Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Aliensche!

by HiVE interactive - Compo Entry

Aliensche! is HiVE interactive’s entry into Ludum Dare Jam #33.
Collect cows and avoid projectiles as an invading alien in an unidentified craft!

As an extra terrestrial, you are obviously fascinated by Earth’s bovine inhabitants. Your mission is to collect super cute cow specimens for your research requirements by delivering them to them to the mother ship. However, the Cow Defense Forces have been mobilized! You will need to catch cows while avoiding their attacks so you will have to keep mooooooving. Remember, if you are in trouble you can utilize your advanced cow collecting technology as a weapon against the defenders - pick them up and throw them down hard, or grab their missiles and send them back!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LD#33 compo version is above, play the post-jam version using the links below.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks everyone for your awesome feedback and constructive criticism. I have tried to implement nearly every single recommended change into the post-jam version, I couldn't have done it without all of you!

<3
Until next time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#99Fun3.69
#182Audio3.35
#197Overall3.52
#258Graphics3.49
#294Humor3.11
#400Mood3.09
#553Theme3.26
#565Innovation2.84

Comments

Cynapse says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:11am

Love the aesthetic and music :)

EwChap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:12am

Very well put together game. Clean flying mechanics. Lots of fun. Love the music too.

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:15am

Fun game! Great job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:30am

Great Job!

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:37am

Fun and quirky feel to the game. This made me smile. Well done!

DarkStar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:39am

Woo that was fun! great job! would love to play this with some more types of enemies and a faster spawn rate. great controls and smooth gameplay

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:53am

@DarkStar - if you can keep alive for long enough, things start to spawn crazy fast ;)

TerinHD says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:25am

Awesome controls. Good job!

wavertron says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:28am

Pretty cool. Nice graphics and audio matches well. Outside of a jam, this could really be expanded into a bigger game (ie variety of enemies etc). Great job.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:30am

Thanks people :) Interested in seeing what scores people are getting, post em' if you got em'.

My highest so far is 12,250 >.< so many rockets!

dvdking says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:58am

Nice game with good execution.

I kind of reached the situation when not enoungh enemies were on the screen. So the game became boring at that point and I had to quit.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:02am

@dvdking - I didn't want it to start out too hard :( Like I said to DarkStar, if you stay alive long enough it gets crazy. Having said this, I will have to fix spawn rates early on :)

celsyum says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:26am

good job

lanza says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:30am

Very well done, and very fun too. Good job

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:36am

Good job.

celisoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:46am

Wow ! Love the gameplay and the concept !! Good SFX and graphics.

steve says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:46am

Fun game! My best was 6200, I improved massively after I realised I didn't have to trek down to the bottom of the screen to grab people! I wanted to use the cows as missile shields ;)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:08pm

@steve hehehe use them skill tester techniques! ;) Such a good idea about the cow shields btw. Your entry was super moody btw, enjoyed the true love ending <3

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Simple and fun

rattower says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Very nice soundtrack.

Jeasonfire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:17pm

I liked the graphics and the UI. The game also handled very well. (Though mouse support would've been good ;))

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Easily the best out of all 'UFO abduct' games I've played today. great job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:58pm

@ Jeasonfire - Yeah, while I was working on it my girlfriend came in the room and mentioned I should try making it control with the mouse, but at the time I was too tired and was just like 'MEH'.. but I really like the idea of an Alien pointer hehehe :) Might have a go after the jam. Thanks people! <3

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Nice Music!

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:01am

Love the look and feel of this game, the claw grabbing and dropping is very satisfying.

Patacorow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:16am

Cute and well done
made me giggle :)

KerryGamer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:59am

Love the cows!!! Love the concept, very well thought out game. Music was great as well. Well done in the time allowed .

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:34pm

First thing I wanted to do was be able to pick up a soldier and position them in the air to get hit by their own missile! Fun game though :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Very smooth to play, addictive and professional looking. Good job across the board.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:36pm

@Random Seed Games - that is a great idea! Might try implementing that and using cows as meat shields in a future version! :) Thanks for the feedback

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Amazing development value, if it wasn't a space game the theme rating would be much higher from my point of view.

Rongefilet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Graphics, audio, controls, gameplay, everything is extremely solid, your game is so cool ! ^^

Legulysse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Hahah really funny :P !

bumbu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Very nice game. I like it overall as it is simple and engaging. Though I would make it harder faster. Up to 4000 points (from my second game) is was quite boring, only then there was some action and challenge.

Tortoise says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Nice, had fun playing this one. music on the menu screen got a bit grating. Liked the art and gameplay.

Sanka.X says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Very nice game, love the retro vibes.
I think it lack of an 'ending sutation' like a huge wave of soldier or or something that can one shot you

By the way, how did you do the music, I love It !

Infininete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Awesome graphics and audio. However the gameplay is a bit simplistic and lacks any form of difficulty past dodging, though it fits to the theme pretty well. It's a fun game but I did see just a few bugs that occurred when picking up cows (their position was displaced by a good bit, making it impossible to bring it up to the UFO).

