Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Eurthamon

by AndyBrown - Compo Entry

The game is pretty self explanatory. Just give it a try and have fun!

The game features 5 'levels' of gameplay, or rather one level that is re-purposed five times. I had plans for a lot more, but I don't feel like they really would have added much to the game.

One note: I did all of my testing within unity, so there is some tiny UI items that failed to stretch that I missed, sorry about that. It all still works, unless you go on a giant resolution- then the cutscenes will overlap.

As always, I planned way more than I could finish. However, I feel like I've got a somewhat complete game here and I'm happy with what I accomplished. I also developed a much better relationship with blender in the process.

Edit: I added in MAC and Linux builds, but I have not tested them. I don't even have a MAC so.. good luck there!

BUG: The menus do not work if you are playing on a stretched full screen resolution, ie 1024x768 full screen on a 1080p monitor. Play in windowed mode or your proper resolution to fix. (also surprised that's happening... just using unity's default buttons)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#78Mood3.76
#120Graphics3.93
#128Overall3.68
#155Audio3.43
#259Fun3.33
#291Theme3.67
#381Innovation3.14
#468Humor2.69

Comments

oxysoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:13am

totally did not expect the end, the feels man...

The little illustrations were fun to look at and the scenery was nice. The color choice was especially good I think.

Not a super fun game as it stands but I think it was very worth it just for the end

psyduckfreak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:43am

Spoiler (did she catch the thing he had a family (;-;))

Emi says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Them some cute monsters :v This is awesome!

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Really fluid animations , I like the little illustrations between levels

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18pm

This game is so cute, loved the art

uvwar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Really good! Reminded me a little of Cubivore or something at first.

Kaltic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Loved illustrations for the story bits and the movement of the grass. The game looked great!

thomz12 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Plays really smooth, nice game!

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Nicely made game, well done

Arnage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Simple game, but the story adds a lot and makes the whole thing much more memorable.

You made me care for a blocky abomination that slaughters wildlife, well done.

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Hahaha, that ending, brilliant! I love the animation, pouncing feels really satisfying. The camera can be a bit wonky when moving though, and it's not very clear if you're dealing damage to the dogs until they die. I had fun with it though, would love to see it expanded into something like Tokyo Jungle. Great work!

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:45pm

The illustrations and animation were great!
The story really sold it to me.

daveh says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:30am

Did I just get captured in a Pokéball? :-O

I loved playing this. It's just so charming! The art-style is beautiful and evocative. Your background music really sets the mood. The attack animation was playful and that made me care about the monster even though he was an indiscriminate killer. Just about everything was adorable. Feels, so many feels.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Animations are really smooth and the graphical style is very nice. Gameplay is fluid with nice relaxing music. Nice job.

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Great game all-around! I love the mood of the music, and the beautiful simplicity of the scenery. The gameplay and cutscenes keep you interested through the end, and the difficulty scales nicely. Great job. :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:11am

The ending is so sad.
The technical level of the game is really good.
The controls, the tutorials and the progression felt very good.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Thanks everyone! It looks like my attempt to envoke feels paid off! I do wish I had spent a bit more time on the gameplay though. (Yes, you are caught at the end for anyone that wasn't sure)

kerotan24 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:55pm

That ending man...

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Really nice atmosphere, great music, and I love the grass. Gameplay got a little repetitive, but still, nice game :)

amras0000 says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:51am

Holy christ man, I nearly fell out of my chair there.
Spent like 10 minutes trying to catch the running bastards, even managed to kill 2 of them, but after that they didn't die even when I landed right on top of them. So I travelled to the right and nearly ruined my undergarments. Not entirely sure what the ending was all about (PoKeMoN reference? I don't know much about the series but the reference to a "trainer" tipped me off), but it terrified me.

Also, the music was very nice at first but it very quickly got frustrating. And the pacing was very slow, the gameplay did feel fairly repetitive and took longer than neccessary.

Overall, a fun game.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:45am

Reminded me a lot of Tokyo Jungle :D

arzi says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Strangely relaxing.

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:42pm

I played till the end. Not sure how does it fit to the theme, and I also unsure about the final... mine is very sad but I hope there are different one. Camera movement can e improved I guess. I like the sound and the story based gameplay.

Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:25am

I didn't sign up for these feels! But brilliant game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]