Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Mammoth: A Cave Painting

by inbetweengames - Jam Entry

In The Mammoth: A Cave Painting you tell the 5 million year story of the mammoth in 5 minutes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Mood(Jam)4.52
#17Overall(Jam)4.24
#30Audio(Jam)4.16
#31Graphics(Jam)4.59
#62Innovation(Jam)3.87
#165Theme(Jam)3.92
#180Fun(Jam)3.56

Comments

Chadivision says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:17am

I love everything about this! The overall mood is awesome, the graphics are great, and I love how the story unfolds as you play. Just a great game all around. Very nicely done!

bwpdsigns says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:19am

Awesome game, I loved the idea and the art style

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:27am

Really nice graphics! The audio was a little echoing but the narration was nice.

lgbpaiva says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:21am

Awesome game, awesome mood, awesome graphics, congratulations!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:22am

Well done, guys!

bitsandcrafts says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:31am

nice piece of art

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:07am

overall very authentic. really liked what you did with the given theme.

Lady Beardo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:58am

Love it. But I was so sad when I lost one! ;_;

schnabrina says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Awesome game!

punkarre says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Really really liked it, awesome job <3

Jargo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:24pm

wonderful, i really like the mood,athmosphere and whole story arc. great work

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:26pm

This game is among one of the best LD games I've ever played. Good job. Very polished. However my littlest Mammoth could of got it's **** together.

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Wow, what a game, very sad at the end

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Well done! The mood is perfect.

reiknight says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:02pm

That was brilliant! :D I loved every aspect of your game nice work guys!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:12pm

The mood, story and graphics are awesome.
The colliders were a bit too big though.

hwangroman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Well done, guys!

conormn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Excellent entry and take on the theme. Really well done.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Very well done game. As I've discovered I love sad games, this was a perfect fit for me. In some locations I must have run a little further than expected so the hunters were spawning from right under my body, which was a bit odd. Other than that, it was a very good entry.

mar3k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Lovely game, great music and graphics, only thing that bothered me sometimes was the rendering order. But I finished the game, well as a mammoth widow :D Well done guys!

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Bloomin' perfect! <3

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Mood and art are fab, nice one guys!

danialias says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Great mood, elegant art and touching way of telling a sad story! Although I guess it's a design decision, it was not easy to move around with the mammoth. Maybe a bit frustrating on that side, but overall a superb game. Congratulations!

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Those graphics are amazing! :D Audio could have used some work (the narration was a little quiet), but I enjoyed that. Sad ending too.

freaknarf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Nice game ! I'll probably try later to see if i can end it differently...
Good concept on design, great storytelling!
The game is a bit slow, but as a Mammoth i guess this fits :)
Good and artsy!

scorched says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Very solid game, congratulations!

General says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Great storytelling! Together with art and gameplay!

Here're my video reviews: http://youtu.be/AkOdas_qL9A
Your game is at 42:22

echokain says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Really beautiful little game, but so sad! It should come with a warning. The audio and narration is lovely too.

Rani_Sputnik says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Damnm, liked it very muchly! The children kept getting stuck on things and sometimes I didn't feel like I had a lot of control over the mammoth, but man the mood and story were really well put together. Great game!

cbstegeman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:36pm

A little slow, but I appreciate the languid speed necessary to tell the story. It fits with the music and visuals. It's all tied together very well, and you nailed the cave painting vibe.

Hvedrung says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:17am

"The Mammoth was mother no more"

Oh my god that was so depressing! I don't think I was the monster here though, I only cared for my progeny. But weren't the Hunters protecting their children too when they were hunting instead of watching their beloved die from hunger?

Is there really anyone to blame, is there any monster or is the world itself the merciless beast? The story of the Mammoth and the Hunters repeated several times in the past and will happen again, perpetuating the neverending suffering... but I can't help to wonder, and I cling to that though as it is my last glitter of hope, is there a way to spare one mammoth child and make the herd anew?

On a more positive note, that was the best entry I came across yet, the art is beautiful and well-thought, and the narration and music add a really nice touch. I really loved the game and its atmosphere, great job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:16am

Wow! That's super beautiful, the mood, the style just everything was lovely. Super awesome game this is, very well done!

MoreRPG Team says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:14am

Great and sad experience

Alexbrainbox says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:26pm

This game man, got annoyed by my slow moving child, ended up abandoning it and it was murdered by the hunters! The art style of the game is AMAZING! it rare to play a Ludum game with actual voice overs!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Wow, an amazing experience, that you have created! Very solemn.

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:56pm

everything was was good. Not very fun but very interesting

careless says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Why did the little one have to die! Great story, fitting music and nicely narrated.