The only big complaint I have is that I'm a bit disappointed that I can't pick up the missiles and send them flying back to the enemy troops.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Very well put together

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Thanks to everyone for playing the game. I'm happy for the positive remarks and for the critical feedback!

@Fanatrick - Thanks dude, I think it could become something a lot more in the future. I guess you don't like space!?

@bumbu - I agree, I rushed the spawning logic and the tempo (difficulty curve) doesn't feel right yet... I'll work on this in the future! Time constraints are serious and I think I spent too long on the audio >.<

@Sanka.X - I honestly hadn't thought of that! Was going for something more infinite play / score challenge.. but boss spawns or massive waves could be really cool. I made the music using an LSDJ cartridge with my old Gameboy ((http://www.littlesounddj.com/lsd/) It was relaxing to take a break from coding by holding a DMG in my hands :)

@Infininete - Had a few other mechanics happening to increase the difficulty, but scrapped them for simplicity's sake in the end. Thanks for the bug spotting, I noticed that issue a few times during development, it seems hard to reproduce. I thought I fixed it but will look into it! By the way, grabbing missiles is an amazing idea dude... I was thinking of ways of giving the player a way of fighting back and that just might work perfectly! Thanks a lot for the idea.

Darkgoon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Nice and funny game.
It s a bit easy once you get the hang of it. You can just keep grabbing things e bringing them up (or letting them go if they are soldiers) before they can even realize they're alive

Coruja says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Love the game, so much fun =)

amy742 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Lots of fun!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Thanks guys <3

Chadivision says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Fun game, and very nicely polished. Good job.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:41am

I think the difficulty curve should ramp up quicker. For a good portion of the game there was only one or two cows/soldiers because of the rate I could dispose of them.
Good job with the music and art. Dropping the soldiers felt satisfying.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:48am

nice, those cows can take a fall!

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:32am

Solid entry, nice graphics, nice concept!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:02am

It took a while before things started getting real crazy but other than that, it was really fun! The controls were solid and the music was totally kicking. Loved it, great stuff!

congusbongus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:57am

High quality, I think everyone's said what I wanted to say :) good work

Chris M says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:10am

Fun arcade feel, didn't quite get why the cow tether would switch lengths as I flew around.

Caracole says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Love the music. The cows & militay could spawn just a bit faster, ended up with nothing in the screen ;)
Great job !

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Very simple and original game =)

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Great game overall. Nice flying. GREAT MUSIC by the way. Was very fun

adsilcott says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Very fun with good graphics!

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Very fun game. Nice graphics and concept. Good job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Clean flying mechanics and fun aesthetic. Controls are great. I want more. Thank you for this entry ++

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:14pm

I liked it! There's been a few alien abduction games on here, but this was my favorite. I felt like the claw wasn't as efficient as just swooping down and grabbing things, but that may just have been my play style.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Lol it's so addictive! Good mechanics, it was fun!

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:08am

Gameplay is really smooth and fun. The combination of everything just makes it really addictive and gives it a great feel. Good job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:45am

it's become too easy if i kill every soldier first. But great mechanic though!

RoboNebula says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:31pm

10/10 would abduct aliens again!

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Really, really cool!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:58am

Awesome! Really polished and solid. Super addicting.

guoboism says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:31am

Great job. The game is polished so well. Hooker thing nice. A cliche about the alien, cow and soldier. Nice game.

mubox says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Very good game! :D

Lynx says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:49am

Music is BEYOND amazing, sounds like Chipzel kinda quality there! The fact you made this with LSDJ in 48 hours is just even more amazing! Well done!

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:54am

Well-made game, decent fun, a bit slow to start, but the music is great!

Druid says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Simple but incredibly funny game! I really enjoyed it! Well.. There is nothing much to say. I love every aspect of this game. Good job!

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Fun, great gameplay, the particle effects on the missiles are going the wrong direction though. could use some mooing or shouting background sounds

Awesome job!

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:53pm

The graphics were very simple but worked well and the music was extremly fitting for this fast paced game. I love the concept of stealing cows and I found the idea of a twist on the grabber machine but with aliens very amusing. It was fun, simple and well presented. Great entry!

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:23am

Nice! Game handled well, simple graphics yet everything seemed to fit together. Quite a challenge and fun to play. Good one!

x1212 says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:20am

Great graphics and fun gameplay!

MAnimal says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:25am

Score 2775. Mising some goals and it will be fantastic challengeable game. Nice graphics, mood and sound.

Sparrow says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:47am

Well polished game, had a lot of fun. Would like to see more enemies and boss battle of some kind like others mentioned.

Literal Games says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Wasn't quite sure how to stop the missiles, but apart from that it was fun! Liked the graphics and simple mechanics!

Sep 16, 2015 @ 7:05am

Thanks everyone for your awesome feedback and constructive criticism. I have tried to implement nearly every single recommended change into the post-jam version, I couldn't have done it without all of you!

<3
Until next time!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]