Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Rage Against The Princess

by Leopoldine - Compo Entry

Rage Against The Princess

Objectif : Catch the princess.

How to play
Q or A : Move left
D : Move Rigth
S : Move Down (Don't forget that key !)
Space : Jump
R or Enter : Restart the current level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#700Fun2.68
#710Humor2.13
#806Mood2.33
#807Overall2.68
#814Theme2.67
#817Graphics2.32
#819Innovation2.32

Comments

klianc09 says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 5:53pm

This is really hard, the end of the second level just seems impossible. I enjoyed it, but I have some nit-picks that could be improved on ;)
Because of the instant respawn it's rather hard to press the move key at the right instant and therefore you lose a few meters at the start most of the time. Would be cool if it started only once I pressed a button.
Controlling the jump by having a fixed jump height and having to press another button to end the jump early seemed a bit unintuitive. Compared to the alternative of just having the jump height/duration depend on how long one holds down the jump key.
Jumping from platforms while they are falling down did not seem to work reliably, also "wall jumping" seemed more like a bug rather than a feature.
I hope it doesn't seem like I'm only complaining. I actually liked the level design and the ideas that went into it. Good job!

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:33am

It's so hard. :) I love a bit of a challenge. Rock on!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:33am

This reminds me of the last level of Braid. GOOD JOB :3

bombjack says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:11am

Very hard but fun!

cmayhem says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:16am

This is very good, challenging but still makes to want to try again and again. Countdown timer or something at the start would be helpful.

dusho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:49pm

whoa.. little countdown at start would be nice :)
hard as hell

gingerBill says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:21pm

This is a very difficult game. The main problem I had was that I was holding down [D] but it didn't move on respawn until I pressed it again. This really made it difficult to replay.

Apart from that, the puzzles were well thought out.

MegasDragos1 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:47pm

The character design remind me of Super Meat Boy :) But I think this is a more special version because there is more rage. This game is worth to note to play again later!

conrad123 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:47am

Very hard.

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:51am

Super Meat BOOOOOY!

That was fun, but the beginning is a bit unfair. You should at least count down. If it starts with the button pressed down the player doesn't run until you release the key and press it again. I guess it was a bit too hard.
Also another thing that pissed me off is that it might happen that the player to go off the screen in the upper part sometimes during jump + collision.
It's more frustrating the hard I'm afraid. Couldn't see how it fits the theme either.
Great job for a jam nonetheless!!

oostap says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:16am

really too hard :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Your project breaks the Compo rules.
You cant re-use copyrighted images, i didnt look at the code source, did you also copied the sources code of that game game ?

Dejvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:17pm

it's really hard and unfair. you have to let the player know in advance where's the right way. and also not start immediatly and never let the game follow other character than yours. that's bad game desing. but, you've made a game and that counts too.

Leopoldine says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:24pm

@ThomeTheMagician
You're wrong.

My comment on your game clearly offense you. But what did you expect ? You make a ctrl+c ctrl+v of an existing game and re-use copyrighted images ...

Strike says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:06am

If only there was a countdown. Very, very hard game. I appreciate your support for azerty keyboards ;) Finally I found one game that does it ! \o/ One extra star for that one ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]