Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

I MUST REACH THE VILLAGE

by wavegunner232 - Jam Entry

YOU MUST REACH THE VILLAGE. this game has 3 levels and in each level you must reach and destroy a village and collect sledge hammers for points

controls : space bar to jump and down arrow to crouch z to destroy village when you reach it at the end of the level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#657Audio(Jam)2.13
#882Humor(Jam)2.00
#929Fun(Jam)2.48
#994Graphics(Jam)2.13
#1030Innovation(Jam)2.00
#1031Mood(Jam)2.11
#1054Overall(Jam)2.47
#1090Theme(Jam)1.94

Comments

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:49pm

no web/osx :(

puddelipip says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:54pm

First off, awesome music!
The jumping is a bit stiff in the controls making the challenge to know where to jump rather than to time and control the jump, controls are difficult

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:00pm

sorry for the lack of web/osx version i don't have those modules for game maker

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:02pm

puddelipip. thank you for the advice i will be sure to remember that for next time. Also in case you getting stuck on the second level or the 3rd most of the jumps require you to jump and then slide sorry i did not put that in the description

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:02pm

*in case your getting stuck not you getting stuck

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:50pm

I mus reach the villages! But what in the earth am i collecting in the way there?

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:02pm

AzureAspect you were collecting hammers. I wanted to make a collectible but i figured coins would not work with the idea of the game (reaching a village and destroying it). So i thought on it and i decided to make it sledge hammers as point of sledge hammers is to destroy walls sorry it was not clear i am not a good artist

cgmorton says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:29am

Okay level 2 was way easier than level 1.

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:47pm

An oddly addictive runner. The difficultly was over 9000. I made it to level 3 and sadly had to give in. Jump/ crouching is too pro for me.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Really dig the music, and cool gameplay too.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Nice old-school feel! I just pretend I am a hipster with a stocking hat picking up razors because I have to get a job.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Can destroy village, cannot stop running.

Geared Games says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:54am

You do realise the theme chosen was "you are the monster" and not "can't stop moving" right? ;)

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:06am

Geared Games : ya the point of the game is basically reach a town destroy said town and everyone in it , leave repeat.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Pretty fun

reiknight says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:02am

I'm a big fan of "Bit Trip Runner" and "Geometry Dash" and this game captures the essence. Nevertheless, the music in the third level is awful, in my opinion is better take it off than keep it. Other thing is that I don't know how to this game fit the theme.

PS: Level 2 is easier than level 1

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]