Art style and animations was great. Well done

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Really excellent, I loved the cave painting style and the narration, especially when the mammoth lost all her children. Excellent work. Simple and effective.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Really liked the art style and the Bastion-esque dynamic narration in this plus it was absolutely fun demolishing the villages in revenge :)

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Really good atmosphere, story, art... The narration adds a nice touch to it. I enjoyed the experience, congrats!

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Very well done this is awesome.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Fantastic game, I loved the art style, and I'm truly upset that the horrible hunters did what they did :( Nicely done!

Galvesmash says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:31pm

This game is amazing, the art style is gorgeous, the sound is so creative and the story makes me sad...

The only problem is that I (as the mammoth) am not a monster... the monsters are the bad humans who killed my kids!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:51pm

So cool! Great story telling. I really felt the pain watching my children die. I had to get revenge on the hunters. Art was fantastic. Audio was great. Voice acting added a nice effect.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Wow, that was quite impressive. The visuals are just beautiful, very nice style. The audio fits this well and together with the very sad and well written story it really sets the mood. Gameplay was solid, a little slow, but it fit the rest of the game well. I felt like I could've maybe saved at least one of the little ones by being a bit more careful when running into the village and protecting them with my own body, maybe I'll try again later. One small bug I noticed: At the bottom of the screen, the sprites of the trees disappear before they're out of sight.
Overall, I enjoyed this sad little story quite a bit.

superfreak says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:17am

LOVED the use of archaeological material and the intricate way in which the story was interwoven with the players actions. Really impressive entry - one of my faves for sure!

vitorlanna says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:01am

I wasn't able to play the game, I think it was due to them being for 64-bit computers =/

CtrlAltTea says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:30am

Wow, it's really amazing! I loved the art style, music and the way the story is told. Great job!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:00am

I actually was discussing a cave-painting story game something like this when deciding what to do for the Jam. Crazy! I appreciated the interactive storytelling direction you went in, the narration, the art style, all of it. Excellent work!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:11am

This is very good! Great artwork and super cool dynamic store elements as you progress.

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:35am

Really loved the sad story for this although I don't see how the mammoth was a monster in this case. Regardless, still an awesome game.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:04am

Fantastic game. I love games that look hand-painted or drawn. The mood, audio and ideas are all wonderful!

fistmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:23am

Wow, this is one of the best entries I've seen so far! Wonderful artwork and narration. Everything fit together well, and it was still challenging. Great entry!

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:14pm

What a nice game!!! Starting with the art style that we don't often see something like this!
The story as well is very nice too!
Congratulations
One of the top 5 of this jam for sure hehe

steve says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:16pm

ctrl bad idea when combined with w :)

steve says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Wonderful art, loved it, kept pressing ctrl+w by accident and closing the game window though!

steve says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Whoops, posted my notes my accident, can't delete them now sorry!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:04pm

No worries! Thanks for allowing us to pick your brain. :)

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Fantastic storytelling, A+ guys

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Amazing looking game with a more amazing message! Awesome job, would love to see a post-LD "extended" version.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Poetic and touching! A story of loss and wrath and loss.
The fact that the children respond to the mother's calls made losing them in the end hit so much harder emotionally.
Masterful interactive storytelling!

DuzDuz says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Very good graphics, This game is so sad!

jofra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:39pm

One of the best storytelling games if seen. Pulls you right to game strory. A 5star game for me ! awesome

MrTwister says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Awesome game!
Loved the narration, the BGM and the graphics.
SFXs and collisions/layering could be improved.

It's an incredibly well made game though, and one of the most polished entries I've seen so far. Great work guys!

Antokolos says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Good game, thanks! Still hope that happy end can be achieved somehow...
Graphics, story and mood are awesome!

Lynx says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:06am

One of the most mood inspired games I've ever had the grateful opportunity to pay in a Ludum Dare compo! Nothing I could say or suggest could add any impact or polish needed for this narrative and complete winner of an entry. Well done! Well done!

silentlamb says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:31am

I love everything about your game! It's my favourite LD33 entry so far. It has everything; great graphics style, awesome story telling, trunks, tails and fur. And murderer!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:07am

Definitely wins in the mood category, carries it in fact. Wanting to follow the story pushed me to finish. Very unique! Would love to see more games of this sort.

dregamr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:12am

What a sad story, but I loved it!!
The artwork es really good, and the game is unexpected.
Congratulations for your work!! Anthanks, I've had a nice play!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:40am

So amazing! I love it for every part :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:43am

Just beautiful - the sound effects could use some variation, but other than that, it's really good..

Ithildin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:44am

So beautiful! The art style and audio were really fitting, and I loved the story as well.

