Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Just RAAWR it !

by Strike - Jam Entry

Yesterday you said tomorRaawr ! So make your Raawr come true.
You are the monster. You hate everything. Time for destruction.

Move with arrow keys or WASD. Attack buildings with Space or Left click.

Yes, only one level. But try to reach your objective of eaten people and destroyed buildings in the limited time while aiming for a new high score. All of that without dying !

My very first Ludum Dare. It was lots of fun. Thanks for the good vibes on the IRC chan to everybody. For sure I'll join the next ones ;) I can't wait to add more content to this game now that this crazy weekend is over.

I wish you'll have fun playing this game.


--- Edit ---

Since I'm not going to provide a web build, I just added a YouTube video of the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#24Fun(Jam)4.06
#261Overall(Jam)3.53
#298Theme(Jam)3.74

Comments

randoman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:40am

The chaos! The destruction! Felt great playing it! Sound-wise, police horns were a little loud, so when many of them gathered together it became REALLY loud. Congrats on the entry!

raphix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:48am

Nice game ! I unfortunately can't vote, but I had good fun playing it, and I really love the perspective, and the physics of the buildings ! Well done !

shelleyl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:28am

Loved how the buildings fall apart and the cars explode!

uthamon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:30am

Ton of fun, it was really cool to destroy buildings and cars.

pplans says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Nice ! Just had some problems with the controls at the beginning but loved the game ! :)
Hope to see your LD34 !

From France

faemir says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Really enjoyable - I occasionally got stuck in the building debris but it was otherwise great! Smashing up things was really satisfying.

Perfect use of that song.

Nichii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:32pm

It would be great if the police siren sounds a little bit more pathetic :P

PizzaPortal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Fun game! I love the explosions

BarrelGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:02am

Amazing! it makes to smile

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:06am

Totally sweet! lol, flight of the valkyries

DraKlaW says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:47am

Not bad at all ! Had a lot of fun !

cirpig29 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:10am

The destruction, the mayhem, oh the humanity!

A very fun game and does so many things right. You did very well for your first LD.

McFood says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:44am

Very fun, satisfying little screams. I got 5110. I don't know if that's any good. Great job on your first Ludum Dare! You should have entered in for Humor and Graphics as well I think. Graphics were nice, and Yesterday you said tomoRaawr has got to be worth some stars.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:47am

Was very fun to destroy everything thanks :V

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:49am

A lot of fun, very similar to our game but did it in 3d so you could do things we couldn't. I actually like the controls better than ours, and the collapsing buildings are good fun.

Strike says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:54am

McFood : thanks for the comments. I added a little bit of humor just for the overall fun of the game. But i considered it wasn't enough and that the game wasn't build around this concept to enter in this category. Same goes for graphics ;)

derr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Hahahaha! I love how the people run helplessly in circles. This needs XBox controller support!

Strike says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:47pm

derr : if I'm not wrong, I believe that you can set your controls in the input tab of the configuration window before the game starts. I haven't try to remap to a joystick so that's why I'm not very sure about it.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:03am

Man what a lot of fun! Destroying all those building, blowing up those innocents, hell ya!

Benier says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:37pm

The mayhem you can cause is awesome, though the siren can be a little irritating after a while.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Fun to play. Simple, and I liked the graphical style with the cube buildings. Nice work!

TicZo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:47pm

tons of fun nuff said.

struffy says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:38am

I was happy when the first tower toppled as I didn't think physics buildings were in.

Would like more please - bridges, and even other bosses!

Demy says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:08am

Ride of the Valkyries, not bad =D
Simple and nice game. Sirens sounds probably are too loud.

Togimaro says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:59am

Extremely fun! A very good destruction game, it's awesome! There may be a slight lack of challenge but overall it's very cool! Good works

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:43am

Great first entry!

UncleChris says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:38am

Very well done game, love the graphics and was very fun.

wischutz says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Great job!

I update the Vampig standalone build for windows!

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

folex70 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:55pm

good!

Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:40am

Simple concept, great execution. In a word, Raawr-some!

No idea what the purpose of chasing the police is but HEY THEY'RE RUNNING! HAAA! GET THEM!

10/10 will Raawr again. =)

tomhunt says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 5:05am

lol fun little game. nice job.

LevieDAudio says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Really lovely and fun! The audio was funny and I just simply enjoyed being able to destroy everything! I particularly loved how the buildings were all made up of cubes! I was a bit saddened by the fact that there is a timer though (I would have loved a 'survival' mode just to see how long I could last)!

It is a really fun game though! Well done!

Strike says ...
Sep 27, 2015 @ 5:21am

Thank you very much everybody for your comments and ratings. Now it's time to work on a more polished version of this game while waiting for the next Ludum Dare ;)

Oct 18, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Fun game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/mQTSmMf-zUY

Strike says ...
Oct 28, 2015 @ 11:22am

Thank you Jupiter_Hadley for testing my game and doing a video review :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]