Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

BullShit

by Meadgard Games - Jam Entry

Spain, the land of animal pain. Discover how the monsters enjoy the show.

---VERY IMPORTANT---
Please, select “Fantastic” in Graphics quality section before Play! the launcher.
If you don’t, the game will not work correctly.

Thanks!

-Meadgard Games-

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#186Theme(Jam)3.88
#295Audio(Jam)3.31
#351Mood(Jam)3.35
#428Fun(Jam)3.19
#497Humor(Jam)2.84
#520Innovation(Jam)3.00
#548Overall(Jam)3.19
#568Graphics(Jam)3.31
#1314Coolness47%

Comments

SeaDads says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:11am

Thought the concept was pretty cool and the graphics and audio are great but found the game really, really hard and frustrating. Still, great job!

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:49am

A bit hard, but that is not a bad thing. The game overall is great, specially the idea.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:17am

The mechanics felt nice, it's a simple game but it was well made nonetheless. High grades in the audio and humor department!

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:26am

For once the game title says it all: this game is BULLSHIT. The metaphore hit me after i got killed the 10th time by the super fast bull on steroids that cannot be seen, cannot be stopped cannot be played and i exclaimed it out loud. Definitely bullshit. Good title though :)

D.C. Los Pixelados

Phoenix Smith says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:13am

I loved it a bunch. Was really getting into the game finally got the swing of things and BAM killed the bull and thought it was over... then the unexpected happened. Anyways loved the game but was not to found of the swords having collision since it would mess up my timing on jumps when trying to pick them up. Great game and hope to see more!

Shina69 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:28am

Well, on my experience, the bull moved at the speed of light and i couldn't play 1 second of it. Hopefully we don't have this species on our arenas, would be a blood bath.

tweedle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:48am

Cool game mechanics! Really liked how you have to pick up swords after throwing them. The music was also humorous.
I especially liked the "Bull Facts" about how these animals are mistreated.
Good work overall!

Mossy Frog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:27am

Brilliant. Solid game thats incredibly tough to start with, but once you time the jumps its easier. I finally killed the bull and was Like "Yeahhh game over" then the 2nd bull killed me XD Great entry :D

Pantoufle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:59am

Really really hard game! The bull is moving too fast I think, but maybe it's intended. I was a little frustrated by the experience.
Anyway, the idea is quite nice, I enjoyed the game overall and the music in particular.
Good job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:18pm

This is rock hard! So angry! This is Bullshit! Graphics and audio are nice though :)

superpatch says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Great Job! I really like the art style and i had a lot of fun trying to dodge that bull...until another one came and crushed me!

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:28pm

really like it, well played! just too hard , can t beat the bull

darklightteam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:49pm

That was a simple game that didn't quite impress me, but I understand the methaphor. Good entry :)

mzmiric5 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Interesting game, I like that there is an educational part to it. The graphics and sound effects work well together. The game is quite challenging but I guess that is part of the fun.

jordinuco says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:25am

And when I finally killed the bull.. ZAS! Another one comes and butchers my body again.

Good job!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:22am

wow,wow,wow,Love it,good job!

sararyCow says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:36pm

I can't play the OS/X version... I think it has something to do with the RAR compresion (use ZIP instead).

Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Couldn't agree more on who is the monster here.
I wish real bullfighting would be that unforgiving because the game is really difficult.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:36am

Rather challenging but that's something I like. The humor, audio, graphics were just fantastic, amazing stuff right here. Loved it so much! Great work!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:27am

Excellent! Super difficult, simple and fun mechanics and controls, great graphics and audio. One of my favourites so far!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]