Amazing entry, congrats! :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:09am

Your game is verry artistic and the narration is done well.
But the controlls are really awkward to use on mac which has only one controll key.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:19am

That was nice and polished, although really really sad! Enjoyed the way storytelling was integrated into gameplay

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:34am

The only thing I don't like is that it makes me sad. Great entry.

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:51am

The art looks very well done! That, along with the great narrative and music set the atmosphere really nicely. Kinda sad that I couldn't save anyone. Great job on this!

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:13pm

cool graphics. Less fun because some bugs in the collisions. But good narration!

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Oh man, this is so good, right in the feels. I love everything about it. So simple, yet superbly delivered. Brilliant work.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Awesome work. The narration and the audio fit the graphics perfectly. An interesting take on the theme, I loved it!

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Excellent game and unified concept throughout. Wonderful take on the theme and art style. It really plays on your emotions from start to finish. Nice work!

m3_on says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:28pm

This is the best jam game I've played. The art is amazing, the mood and story...wow! Very, very impressive!!! Awesome job!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Very cathartic to smash up the hunters' village at the end...though I lost my last baby mammoth in the process. Point made, I suppose?

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Very good and polished game! Great take on the theme!

Matzigon says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Nice graphics and mood. Good job!
I knew people love the old school graphics but this is really old. :D

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:12am

Great empathic approach. Just a few tweaks on the audio side to really have it sing. Nice work!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:27am

Dang - game won't run on my laptop (even we version says it needs more memory) but it looks awesome so I'll check it on my desktop when I get chance later!

barigorokarl says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:59am

Awesome. Deep and full of nice ideas! Really, really hit me!

Atridas says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:39am

Nice, nice, nice.

Absolutely loved the "narration" style you took. The story was catchy and very original on the theme.

Art style & sound "design" worked very well even thought some details could be improved (animations come to mind).

Great entry overall.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:50am

Isaac, Jan, Daniel, Rafal, you rock!

vikpek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Really awesome game and especially the graphics!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:05pm

This is great!
I loved the narration and the gameplay.
I'm feeling a little sad about the poor mammoths story :c
Btw the mood is so deep and the video so great that I have to leave 5 stars, Well done!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:06pm

The narration is nice! I liked it! Great job guys!

Beau Lamb says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Great game :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Hard to say if you're the monster or the hunters. I guess, in the end no-one really is, they're all just trying to survive

Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:48pm

This is an amazing entry. The art style and voice over is perfect. Awesome job.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:37am

Great idea! Love the art style and the gameplay really makes you care about your little ones :D

Movement could do with a bit of work and not sure how accurate those mammoth sounds are ;)

Overall an excellent entry though.

pereubu says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:36am

Great, there's a lot of Shelter's vibe in it :>

Patomkin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:58am

Seems to be inspired by the mammoth paintings from Ice Age ;)

Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Hey everybody - thanks for all your comments! I wrote a little thing about the question who the monster is at all in our game including some of the comments made here. Please have a look: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=56968

Cheers,
David

SojaBird says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Wow that mood and art is amazing!
Simple gameplay and a deep theme sweet! Cool cool nice naration!

ZYXer says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:53pm

This game is gorgeous! And with a really sad story.

One of the best LD games I've ever seen!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Correct link to the previously mentioned blog post:

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/08/31/so-whos-the-monster-in-the-mammoth-anyway/

Also thanks again all for the kind comments! :)

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Probably one of the best entry of this ludum dare. You have done a REALLY great job with the mood. Overall it's an outstanding game. Congrats!

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:36pm

The idea is very original and the art style is awesome. The music is repetitive but the narration is nice. Good job!

Zeriver says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:45pm

When i got to the village i lost only one child, so in process of avenging my child i lost my two other children. I guess game created for me a bit different story with a bit different moral.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Pssst - you have been featured on todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qg4MzGbqQ9I

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:09pm

This was really cool, looked great and sounded neat!

SpringCabal says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Great story telling.

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Wow ! Really nice... and sad :)

Good work !

UncleChris says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:51pm

This is a really awesome story, and loved everything about it. The way it explained little by little, the built in "tutorial" and how the story was woven into it. LOVE this game.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Super cute graphics! I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/CvW_HEqR1oI

faemir says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:03am

Absolutely fantastic - the best LD game I've seen in absolutely ages. I adored the brush-work graphics and the audio was spot on too.

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:00am

Beautiful! Just perfect! Congratz!! Well, if I was to nitpick, you can hear white noise on the narrator's audio, I would suggest the use of a noise filter xp
(Oh it reminds me of Shelter~)

Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Yeah noise filter would have been good. Realized too late and then there was no more time unfortunately. Next time we'll do it right the first time. ;)

shawn42 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Wow. Great interactive story telling.

Miltage says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:01pm

This game made my sister cry.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Excellent work.

