Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Doppelhunger

by Meat Us - Jam Entry

Eat a maximum of innocent people to increase your score.
You'll have to be smart and use both forms to survive as much time as you can while terrorizing.

In human form you are safe from the cops and can walk around freely but it won't last long. When you're hungry you'll transform into a terrfic beast that can dash and eat people.
But don't forget that in monster form, you have to eat one human at least to be able to back in human form.


First time working together :

Wilko Willame - Programmer
Virgile Lions - Programmer
Clement Martin - Game Design / Level Design
Clement Romagny - Graphist / Sound design

Enjoy the game and share your thoughts !


Edit :
The controls bug is now fixed
Small visual and sound adjustements

WEB VERSION IS HERE !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#237Audio(Jam)3.45
#352Humor(Jam)3.12
#383Theme(Jam)3.63
#431Overall(Jam)3.32
#439Fun(Jam)3.17
#483Graphics(Jam)3.49
#648Innovation(Jam)2.85
#655Mood(Jam)2.95

Comments

djfariel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:11am

Looks great but the controls didn't work. I could only move down and to the right, so I ended up in a corner. This may just be a bug. From what I saw, a great game aside from that control issue that made it (at least for me) unplayable.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:11am

Nice work, good art and sound, fun gameplay. Great job!

donaldm says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:13am

This was a fun little game! I really liked the concept. The controls were a little odd and the collisions needed some work, but the game overall was enjoyable.

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:32am

Couldn't move left and escape did not close the game. Other than that, good entry!

Demetz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:33am

I dont know if it is just here but i could not go left, i would press the button but it wouldn't work. Aside from that, great game!

FZeroRacer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:34am

It's a fun game but the controls are definitely kinda broken. WSD worked fine, but A was mapped to Q instead.

disperse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37am

The 'A' button isn't working on my Macbook Pro with Windows 8.1, not sure if it is my issue or the games. Hard to play when I can't move left but I love the idea, graphics, and it has an awesome title screen!

Downtown says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:38am

Really good Audio and graphics. The left seemed to be bound to 'q' rather than 'a' strangely. I found the dash surprisingly satisfying given that it was only a very short boost and the people ran at around the same speed as you, made every chase quite tense.

dkdwrek says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:40am

I enjoyed the game! Although, I found that 'Q' was what actually got me moving left, so that was kinda tough to get used to

Meat Us says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:42am

Hey, Meat Us Team here ! The control bug is now fixed, enjoy the game ! :)

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:50am

Wish I can play it mac or web. Style of screenshots is so cool! Like, upload on web if possible.

mzmiric5 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:52am

Very polished visuals and audio, quite fun to play, but the controls seem to be slightly off (they can be remapped in the launcher, but it threw me off a bit at first).

Croze says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:05am

Fun little game, I love the art style and the audio made me giggle. Fit the theme very well too.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19am

Very clean presentation! I loved the sound effects especially. The controls felt a little bit unresponsive at times, though, and I didn't understand why I couldn't change back to a human sometimes.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:26am

Pretty good! Loved the art style.

cxsquared says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:41am

Really great soundtrack and art. The idea was fun and the difficulty curve for the game was quite nice. Good work.

wy477wh173 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:44am

Well put together and it looks nive but controls were not the best and some of the art was layered funny.

Good job.

-Wyatt and Kelsie

Vem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:10am

The game as a cool and distinct look, I like it!

I would have liked it if the dash had a lower cooldown, or the doppelgangers walk speed was slightly faster.

As it was now, just walking behind someone and mashing dash is more frustrating than fun.

Anyway, a solid game. Well done!

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:19am

That was an interesting game. Great job. :D

Lee1121 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:02am

Had a good time playing this game :).

By the way, I heard people are more likely to play your game and Google Drive can just host them for you: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/26463461/how-to-upload-unity-web-player-game-to-google-drive/26475954#26475954

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Fun little game. Good art.

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Very funny game, cool idea! You have some troubles with collisions near walls.

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Funny little game.
I like the animations.
As for improvement, maybe give more speed to player.

Cheers,
Morco (Los Pixelados team)

inurashii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Super impressive graphics and music. Fun game, too! Though I found that the zoomed-in field of view made it difficult to impossible to escape the security guards if they come onto the screen while you are in doppelganger form. Extremely impressive.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Simple yet fun. Stable and well-made.

mboaj says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Really funny :)

superpatch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:32am

Simple and fun. Cool graphic and nice sound. Great entry, good job!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:02am

ha, i was told never to name your animals since it will make it harder to eat them! good job! worked fine for me (web build).

peterkirk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:22am

Nice work. I really like the shape changing mechanic to sneak up on people.
I would have preferred a slower paced game with more stealthing to catch targets.

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:14am

Great game, graphics and audio are really nice, gameplay is simple and fun, easy to pick up. Nice job guys.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:17am

I love the art sytle of this game and the gameplay was really solid. After a few tries I was dodging and sneaking past thoses cops to gobble my foes with ease. Awesome stuff!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Doppelhunger is a fantastic name, haha!
A really fun game and the graphics are incredible.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Nice fun little game with interesting art style. Interesting = Good :D

Caracole says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:18pm

I glitched out of the map, going through a wall using the dash :/
Funny game nonetheless :) good job

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Nice game! Very funny interpretation of a theme :)

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Love the music! I like the menu of the game, I think the gameplay should be more nervous but it's a good game! Good job!

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Lots of fun chasing down scared coworkers! Good idea and very well implemented.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Once I discovered what was the left bar I understood the game and could massacre at will. Fun, quick to learn and simple. Controls worked for me!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Nice work! a fun entry. I had a few problems where cops would literally come out of walls and practically teleport over to where I was.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]