Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Eternal Rest

by Matzigon - Jam Entry

A game about reverse dungeoneering. You play as a ghost and you have to destroy the invading heroes, warriors, rogues, clerics, and wizards.
You have to separate the group of adventurers to win. Lure them with treasure, or kill them with traps. Or just hack and shoot them as usual.

All that in charmingly simple pixel art mixed with 3D violence.

Controls:
=========
WASD - Movement
Mouse - Aim
Mouse Left button - Melee attack (heals you)
Mouse Right button - Shoot
1 - Place trap (rogues can disable them, otherwise deadly)
2 - Place treasure
Space - Turn invisible for a time

Enemies:
========
Warrior - melee fighter
Rogue - mele fighter, able to turn invisible
Wizard - shoots seeking missile
Cleric - shoots and casts magic sigils (AoE + slow)

/Enemies unlocked over the first 6 levels/

This is my (our) first LD. We are a team of two, a graphics artist and me. The audio is collected from various places, those are not our work, but free to use materials.

This is my first ever game made in unity (I'm a c++ programmer btw), and the first "finished" hobby project in a long time. It feels great! Great and sleepy. :)

Linux and osx builds are NOT tested. Please take it into account when rating based on those.

Bugfixes after deadline:
* Cosmetic changes on opponents reaching the crypt
* Permanent invisibility bug removed
* Falling out of the map bug fixed

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#159Graphics(Jam)4.14
#226Audio(Jam)3.47
#302Mood(Jam)3.42
#359Overall(Jam)3.41
#488Theme(Jam)3.51
#563Fun(Jam)3.00
#832Innovation(Jam)2.61
#882Humor(Jam)2.00

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:30am

Great graphics.
Your game is a bit repetitive, though.
When I turned invisible, I never became visible again.

Matzigon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:39am

Ups... the perma invisibility is a development cheat. I'll fix it today.

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:26am

Great game, very solid and complete for just doing it in 72 hours. Well done!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Awesome. The graphics were incredible and the content was great. It was well balanced and fun to play. Nice work.

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:05pm

This was a ton of fun. I felt really fragile, but then when I saw large groups of fighters I would just run in and count on the life regen to carry me through it.

I would have liked to have a minimap or an enemy indicator to know where the enemy was. It is hard to make the decision about where to place traps and if you need to stick around your coffin when you don't know anything about the level or where the enemies are.

Great job!

GertJohnny says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Great graphics. I thought the characters that ended up being rogues were bugged at first. Not being able to see even a hint of the enemy was a bit confusing.

superfreak says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Levels could have used a tiny bit more variation but impressive scale and great overall feel to the game! Really enjoyed it :)

taaboo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:23pm

What other say is true. The gameplay side lacks diversity. However the graphics and animations are amazing.

Sypanite says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:09pm

I rather enjoyed this. I've seen this take on the theme quite a few times, but the game is interesting (I enjoyed tactically placing traps and appearing out of nowhere) and the graphics/audio are great.

Where did the world models come from? Are they yours, or are they from a public 3D tileset? I'd love to use them myself!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:01pm

5/5 for graphics good audio was that from dota ? or smth xDD
good game good job D:

Matzigon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Thanks everyone. :)

@Sypanite: The graphics is entirely the work of my artist friend. You can get the meshes and textures in the source repo. Feel free to use it, just don't sell it as yours. :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Really great entry, loved the art. Well done. :)

Reallysketchy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Great graphics and it was really smart to have the enemies carrying torches, so you can see where they are. One problem I ran into was that the enemies kept getting stuck around corners, but otherwise, great game!

spindizzyMR says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Nice graphics and music.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:04am

Not bad. It gives me the Diablo vibe. Keep it up!

Druid says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Amazing graphics! 5 for that. But gameplay stat to be little boring after few levels. There is no progress. But stil one of better entries!

Matzigon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:29pm

@Druid: Different enemies unlocked up to the 6th level. It changes the gameplay quite a bit. Especially when there are more special enemies.

Goutye says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:00pm

That was quite funny, until I started to go further in the game by testing every level. The enemies spawn every time in one location as a group, so you have to find them, and kit them. So finally, you are using just one room of the dungeon, and the other are pure decoration.
I hope a post-LD version of this will be able a day because there is a real potential, but you have to re-think the spawn of the ennemies maybe x) Good job!

justthestudio says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Game has very nice graphics and cool, smooth animation. It's a little repetetive though, and gameplay is little clunky, though. But I believe that future versions will be more polished :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Awesome entry overall ! It was really fun, the presentation is great and I don't really have more to say. Take a great score, sir !

jofra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Levels could have more variation :s but a good game!

Datamosh says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:45pm

I liked the atmosphere, the gameplay is somewhat repetitive but kept me hooked

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:40pm

It doesn't seem like you made good use of your random dungeon generation.

The idea was interesting, kind of action-oriented Dungeon Keeper it seemed, but lacking in challenge or variation. Still, quite well made and a good bit of fun.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:23am

Nice graphics and animations. The mechanic is very solid, but seems to be missing some feedback from the attacks. Not about the hit, but the range of the attack. Maybe a trail in front of the character following the attack, with the size of range, would improve.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:42am

This is pretty great, especially for a 72 hour project. I read your Postmortem, and can relate on wishing you had more time to get all the things you wanted in, but there's plenty to be proud of here. Good job!

weirdway says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Game looks and feels great. Really liked the layout of the maps, loved finding routes around clumps of enemies and planting traps. Well done!

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Really good graphics and sound for the timeline! Varied abilities and spells, as well as different enemy types. Good stuff!

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:07am

Nice entry. I don t know if the dungeon are procedurally generated but if that s the case very good. Controls are a bit laggy, and AI is not so strong but in general there is a good atmosphere. For the invisibility I would change the model or add a shader effect to it because just make the player invisible make things difficult also fro you playing.

Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:04am

Good graphics.Got a bit repetitive really quick but i like the concept. Good job

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Impressive graphics, solid gameplay - well done!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 11:43am

well done!
i liked the concept and loved to dezoom and zoom, the magic, invisibilty and the melee attack are well executed :)
Overall i enjoyed it a lot actually, well done to you guys!

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Oh I did play this and didn't rate??? Well, I don't even need to play it again to do so, cause I still remember this game very well. Loved the graphics, loved the game play and take on it. Many of our monsters is just some guy painted green, this one actually had a monster!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]