Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Alice & August: A Love Story

by nic - Compo Entry

|| DESCRIPTION ||
find alice.

|| CONTROLS ||
wasd / arrows to move
e to advance text

|| NOTES ||
keep the theme in mind while playing.

my first LD game and first ever game from scratch.
it was a mad dash to familiarize myself with lua and figure out
what resources were available for what I wanted to complete.

went for a gameboy classic kind of feel... minus the black background. oops!
it turned out almost exactly as I wanted, with less polish than I
wanted, of course :)

didn't want to fuss around too much with game mechanics since this is
a whole new world for me - so I went with a "story-driven" approach.
hopefully it wasn't a story borne totally of sleep deprivation and lack
of creativity.

my apologies for the programmer art!

would not have been possible without the help of the brilliant authors of
a couple libraries I used. you guys made this 48 hours much less of a hell
than it could have been!

|| LIBRARIES USED ||
sti: https://github.com/karai17/Simple-Tiled-Implementation
navi: https://love2d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9265

|| KNOWN ISSUES ||
- gridlocked movement would be better
- animations for august... although, it probably fits the story better w/o
- sometimes get stuck on edge of wall? experience this behavior in debug,
when testing release version seemed to be ok
- post more on github page issue tracker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Mood4.00
#572Overall3.00
#638Theme3.11
#748Innovation2.53
#839Fun2.38
#2092Coolness22%

Comments

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:17am

Moody, well written. Simply brilliant. Only complaint is that it was so maze like. I felt I might have gone out of order as well.

Vem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:32pm

There was not enough in the game motivating me to finish, basically.

There were multiple segments where I couldn't tell if I was moving forward or the game had frozen.

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:35pm

I'd like the walking speed higher are the hallways shorter. Seems interesting but this maze is even more disorienting than the one in my entry ;)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Enjoyed it, but similarly I think I'd have preferred a wider viewing angle and a less mazelike- perhaps more linear layout. Also, pity you have Audio deselected for rating - it's repetitive, but does aid the mood quite well.

wesley werner says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:57am

It reminds me of walking through the maze of one's mind, passing memories on the way. This is a great concept, the movement speed is a bit slow for those long long hallways.

Glad to see another game made in love! It makes me curious to use love too :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:30am

I loved the gameboy look of the game (minus the background of course) however when I was walking down a long hall I couldn't tell if I was moving or not. I didn't get to the end cuz mazes make me go insane and the music was creepy :P however, I enjoyed the mood of the game, character animations may have been a nice touch but maybe the lack of animation was intentional, I enjoyed it otherwise and would love to play a post-LD build of some sort. Well done! :)

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:29am

The lack of animations made the long straight corridors very anxious. I actually liked this effect a lot, when paired with the music. At first I thought the maze was not respectful of my time, lacking any real mark of progress or milestones. At a certain point I realized that this must be intentional: the protagonist's existential crisis is mirrored by the player's own frustration at having to make their own meaning, despite the implicit promise the video game makes with us. I think a lot of the comments you've received about walking speed are motivated by this. Once the player realizes that the only feedback the game gives them is the rooms, she only wants to see more rooms and more quickly. I'm glad you made this, and I'm glad I had the patience for it! ^o^//

PS are there endings? I didn't find any. Do you have a twitter account, I would like to tweet at you.

PPS you should have opted out of the Fun category, but not the Graphics category, in my honest opinion. I rated this quite highly.

Karai17 says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 12:35am

Cool, you used my library! :D

xvw says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:41am

A very super nice game !
Lve your write style !

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:31am

I like the mood of it a lot! I think the lack of animation in the game as a whole was a very nice choice as walking down a huge hallway felt quite unsettling. The story seemed compelling and as a mood piece it felt great. Unlike some of the other commentors I didn't mind the walking speed or the long hallways, I just wished it was a more liniar piece. I also thought the movement was quite clunky as sometiems he would akwardly stop for what seemed to be no reason. The friction he had also didn't feel very smooth. Those are nitpicks, however. I loved it as a mood piece! The music was nice and atmospheric too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]