Derek Rumpler says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Really fun game. I like how the story dynamically changes based on your play (kind of like Bastion). You should expand it a bit and publish it!

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:22pm

What an emotional game, my tears falling down. Congrats, this is a super game!

wavertron says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Wow great. Less "game" and more interactive story, but still fantastic.

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very unique style of storytelling and visual style. I think you need either better keybinds or to properly capture input - my browser kept trying to add bookmarks whenever I hit ctrl. Apart from that I really loved this game - well done!

allinlabs says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Incredible narrative game

Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:04am

Thanks again for the kind comments everyone. We definitely focused more on the experience part of it starting with day 2. So some things are still a bit rough in places.
If we do a post-jam version we will take the feedback on board and make sure to circumvent the CTRL key issue somehow. ;)

Sanju says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Original entry. Loved the graphics and the story-driven game. Good work.

Hjalte500 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:22pm

I like the artstyle. Making a game that is a cave painting is must have been everyones fantasy at some point so congratulations on actually executing that with a story to match. Great game!

glerikud says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Absolutely beautiful graphics, and nice idea for a monster story. Definitely one of the best I found so far! We thought of doing a narration too, but we didn't have anyone with such a great voice for the setting. Playing this really makes me think how much narration can help the immersion.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Very strong entry! Everything was great!

zenmumbler says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:25pm

I hope you all have overcome your own grief by making this game. It was good. Not pleasant, but good. Nice drawn style and even narration. Well done.

Yamzho says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Just perfect.

Larzan says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:15am

Beautiful and sad and true. Great job. Love it.

Shaun LeBron says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:59pm

art was magnificent. the makeshift elephant noises really hurt the experience, but everything else was top notch.

Arnage says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Wow.

jwin says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Awesome storytelling, way to make something really unique with the theme!

rogberth says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Great entry, congrats!

ehtd says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Really liked your game, on mac it wasn't running well, but played later on Android. Great job.

oakus says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:07am

The concept of telling the story was interesting. For me the prehistoric theme did not really fit to this Ludum dare theme. Graphic design and the story teler together created nice feeling.

cyrixd says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:45am

Excellent work. Told a very strong, realistic and morally ambiguous story in a powerful way. Great use of theme and really nice mood created. I was desperate to keep the children safe.

disperse says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:28am

Perfect. The graphics, audio, and mood were amazing. Is it possible to protect the baby mammoths?

Techblogogy says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 5:17am

This is on hell of a game! Great job!

Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:52am

Love the mood. There's a lot of really great things about this as far as feel, such as the slight flickering on the walls and the minimal drum beating.

I also hesitate to call the experience fun?

OnlySlightly says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:53am

Beautiful game. I love how well you were able to set the tone and mood by making it appear like this was all written on a cave wall painting. The flickering of the fire on the wall was a great touch. The voice acting and story telling was great. I'm really impressed with how well you were able to tell the story with such simple mechanics.

nassi says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Feels somewhat reminiscent of Shelter. Really loved the mood of the game and I'm not ashamed to admit that I got misty eyed at the end. I couldn't save any of my children no matter how hard I tried. Both the aesthetic and the gameplay work brilliantly to conjure a mood like no other.

The fun-category doesn't really do justice to this entry, but I enjoyed the experience so I guess it was... fun? Read the "So who's the Monster in The Mammoth anyway?"-post and in my opinion it's either that we are all monsters or that none of us are, it's just a matter of perspective.

mickanio says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Very nice work.

los.pixelados says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 5:44pm

A very artistic yet sad game. I wish there was a way to save the little ones, but i suppose, just like life, bad things happen even if you don;t want them to. I really like the art style and the mood of the game, but i really don't see how it fits the theme of LD33. I can't see the Mammoth as a monster because she was just trying to protect her young ones. The hunters are not monsters either as they are trying to feed their families...
A very good entry and a deep philosophical quandry. Reminds me of the game "ImorTall" on Kongregate.

Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:45pm

I loved this! The Art, the story, so sad yet so wonderfully done. Very well done.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:11am

Very good game! Nice graphics, nice story. Well done!

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:37am

Excellent artwork and aesthetic, it really set the mood. Loved the story too, great work!

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:41am

All-around good game. Would've liked a slightly lower difficulty so it'd be more possible to have at least one surviving child, and the controls were a little wonky, but still fun!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:53am

Thought it was a thoroughly well-packaged game. The narrative wasn't too heavy-handed, and it evolved well with the gameplay. Was a bit disappointed that the number of children alive at the end had no effect on the ending.

Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Very stylish. The art direction is something I've never seen in games, but I don't imagine nearthentals drawing about the CTRL key :p

RiaDelva says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Very nice game!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Really nice art style and core idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]