interesting concept. I wish there is more levels!

boardtobits says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:03am

Didn't run, just got a command prompt icon. Sorry!

Nurbs says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:19am

Neat concept. Gameplay is smooth, puzzles are simple enough in the demo although the jump in the last level took me a few tries. Could be worth expanding on.

hexagore says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Interesting concept. I found mixing the colours to get the exact right one pretty challenging. Some sort of indicator would have helped enormously I think.

xvw says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:33am

Concept very original, well found, I quickly understood what to do. :)

A little off topic, but innovating!

Resonious says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Super cool idea. Plays smoothly. Too bad there's only one level that requires putting some thought into the color mixing!

philomory says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:10pm

I like the concept quite a bit, though with only a few levels it's hard to say where it should go next. I could see your monster gaining different powers depending on what color he was, which could add a nice puzzle element to it.

01101101 says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Cool idea, I could see this becoming a fun puzzle-platformer with a bit more work.
What I find is missing the most is a way of telling if you currently are the right colour. Maybe a glow around your character, a lock opening up on the exit door or something could be nice.
Good luck for the future, keep us posted if you decide to work on it some more! :)

PurpleApes says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Good Concept!!!!!

Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:28am

Lots of fun, great use of mechanic. Especially love the particle effects.

OnlySlightly says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:30am

Love the particle effects. I love how they slowly disappear and are pulled towards you. It made the world feel much more alive rather than just some blocks on the screen. When I discovered the mechanic I was like 'whoah'. That was a really fun mechanic and I would love to explore this more. I'm super impressed that you were able to produce this given your circumstances having kids and all. Awesome job. and great game. Thanks!

Wertle says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:50am

Alas, wouldn't run on Windows 8 (the executable ran and a command window opened but the program itself never ran)

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:32pm

This is a really cool idea! Would really like some more levels!
Good job doing this in the time that you did and I hope you continue the project!

Chris M says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 6:52am

Short and sweet! Nice small flourishes on the minimalist aesthetics (the particle effect did stutter a bit though) and a clever idea. In the colour matching levels I found it tricky to gauge the colour just right though.

Oct 20, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Really cool game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/t2uXuiSquSk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]