Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Rage

by DarkStar - Compo Entry

This is my first game jam and the first game that i have completed.

Rage! you wake up in a lab with scientists and soldiers surrounding you. They have done something to your body and mind.

You must escape.

By using pure rage you are able to push your body to new heights! Use your new found abilities to break free from the lab.

If you can!!

my highest score was 2450. Try to beat that!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#472Fun3.00
#582Innovation2.81
#614Theme3.15
#674Mood2.65
#695Humor2.18
#706Overall2.86
#753Graphics2.50
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

Jimbly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:49am

Congrats on your first game jam! A little sound effects would really go a long way, Sfxr/Bfxr are popular for those of us who suck at sound =).

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:04am

Nice job on the game, it is fun, but insanely hard.
My highest score is 200.
How did you get so many points without dying from all those soldiers?

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:10am

Congrats. The mechanism is kind of unique.

Jezz0r says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:44am

Pretty fun considering the simplicity of the game

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:33pm

I'd prefer if it was just an executable and not an install file.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:34pm

I like it, really neat, simple, and pretty fun!

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:37pm

I found myself clicking frantically in order to kill the guards.

DarkStar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:01pm

@Gaius yeah there is a whole lot of clicking. i wanted to change it to a click+hold but time time time.

@RadioLemon the trick has to do with keeping the rage high to soak the damage. alo the scientists give health.

Thanks for all the comments so far!!

Rongon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Very replayable, but very hard game. Congrats on making it, welcome to Ludum Dare :)
I find it weird to guards randomly spawn out of nowhere. You could just draw some "teleporter" or some "closed door", so player can expect from where the danger lurks.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Congrats on you first Ludum Dare game jam. Very hard, i raged. But i guess that's the point haha.

daveh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:34am

Good concept. It was difficult, but I can see how correct use of the abilities helps. It had a good learning curve, I improved each time

Resonious says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:40am

Pretty solid entry. My only real complaint was the inability to hold my mouse button down to keep moving.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:58am

Good job! needs sound but great!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]