Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You must not

by kerotan24 - Jam Entry

Arrow keys to move, Space or E to change your face.

New Version

-Proper final!!
-Checkpoints!
-New assets
-One easter egg

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#116Innovation(Jam)3.68
#139Mood(Jam)3.73
#466Overall(Jam)3.28
#618Graphics(Jam)3.19
#643Fun(Jam)2.90
#785Theme(Jam)3.09
#823Humor(Jam)2.19

Comments

tayl1r says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Nice idea! Would be interesting to see this with more faces or levels.

yokcos700 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:31pm

The music was pretty fantastic, but I found it rather too hard. Maybe puzzle games aren't my forte, I don't know. I must say that I like the atmosphere you created here.

Rongefilet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Loves the music and overall mood, very cool mechanics too. ^^

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Very atmospheric. I like the face-swapping mechanic and I feel like there's potential for a great game if this idea were to be further developed.

DuzDuz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Nice game!! I love it. And the main character is really creepy!!!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:14pm

The art style makes the game atmosphere unique. I liked it!

congusbongus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Nice mood, although the ending was a bit jarring. Animations were pretty neat.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:07pm

i really like your entry. awesome job. the game neatly fits to the theme.

GameQuester says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Liked the concept and the music. Good work!

Saf says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Interesting new face toggle mechanic. The characters were quite disturbing.. The world was very interesting, I would love to see this furher developed and understanding more about the setting. Great job

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:54am

Good to see another Construct 2 game, I like the face swapping mechanic. A surreal experience, it would be nice to see a bit more explanation and context included. It had a nice mood.

Yrr says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:26pm

CONGRATULATIONS

Derek Rumpler says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:55pm

LOL, the end was a bit anti-climatic but I understand this was a jam.

You may not be making a point, but I like that this game makes a point. It seems like the point is that the NPCs are expendable to your own goals; something you see a lot of in games.

I'd definitely like to see this as a polished project. It is really good!

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:07am

Interesting mechanic, nice job!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:07am

Weiiiiiird. I loved the slightly chilling music, it gave the game a real edge. Also, the blurred figure of the running animation was very eerie and cool.

boardtobits says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Would have been nice to include some checkpoints, but overall, this game worked well, handled well, and didn't overstay its welcome. Nicely done.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Weird and disturbing but well executed :)
the art style is nice, it made me uncofortable i you want to know how good it was :P
the mood is just great!
would love to see a bit more because i ended up dead and didn't know why.
good job

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:23am

so sadly about the ending...ToT
there are full of sadly ambient throughout the whole game
but Love it so much!
the blur of the hero's body ... these crying women...
just like a deeply dream..
i am running in my heart ...I only belong there ....
the part that i need to lead the woman through these traps
these recalled me about this game's level3:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=38755

Would love to see more iterations on this game~

Darkflint says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:18am

Shifting faces to changed behavior of the people, nice! Unfortunatly for me i somehow ended at a point where i couldnt reach any other path :( or i was to stupid to see the right way.

radmars says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:21am

Wow, the atmosphere in this is great, excellent work. The hitboxes in the fire bit were a bit annoying but otherwise the gameplay was solid. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]