Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monstrous

by mceier - Compo Entry

Monstrous is a competition between 2 contenders to the title of Monster.
Monster becomes the one who will kill more victims.

Controls:
1st Player - Arrows
2nd Player - WSAD

Very simple game made in Rust (without using any game engine).
Binary only for Linux, though it should be possible to compile it and run on other platforms.

Background "music" done in LMMS, textures in GIMP, while lacking art-making skill ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#758Theme2.84
#779Fun2.53
#904Overall2.41

Comments

Arg410 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Only linux :( Maybe i'll boot up a distro in a bit a check this out later!!

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Nice, Keep working

Gil4 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Meh, what a great timing for my xubuntu to die. -_-

mceier says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Yes, it's only for linux, sorry. I don't use other platforms.

BTW. It seems that the shader that draws the level works differently on Intel graphics card than on nvidia, making level invisible. Dunno about AMD cards.

I was developing and testing with nvidia card.

teknic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:57pm

linux only :(

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Unable to run due to Linux only. Sounds like it might have been fun

Josho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:04pm

only linux sadly

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Sadly it's linux only...

bodsey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Only Linux :o

TooMuchPete says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:15pm

For something like Rust, it might be worth having some instructions on how to compile it on other platforms. I'm willing to do that compilation if it's obvious how to get started -- maybe an updated readme on the github page?

Zupoman says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Woah! First time I encounter a game that is Linux-only, without Windows support. Too bad running it gives me a segmentation fault after a few seconds…

mceier says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:31pm

@TooMuchPete: That's good idea - added 1st version of instructions for windows platform, but not tested.

@Zypoman: Can you run the game with RUST_BACKTRACE=1 set ?
This should produce the backtrace, which you can paste here or on github issues page.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:07pm

You really need to include a windows build if you want your game to receive enough votes to be ranked.

texus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:33pm

The linux-only is not an issue for me, but as you already noticed the levels are invisible on intel graphics card which rules out another big part of users. You should really try to find a way to fix it.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:25am

Web build please

approxx says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:04am

hey mate:
./monstrous
Loading sprites...9ms
Creating OpenGL window...125ms
Creating text system...2ms
Loading fonts...253ms
Creating texture objects...31ms
Creating buffers...11ms
Loading shaders...0ms
Compiling shaders...4ms
Victims to kill: 300
Segmentation fault

mceier says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:23am

@texus: Yeah, I know, but that would probably require whole code redesign. Which I may do after LD, since this is not the only issue that would require redesign.

@approxx: That's interesting ;) RUST_BACKTRACE=1 can be used to provide backtrace (but if it doesn't work, gdb should be used).
I don't know what could cause this crash. I guess that either rust generated some instructions not available on generic i686 or one of the libraries is not safe to use on some platforms. The backtrace may help fix this.

You could also try to recompile the game from source.
If you have rust and cargo installed, it's matter of running "cargo run --release" in repository directory.

Graham Weldon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:59am

Linux only, can't review :(

JNT says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Segfaults pretty much immediately.

GBGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:46am

Split-screen action! Unfortunately, it means needing a second player, but I can see how going head-to-head in this simple game can actually be a lot of fun. Next challenge: 4-player split-screen!

I can see it being more fun if there was more variety and challenge, such as dangerous victims or the ability to push each other out of the way to steal victims or something like that. Also, when it was down to two victims left, I spent a long time hunting them down. Perhaps a minimap would help?

I like how creepy the music is. It's repetitive, but creepy.

mceier says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:16am

Yeah, minimap, ability to play against bot, better victims AI (currently they never find safe zone), were all planned features :) But first I will have to do major code cleanup and fix some bugs.

I didn't think anyone would like the music :D Thanks.

SamH says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Rated you ★★★★★ for Fun because troubleshooting Rust code is always so much fun! Apart from that, interesting gameplay, if you ever add a real victim A.I. it could make it really entertaining.

mceier says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Wow, thank you :)

euske says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Woo, Rust! Glad to see someone using it for games but unfortunately it wasn't playable to me. It only showed the player and no level/victims (Intel graphics chip here v_v). I compiled from the source.

wesley werner says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:20am

Split-screen action woohoo! I think people forgot the joys of sharing a keyboard for games :D

As you mentioned, on my Intel card the background is not drawn. Bonus points for a Linux build - good show old chap!

I noticed that player movement is reversed in your opponent's view, now I don't know if this is intentional, but it gives the great advantage that trying to control your player by looking at your opponents screen makes it really tricky! Great design!

Jelinib says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:38am

Aw, I've chosen the wrong OS. :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]