Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Don't be hunted

by afisicos - Jam Entry

Don't be hunted is a game where you are a monster and some humans wants to kill you.
Your mission is to get into their houses avoiding their traps and spears.

If you pass a level (Get into the house), you win 5 points.
If you eat the old man, you win 2 points extra.

Controls are keyboard arrows, and R to restart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#183Innovation(Jam)3.48
#251Fun(Jam)3.45
#319Graphics(Jam)3.81
#449Overall(Jam)3.29
#469Audio(Jam)2.94
#696Mood(Jam)2.88
#720Humor(Jam)2.41
#778Theme(Jam)3.10
#1796Coolness35%

Comments

folex70 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:28pm

very interesting. the sistem for randomize levels its amazing. good work! Congratulations.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:16pm

The stage generation sound is EARGASMIC. Cool game but quite hard

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Really nice level generation, couldn't figure out how to get points

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:39am

Did not expect the spear chucking. Very pretty.

DMinsky says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:50pm

nice artstyle!

Lonely Vertex says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Very nice game, enjoyable, cool level load animation and overall aesthetics :)

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:00am

The art style is very nice,Amazing!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:43am

The system for randomized levels is amazing, but I struggle hard so as to move my avatar. I think that the commands are a little bit awkward. However it's an interesting project. Thank you for your contribution ++

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Level spawning is really cool. It seemed easier as the levels got higher. More room to run around and get your bearings before being attacked I suppose. Good submission!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Love the level build-up animation and pretty cool water shader. Nice and uncommon art style. Great submission! Thank you! :)

el-pepi says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Very good graphics, I liked the level generating animation, I don't like the sound it makes tho.
Also, you can win right after you die.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]